Find companies:
Thresholds
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Thresholds Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with people with mental disabilities was a great learning experience.
Case Manager/Administrative Assistance (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: helping the disabled find hope.
Cons: not being able to help all of them.
I would lead informative groups for our clients. They really appreciated the various topics and they would ask questions and I would try to answer them and if I didn't know the answer I would find out and let them know. Sometimes other co-workers would assist if the groups where large. I enjoyed interacting with the members. I learned somethings about – more... myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
admin assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: pay well, advancement, location
loved this position, work well with clients of mental disability, and co workers wonderful enviorment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Employment Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 29, 2014
I felt that I genuinely made a positive difference in the lives of people I've had the pleasure of helping.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
COMMUNITY SUPPORT SPECIALIST (Current Employee), IllinoisJuly 14, 2014
Pros: good benefits, wonderful clients
Cons: poor pay for long hours and minimal support
Hectic work days. Difficult to establish work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization with plenty of job opportunities
Community Support Specialist III (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 15, 2014
Pros: make your own schedule for the day, support from team/co-workers, and great benefits
Cons: hefty amount of paperwork, paid for 40 hour work week but end up working more than 40 hour weeks, little to no pay raises
Typical work day consists of team meetings, scheduled visits with members in the community which can range from home visits, to doctors appointments, to advocating for members benefits needs to social service and external benefits agency collateral. Hefty amount of paperwork (progress notes, care plan updates, scheduling doctors and follow up appointments, – more... collaborating with external health, benefits, and other community collateral) and no overtime pay even though working more than 40 hour work weeks. Management is excellent in trying to work with staff to help develop clinical and professional skills and is actively involved in encouraging and supporting staff that are experiencing challenges with adjustments to work environment. Most enjoyable part of the job is getting to know and work with amazing members that expose staff to various mental health diagnoses, life experiences, and cherished moments that promote and encourage staff growth both professionally and personally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place was very interesting.
Sub-Shift Staff-1 Mother's Project (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 8, 2014
The management was very bias, they allowed the clients to do whatever they like to staff knowing their history. They allowed to much going on in the residents. Administration was spending the girls allowance on personal things. No Structure!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Mental Health Professional (Current Employee), Chicago Heights, ILApril 23, 2014
Good company overall. Learning a lot from knowledgeable people. I enjoy the members and the interactions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its cool
System Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 10, 2014
Decent pay and benefits. can go from chill to hectic workload.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training ground and environment for social workers and counselors
Intake Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 17, 2014
Thresholds is an excellent environment for young adults entering the mental health field. The opportunity exists to learn a great deal about the realities of mental illness, the realities of the stigma that exists and the opportunity to effect change in and around the community with the best resources available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for this company
Substitute Community Support Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 28, 2014
Great place to work. Threshold appreciate their employees and reward staff with perks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thresholds has a great work environment
CONTRACT TALENT SPECIALIST/BENEFITS ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 27, 2014
A typical day working at Thresholds is extremely position and all employees are driven to create the best work environment possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An eye-opening experience.
Community Specialist II (Former Employee), SouthsideNovember 15, 2013
Pros: working with the members.
Cons: working with cut-throat staff.
The members were wonderful at my location. Most were very respectful, and once you gained their trust, they were a joy to work with.
However, the staff was cut-throat towards each other. (My experience). Never confide in your Team Leader/Supervisor, or express any of your thoughts, because, it will be used against you, at a later time. Trust no one! – more... Staff loved drama, (gossiped all the time), and that created a hostile, uncomfortable, environment. It became nerve racking, to work with staff, that acted far worse than the members. So, if you love drama and chaos, this might be the place for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive individuals providing services to individuals with mental illness.
LCSW (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 31, 2013
Pros: supervision, ceu opportunities, growth
Cons: too much work (but true for most agencies) - classic social worker problem.
Positive workplace environment, committed and ethical individuals, room for advancement within the agency
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This organization has the right idea
Occupational Therapy Consultant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 8, 2013
Thresholds has been through a lot of changes since I first became aware of them about 10 years ago. I love walking in the door of the buildings I serve, appreciate the willingness from management to learn different ways of doing things, and respect the work being done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good organization that helps people
N/A (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 16, 2013
Pros: relaxed atmosphere
Cons: too much gossiping, horrible pay, no one is appreciated
A typical day for work was 8:30 to 5, which was cool. I learned to not trust anyone in the organization with any type of confidential information because it would be held against you in the future. Co-workers were great, but management in the department where I worked had one set of rules for every one and another set for himself and his "pets". No – more... one had the "guts" to speak up when they disagreed.

The job was not hard, but promises were made but never kept. There was nothing enjoyable about the job. Although the organization is great for helping individuals in need, I would not work there again, at least not in the department where I worked.

Don't do anything wrong, because if you are not one of the "pets", you'll be out in a heartbeat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides excellent service for mental health recovery
Community Support Intern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 6, 2013
Pros: team work
Cons: limited internship duties
My co-workers were a great team to work with! I obtained a wealth of information about mental health recovery through service and support. The staff at Thresholds works to help move members toward self-efficiency by helping them to utilize natural and community supports. Working and learning in Thresholds' residential environment and in the community – more... was a great hands-on experience for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Mental Health Counselor, Practicum Intern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 28, 2013
Pros: friendly environment, great team of staff and clients
I very much enjoyed this work experience. Great staff and a great multi-disciplinary team. Lots of room for growth on a personal level, as well as on a professional level. Clients are all wonderful, and helped me learn a lot about chronic/severe mental illnesses and co-morbid disorders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning environment
Shift Staff (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 8, 2013
This environment will teach patience and empathy. Young adults come from traumatic backgrounds and important to identify with them. The best part of the job was inspiring the young adults to fine work and be productive citizens. The hardest part of the job was breaking up fights and restraining.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
thresholds
Case Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 5, 2013
Its an okay place to work.Good hours, have to use your own car for transporting clients. Holidays spent with clients, great co workers. Management is sketchy, expectations of staff is ridiculous
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoied working but did not like the low pay
Janitor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 23, 2013
A typical day looked like garbage pick, cleaned washroom, kitchen, conference rooms, offices,lobby, vaccuming and empty recycling. I learned that doing my job to the best of my abilty helped me know that doing a good job made my employers happy. My supervisor was very helpful and guided me in my work. My co-workers were helpful and had a good professional – more... relationship. The hardest part of the job was keeping the conference room tables clean. The most enjoyable part of the job was picking up garbage. – less

About Thresholds

One of the nation's largest non-profit providers of mental health services, Thresholds provides a comprehensive program of therapeutic – Read more