Thumbtack Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Draper, UTDecember 1, 2017
Thumbtack is a great place to work if you fit their culture. Run by millennials, you need to be up to speed with Fantastic Beasts and Harry Potter. The company as a whole is great, working in Customer service was poor. They have a lot of expectations, consistently review your calls and quotas which need to be met are unrealistic. The rest of the company is pretty good. Moving up, you have a lot of competition and is hard unless you meet their standards. I recommend if you are thinking of going into the tech side of the it, but highly do no recommend the customer support.
Pros
Free lunches, great night outs
Cons
Hard to move up and around, very much culture based
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Intellectually Challenging
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 25, 2017
I always enjoy coming into work and look forward to the working on the challenges we have at Thumbtack. We always challenge the status quo and look for fun new ways of approaching life and work.
Pros
Free lunches, benefits
Cons
Too much discussion leads to inaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent workplace culture
Snippet Writer (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 12, 2017
I had the chance to work productively with flexible work schedule. I learned how to be efficient, effective, and self-motivated. I enjoyed mentoring my colleagues to help meet our company's goals too. I learned the value of professionalism.
Pros
the company is very generous, they value their employees
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Customer Service Account Manager (Former Employee) –  UtahSeptember 16, 2017
TT was a great place to use my skills to help customers. Problem is, although I provided 100% positive feedback experience, my manager had an ego. If I didn't do things his way - I got written up- regardless what my scores were. Not ok
Pros
Excellent training
Cons
Its your words against theirs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, but quotes cost too much
Artist (Current Employee) –  High Point, NCJuly 29, 2017
Easy to get work as a freelancer. However, they should consider taking a portion out of the money you earn through the site instead of charging for each quote you send out.
Pros
Flexibility, Easy to work, simple job
Cons
Quotes cost too much, some clients may be dishonest
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thumbtack Review
Guitar Teacher (Current Employee) –  New Brighton, PAJune 23, 2017
What's great about Thumbtack is that you're basically your own boss, and you get all that comes with that. You set your own hours, but you don't get paid vacation or paid time off.
Pros
Freedom to create my own work schedule
Cons
No paid vacations/time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experince
Small Business Owner/Operator (Current Employee) –  Mebane, NCMay 26, 2017
Running my own small business was extremely rewarding. I don't regret trying this site out for one minute. It is so user friendly ad enjoyable. Take your time to try it and you wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for students and entrepreneurs
Owner of Heaven Scent Catering (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZFebruary 25, 2017
I was originally hired for a one time job and I have been working for the same couple for 2 1/2 years. Most one time jobs for me turn into a permanent position. It allows me to attend college and accept which jobs that I have time for.
Pros
positive feedback from clients
Cons
short breaks, long days setting up, serving, breaking down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Snippet Writer (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, USAJanuary 9, 2017
A place where you can achieve career growth. It was very challenging, hence, I've learned a lot of things when I was still connected to the company.
Pros
Free trips
Cons
Challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for the independent contractor
Drum Set Instructor (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 31, 2016
I have loved working for Thumbtack as a teacher. They are very helpful with details about work policies and leave a lot of room open to schedule. You as the teacher get great ability to choose what students you take in.
Pros
Great Availability of students
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Hip
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 24, 2016
Thumbtack has a wonderful work environment and takes care to hire only the best of the best. They really take care of their employees and makes sure that they not only enjoy the work they do but just being there at work. In almost 2 years I have never woken up thinking, "I do not want to go to work today!".
Pros
Free Lunch, Great Benefits, Parties, Amazing Swagg, Gym on Site
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady workflow, great flexibility in choosing job assignments.
Computer Technician (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 27, 2016
Great company to work with. Excellent managerial staff and support system.
The most enjoyable part of the job is completing an assignment to the happy client's satisfaction; a happy client is an excellent motivator.
Pros
Work your own hours.
Cons
Some assignments can be extremely lengthy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Employee (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 7, 2016
Super people. Fun place to work. Love the mission of the company. Move fast and have an impact. Can have variety of tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for freelancers
Technician (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 24, 2016
wonderful referral company with expert support for freelancers. they give excellent support in creating an attractive profile to answering questions on what skill you have are most in demand
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very felsxible work
Freelance writing work (Current Employee) –  Pompano Beach, FLMarch 9, 2016
Great clients and work is awesome.
Never seem like work because I enjoy writing.
Work remotely with various clients, assist in crafting different materials for a variety of platforms
Pros
flexible
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Support (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 3, 2016
The job is quite challenging for you need to keep up with the company updates at all times.

It's fun because I met a lot of people form all over the country and overseas.

For working at home, I was able to spent quality times with my family.
Pros
Home Based
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good company to work with but the employment lay off was too sudden and the administration was not so transparent about it.
SEO Writer (Former Employee) –  Home BasedJanuary 9, 2016
The best thing about Thumbtack is how flexible your time can be. The higher ops are always approachable and it was an easy job for such a high pay. I learned to multi task and exercise punctuality, as well as become meticulous in proofreading and writing. The hard part of the job is when the writing portal is down and deadlines still need to be met.
Pros
High pay, company dinners, fun contests with cool prizes
Cons
not very stable basis in giving QA scores, QA officers cram in evaluating snippets
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal company to work with
SEO Content Writer (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 3, 2015
My work as an SEO content writer is always given importance by the company. All of the people their are fun and very supportive. The management always takes time to look for a better way to improve your performance and company. The job is quite hard but it seems its so easy because everybody is very supportive. That's why I consider it as one of the most relevant companies I have worked with.
Pros
Company celebrations such as Holiday dinner and summer outing.
Cons
Flex and Emergency leave, incentive bonus, year end bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company that provides outreach for career
Math Tutor/ Piano Teacher (Current Employee) –  Whittier, CAAugust 17, 2015
I am very glad that I was able to find this opportunity through thumbtack. This job has only made me become a better person with children and it is another accomplishment in my life working as a tutor. Thank you so much thumbtack for giving me this opportunity.
Pros
A working job
Cons
having to pay for quotes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You set your own schedule, can work from home
IT Consultant (Current Employee) –  Greater Baltimore CountyJune 2, 2015
Thumbtack cares about your success. They have tools, scripts, marketing ideas to help you to be Professional, Service orientated and alerts.
Pros
Alarts notice system
Cons
Blogs, point of contact.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Thumbtack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.1
Culture
4.6