Find companies:
TigerDirect
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

TigerDirect Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and Intense place to work
Sales associate (Current Employee), Miami, FLNovember 2, 2014
Pros: a lot of educating
Cons: very competitive
Trying to learn all product offerings. The company is very competitive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, but not great store..
Sales Assoiciate (Former Employee), McAllen, TXOctober 15, 2014
Pros: great company and commission making opportunities.
Cons: horrible store and management at mcallen.
PLEASE READ IF APPLYING FOR MCALLEN. Like I said, great company as a sales associate there are many ways of making money. Reason why my review is low is because at the store I worked at it was very stressful to work. Managers sometimes in good moods and most of the times in bad moods. They spent most they're time gossiping than helping employees. Sales – more... associates were expected to make commission goals, but we had other duties which held us back and was not our job. i.e. doing merchandizer, and cashier jobs. HORRIBLE EXP. IN MCALLEN, most co workers I knew we're trying to get out of there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work, but well worth it.
Sr. Product Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 23, 2014
I launched my career at TigerDirect, spent 15 years and worked my way up the ladder to Sr. Product Manager. In the way learned about catalog Marketing, e-tail, retail and inventory control. The best part, I and made great friends with key vendors in the industry. Back then, it was a team and we all worked together to meet any dead lines. We got the – more... job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Tech company
Content Writer (Intern) (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 13, 2014
Pros: great people, extremely flexible
Cons: upward mobility can be tough at the corporate level
If you are into technology, than this is the place for you! The culture in the corporate is that the people are extremely friendly. The executives have an open door policy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Merchandiser/Customer Service (Current Employee), Ponce, PRJuly 17, 2014
Pros: management that helps me gorw, shceduel
Cons: few employees in department
A typical would be starting early morning with a store walkthrough to pinpoint areas that need work or restocking followed by the printing and placing the daily prices changes. After placing the daily prices changes our Merchandising Supervisor gives up our work plan. My Supervisor is a great person to work with because he allows me to grow as a employee – more... in such ways as teaching me the ways to do various jobs that he has to do. Hardest part of the job for me is staying ahead of the workload for we won't fall behind on any duties that may appear on following days that have quick deadlines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and challanging
Sales Associate (Current Employee), ClearwaterApril 7, 2014
Cons: certain managers create a stressful environment
On a typical day at work I will help out any customer that needs it. My specialty is custom building computers for customers based on specific needs for the customer. Management is pretty good except for a few that tend to create a stressful and hostile work environment. Co workers are amazing, great atmosphere we have fun and joke a lot, hardest part – more... would be that it is commission so if you have a bad week you won't make money. On the flip side, it is the most enjoyable as you create your own paycheck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough to meet KPIs
Front End Sales Associate (Current Employee), TampaApril 6, 2014
Pros: you make what you earn.
Cons: you make what you have time to earn.
Straight commission job as retail sales, but with other responsibilities that distract from meeting sales KPIs. I am expected to help put out freight and help merchandise by putting out tags. Training is also required. All of these responsibilities are technically unpaid as this is not an hourly position. There are also unpaid store and sales meetings – more... on Friday and Sunday morning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, fun most of the time.
A+ Computer Technician (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule.
Cons: healthcare, low hours, low pay.
A typical day at work can vary depending on how busy is the tech department. First thing in the morning, I normally print all the necessary paperwork needed for me to follow a bench order for repairs. I check my work email for specifications left by other team members, and I call customers that need immediate attention. From there, I just follow instructions – more... left by customers and I start doing the repairs.

The hardest part of the job is to trick people into buying our antivirus software solution, which is probably the worst in the market.

The most enjoyable part of the job is that you get to meet new people and help them. They would show you admiration for your knowledge, and treat you with kindness and respect in exchange for your help and guidance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managemt is in back of you to make sure your are doing your job.
B2B Account Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: great when companies come over and give you free stuff.
Cons: short breaks
I did not like the calling part. very stressful. co-workers are ok to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as expected
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 25, 2014
Cons: managers, co-workers, lack of support
Normal day consist of a free for all, everyone for themselves. Company or associate does not believe in teamwork. In order to succeed at work, consist and survives in teamwork.

Managers are not there to help, only to talk among themselves. Does not take time to help fellow associate when dealing with customer's or opening locked up area. Completely – more... unsatisfied with tiger direct workplace.

Hardest part of the job, deals with finding customer's and trusting your fellow associate. Respect among fellow co-worker – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Atmosphere
Sr. Corp Account Manager, Medical Sales (Current Employee), North Sioux City, SDDecember 9, 2013
You have the ability to set you own schedule but you must adhere to that schedule. They do have a tiered sales plan that you have to meet on a monthly bases so that you meet your sales quota.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun pale to work at
Account Manager (Former Employee), MIAMI,FLOctober 2, 2013
Pros: money
Cons: late nights
Take calls, answer question and learn about new products. employee discount was plus and the free software was even better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love dealing with all sorts of people
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Naperville, ILAugust 25, 2013
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: pay was superlow
I mostly worked at the cash register. I met all sorts of different people and I loved it. I had a great time. I was pretty good at selling warranty's. especially at the register because the sales got the shot to sell them first There was favoritism at this job place as well but its definitely not as bad as my current job. If we are running slow, i would – more... merch and put new price tags up. I would do stock checks over the phone and if a customer comes up to me. It was just a fun environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
B2B Account Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 24, 2013
Typical day

Maintain and grow account base through proper balance of maintenance and prospecting phone calls and renewed relationships with past buyers to drive future business

What I learned was this job was very challenging, had to build funnel of canidates learned more about IT Technology.

Management was fairly new, mainly just looked at production, – more... less trainging.

Co-Worker were very team oriented.

Hardest part of the job was building client list along with getting permission to work accounts being worked by other employees.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the earning potential – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, new stories every day
Service Advisor (Former Employee), Aventura, FLMay 29, 2013
The tech counter is the best part of any TigerDirect store. It gives you the opportunity to work on your own duties while being able to help customers when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work rewared with great bonuses
Office Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: excellent bonuses
Cons: long hours
collected on past due invoices. handled all department phone calls. conducted new hire training on tax exempt documents on 7 different states.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, but not a team player.
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: most employees are friendly.
Cons: the lazy people get promoted, and managment often times is very lacking.
As much as I did enjoy working there because of the products that I personally know and use, the rest of the time was not so great. You needed to print price tags literally daily becase of the sales people insisted on removing them. On top of that, the Sale's Manager blaimed the Merch team because of the lack of tags. Granted, we should print them (which – more... we did and did often) but the sales team should not be removing the prices off 70% of the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
responsible
stacking (Former Employee), Naperville, ILJanuary 18, 2013
I learned that one of the most important things is to be punctual and responsible in my work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volume Reseller of Computer Hardware, Software, and Peripherals
Account Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: product line. product availability.
Cons: poor customer service on back end. low retention due to this, geographical promotion forced me to move to miami.
included new client acquisition performing in an Inside Sales/Telesales environment through outbound calling. Account Management on a consultative level to provide insight and customer support to academic and large corporate institutions throughout the Western United States regarding Information Technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This particular location is all over the place. Management(immediate) are not always very truthful, if at all
Cashier (Former Employee), Midtown, Chicago, ILOctober 2, 2012
Pros: pleasant, fun, helpful, friendly crew to work with
Cons: disorganized, untruthful management, low pay
Applied for a FT position (posted as FT on job posting, only to be hired as PT Cashier, After two weeks was never trained to be a Cashier, but thrown at the door to greet, each day I worked, due to short staff. Had to ASK for a break since Management does not offer, organization in this place is a riot. I was so confused as to what I was doing there – more... (seems everyone else was confused as well as to what I was supposed to be doing) etc.. Communication between managers is weak. Relief late everyday, I arrived to work each scheduled work day 15, or more, minutes early, to wait 15 minutes or more to leave. Never had such an experience in a workplace – less

About TigerDirect

Systemax's system involves being direct.┬áThe company is┬áprimarily a direct marketer of computers, electronics, and technology – Read more