Time Inc

161 reviews

Time Inc Employee Reviews

Found 125 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Brands and People
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 8, 2016
Definitely a company that you would be fortunate to work at. Great people, and wonderful brands.

The company is going through a major change as the focus turns away from print. There are some growing pains, layoffs are common and there are not as many perks/benefits as in years past.
Pros
Free Snacks, back up day care, in house nurse
Cons
new Downtown location
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment. Great employers as well
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 8, 2016
Worked there for about a year. Good introductory experience with the shipping receiving team. Managed to adapt to the environment very quickly. Good, flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time Inc review
Account Manager - Digital (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 18, 2015
I enjoy my team i work with but Time Inc as a whole, I do not like. We get underpaid and do not get compensated at all for what we do.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Alot
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional
Senior Account Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 17, 2015
Great place to work before TW spun off magazines

Print is dying- it is a much different company today- would think twice before entertaining working here again
Pros
great magazines
Cons
too political
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great managment, Fun place to work.
Assistant Online Beauty Editor (Freelance) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 4, 2015
The company really takes its employees into consideration. Everything from work/life balance to the way in which the office is set up is designed to promote creativity amongst workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable but Challenging Work
RETAIL SALES AND MARKETING (Current Employee) –  New JerseyNovember 2, 2015
I enjoy my job with Time Inc., but the unspoken culture of my division within this company is one that inhibits free input of ideas. Our product, magazines, is exciting. There is something new every week and we sell content about pop culture. This is the fun part.
However, management wants to know only about successes, even at the expense of bad news or new ideas to change failing programs.
Pros
Great work colleagues, optimism
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OLD school
MIMI Digital Sales Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 21, 2015
Very antiquated company that is trying to keep up with the digital times. Having a hard time doing that and not making quick moves!
Pros
Nada
Cons
poor management, old ceo, no work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time Inc's MNI division is an education
NW Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 14, 2015
Great place to work. You will receive an MBA in digital! MNI offers the ability to work strategically with clients on detailed digital campaign. Whether the client is large or small, MNI's programmatic solution and ad network is a cut above the competition.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Team Collaboration
Health Magazine Design Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 13, 2015
Creative environment team inspired. Opportunity for growth/ movement throughout company. Design for both print and digital formats. Brainstorming meeting offered relaxed atmosphere for optimal idea building.
Pros
Idea oriented
Cons
creative team broke up
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Executive Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 6, 2015
A great Job Culture, not much room for advancement
very flexible with Job work life balance
they are constantly outsourcing there services
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dealing with clients
Field Officer (Former Employee) –  Rwanda but currently in BostonSeptember 16, 2015
I learned how to work under pressure as we could make as many sales as we could.I also appreciated working in team because we could all double our effort towards one goal and whenever we achieved it, we used to get a compensation.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Employment
Lead Technician (Former Employee) –  NYSeptember 2, 2015
Great place to work. Fast pace lots of work learned much from Management. Had to get used to moving around large building. The most enjoyable part was working with the people.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tense enviroment , people not friendly
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLAugust 24, 2015
Over all not enjoyable. There were lots of loops, not all supervisors would do their job, but always on other supervisors team.
My experience was some what bittersweet. My supervisor acted nice, and yet did not feel care.
Pros
breaks and lunch alright, health care benefits
Cons
poor pay, rate of quality of calls
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High standard great location place to work
Ad Production & Technology Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York CityAugust 19, 2015
In Overall Time Inc has given a great amount of knowledge to kickstart my personal and professional career. The company/employee relationship is very transparent and rich in terms of bonuses and perks.
Pros
Extra days off in the summer
Cons
Not easy to receive career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated team members who love the Sunset brand
Associate Marketing Director (Current Employee) –  Menlo Park, CAAugust 3, 2015
Dedicated employees lead to a culture where staff lived the Western Lifestyle

Co-workers make Sunset a very special place to work
Pros
Team members
Cons
Corporate culture does not meet brand guidelines
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn new things
Associate Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 3, 2015
There never is a typical day at work because I will always find something to learn or work on to increase the organizational bottom line. The hardest part of my job is not having enough clarity to get to the end results as efficiently as possible. My co-workers are a great bunch that drive towards excellence in the work place. The most enjoyable part of the job is my interaction with my co-workers, management and the ability to learn new technologies.
Pros
Management
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Summer Intern, Production Dept (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 31, 2015
Amazing job. It was very tense because you're working at TIME INC, but overall amazing experience.The staff was very focused and it gave me a great idea of the corporate industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shrinking company
Production (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 22, 2015
No room to grow. Many exciting opportunities in other departments but, from my experience, management likes to keep certain people where they are.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company and Culture
Event Marketing Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 19, 2015
I absolutely love Time Inc and it's company culture. It is a very positive environment with knowledgable people within each team and group.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment & co-workers are great people
Senior Sales Planning Manager, Digital (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 16, 2015
Time Inc is a great company to learn the publishing business across all platforms. I have only worked on PEOPLE and Entertainment Weekly publications, but I can say for those two the staff is very competent and great to work with.
Pros
The flexible work hours
Cons
Kaiser coverage, well-ness program, summer hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 161 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture