TireDiscounters Employee Reviews

Showing all 39 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over demanding ,lack of adequate compensation and pay. not respectful of employees needs...
Exmanagement (Former Employee) –  cincinnati, OhOctober 10, 2016
Needs to have a larger appreciation for employees work and shortten the long working hours, better pay, compensation and Benefits and appreciation of their employees... stop overly high expectations to pushing unnecessary work to be done to customers vehicles... can not depend on what is being said to the (you) the employees by your superiors, because they will say one thing to (you) the emplyee to make( you) think that something in fact is going to happen or change to better not only (you) the emplee, but the company just to later find out that they not truthful what's so ever.... good hard people working are hard to find and should be respected appreciated and most of all treated like a human being that has a life and these qualities are not a high representation from this company to their employees and definitely does not reflect in the amount of hours in which they work or in the pay nor compensation or respect for the work in which they do...
Pros
N/A other that you have a job....
Cons
everthing about the treatment of their employees.. the long working hours. the lack of compensation, and pay and benefits and respect for employees...
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, lacking true management
Tec (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYSeptember 28, 2016
Tire discounters is a great place to work with all the benefits you will ever need. However there is favoritism between "managers" and my co workers which allows for a stressful and irritating day. Job place is supposed to be a fair place.
Pros
Closed on sundays
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Huber Heights, OHSeptember 13, 2016
Work got slow, had to find another job. It was a good place to work. The pay was just not there for my anymore so I had to move on.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgraceful and Unethical
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 12, 2016
The executive management team is arrogant, deceitful, an unapologetic about their unethical business practices. You will be treated like a number, referred to as a number, and pushed to chase numbers. There is no home and life balance, you work a mandatory 54+ hour work week, on your feet, no breaks, an absolutely no sitting! There is very little training, or guidance on how to be successful in the business. You get a base salary, which means you will make minimal wage with the hours (Google search their multiple class action lawsuits for wage violations). Your monthly bonus is a complete scam! You will NOT be given a breakdown, explaination, or method to track your earnings. You MUST wait for the check to show up in your bank account, then you know what you made. The turn rate of employees is astronomical company wide, regardless if it's a store associate, regional manager, or the corporate office. The earning potential can be good, but make no mistake, they WILL do everything in their power to change your monthly goals, and pay plan to keep you under pressure. They claim to be family owned an operated, and promote honest an ethical business practices. This couldn't be further from the truth as the absentee Owner/CEO is feed the same manipulative fast talk from the VERY convincing executive management team.
Pros
You learn how to be a con artist from the best
Cons
You become one
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work with agreat boss
Master Technician (Current Employee) –  Greendale, INAugust 28, 2016
very productive place and fun due to the people you work with. and having a boss that really cares as much as mine makes a world of a difference. plu the fact that you can test and get certs as well as chances to move up is very helpful.
Pros
self management to an extent
Cons
the heat. and the supply and demand can be overwhelming.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Training
District Manager In-Training (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 5, 2016
The best training I have attended. Excellent tire and service school.
A very progressive company. Great benefits. Very knowledgeable management team.
Pros
Training
Cons
Takes time to move up.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 26, 2016
You bust your butt for very little pay, deal with weather conditions year round. Hot cold they say they have great work life balance but you end up working 60+ hours a week salary and they throw a massive hissy fit if you need a day off for family reasons
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay decent benefits. Poor management
Tire and Lube Technician (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, OHJune 22, 2016
Not a bad place to work. good pay. poor management. I do not plan on ever working there again. There is definitely plenty of advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many hours but decent pay
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 13, 2016
This is a tire company 1st but have been getting better about offering more service. As a service tech you will be working 55+ hrs a week. That's at least 8a-7p with some shops open longer. Their are opportunities for advancement but this is based off of ASE certifications. A work day consists of basic service jobs brakes, steering, suspension, oil changes, n a lot of alignments. If you are just starting in the field n want to get experience before going to a dealer this is a good start. If your not comfortable doing big jobs they will turn the work away. You do get a base wage of $8.00-9.00 per hr so u are always making money n not having to live off of flat rate. Commission pay n overtime pay are also included but in order to make real money you have to work the 55+ hrs. With the hours the main draw back is no free time for a home life.
Pros
Fun coworkers. Learned a lot
Cons
No breaks, long days, every Saturday
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 13, 2016
730 AM till at min 7 pm is the work day. Management is good I really enjoy the people I work with training and the development of people was what i most enjoyed helping them with their carer advancement is very rewarding. working every Saturday is the hardest part not very much work/life Balance
Pros
great pay closed Sunday
Cons
working every Saturday
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours; lack of management
Service Manager and Service writer (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, OHApril 19, 2016
Constant lies from upper management, just to get you to stay. Promised advancement positions to find out positions are not available. Fluctuating spiff pay outs; lack of proof on how spiffs are paid. Lots of issues, long hours.
No concern about family time or work place.730 To 730 shifts 5 to 6 days a week.
Pros
LAID BACK ATMOSPHERE
Cons
LACK OF TRAINING TO ENTRY LEVEL EMPLOYEES
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job to go to
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Lebanon, OHFebruary 16, 2016
I did not get along with the manager. The general manager was unprofessional and did not address issues properly. The most enjoyable part of my day was interacting with the customers.
Pros
encentives
Cons
manager was hard to get along with
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place to work
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNJanuary 25, 2016
normal auto shop.
i loved my coworkers and store managers
easy job if you have prior experience
changed tires and did normal auto work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the store i work in and the people in it but corporate is gonna run it into the ground.
4th-Tire Technician (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceburg, INNovember 15, 2015
A typical day at my store starts like any other we do tires and tires all day. Everyone at my store is awesome but all the corporate policies and rules will ruin the company. They also treat the tire guys and mechanics awfully and are way underpayed.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alignment tech
ALIGNMENT TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 31, 2015
long hours, OK pay, no lunches, worked after closing hours frequently, employee attitude is hit and miss, customers walked into the shop to "supervise" work against company and OSHA policy
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesnt backup what they say
General manager Chillicothe May 2015-Oct 2015 (Former Employee) –  Chillicother OHioOctober 31, 2015
Great place to work if you didn't like to spend time with your family. A lot of false promises. I learned a lot about the tire culture and how the processes work. I loved what I did just set up for failure.
Pros
customer
Cons
To many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not recommend
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 1, 2015
I was given the ring around about hrs and pay im a single father of 4 I cant have this as a career opportunity, I need a career I can progress further and further in if I chose to do this was not a career move with my back round is warehousing and forklift
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Hebron,KyJune 29, 2015
Stood 12-14 hrs a day without a break. Sold services to customers.
Learned about different parts & learned how to price to parts & labor.
Making customers happy. Trying to get a customer to buy the parts they need for their vechile.
Cons
got a discount on services & tires
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working on cars
Service Manager/Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, OHMay 20, 2015
loved to work on vehicles but just had poor management across the board. would love to move on and do something I was trained to do in my field of schooling.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Manager (Current Employee) –  OhioMay 8, 2015
Depending on level, there are opportunities for advancement.
For a company who advertises "Family Owned", they do not seem to care about store level management and their families. Paid for 52hrs but expected to work 60+. You work less than 52hrs and they deduct PTO, even if you have worked 60+ the previous weeks.
For store management level, 40-50% of your pay is bonus.
They claim paid holiday's for management, but you still only get your normal 2 days off that week, one of the days just move to the day the holiday falls on.
Pros
Advancement, bonus potential
Cons
Work / Life balance is a foreign concept here.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.4
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.6
Culture
2.8