Titan Machinery Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Rental Support/Rental Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Rapid City, SDDecember 7, 2015
I have learned that you can learn a new career late in life. I have learned that being a women in a construction environment is very challenging. Titan has great potential but unfortunately it is just going to take something bigger to get it there.
Pros
ongoing education for each job
Cons
healthcare expensive, no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place of business
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDOctober 13, 2015
A typical day at work involved counting the cash drawer from the day before - making the needed deposit, going over invoices and inventory, working with the sales men on their reports and sales, and lots of computer work. I learned a great deal about time management skills and construction equipment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Miller,SDAugust 10, 2015
Great place to work. Good team that works together with their sales and products to provide the best customer support and relations they can.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful job
Field Marketer/ Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Gillette, WYJuly 22, 2015
This company was amazing to work for and has a lot to offer anybody that is seeking a career in the equipment industry. They are very professional and have several different areas that offer long term stability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
IT intern (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDJuly 7, 2015
Great staff, Great workers, Great people to get to know in and out of the office.

The IT dept was where i was located and the group i worked with was fantastic and knowledgeable i learned a lot with them.
Pros
Friendly work inviroment
Cons
Job was easily made redundant
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Platform to learn new skills
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  West Fargo, NDMay 10, 2015
While I was able to develop great skills in accounting and Excel as well as working knowledge in SOX standards, the work/life balance was not sustainable on a long-term basis. I loved the work I was doing, the benefits/compensation were good and I cherished many of the working relations I had while there. Unfortunately, in order to succeed with the workload demand, one would have to work 13 hours per day for 30 days per month. I attempted numerous times to be a voice for positive change, to help improve employee morale and to find ways to help the company reduce work loads and improve work/life balance for staff . After over 4 years with little success, I reluctantly had to move on.
Pros
On-site cafeteria, good compensation/benefits
Cons
work/life balance, employee morale, treatment of staff by management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No innovation
HR (Current Employee) –  West Fargo, NDApril 16, 2015
No stability, not much room for advancement, zero innovation, not realistic, far too top heavy in terms of their corporate management organizations, compensation and benefits are the worst I have seen yet because it is more about who you know or your age, male dominant, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
SUBJECT MATTER EXPERT (Former Employee) –  West Fargo, NDMarch 2, 2015
Good management, company is too driven by public results and is lost with their current 'small' business model. Going through a tough time with commodity prices and business being down 20% in back to back years.
Pros
cafeteria
Cons
no career planning
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Paced
IT Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  West Fargo, NDFebruary 23, 2015
Support end user via email, phone, and remote software assistance. Troubleshoot/Repair PC related hardware. What I enjoy most is actively trying to stay ahead of the constant flux that the IT field offers.
Pros
paid health insurance, 401k match, lunch provided
Cons
sitting all day, no windows
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough work
Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Billings, MTJanuary 8, 2015
hired as a field tech. and havent been provided the proper equipment necessary to complete the jobs, recently no work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
Assist in repair of heavy equipment (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNDecember 17, 2014
every day was a new challange.from running the lowboy to swamping heavy equipment.asisting custermors with there needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Hermantown, MN (Duluth)December 19, 2013
Titan is a publicly traded company and with that comes piles of paperwork and processes.

The service manager position is very demanding. You feel like a pinball with very little time to take a moment to plan and when you take the time to plan the work piles up.

The store manager does not seem to have the time to listen to your needs and concerns. When talking to him you feel like you are interrupting him as he is continually looking at his computer or his phone.

The store is expected to work as a team however you are graded and paid incentives as an individual department.

The health insurance is free for the employee - you get what you pay for.
Pros
fair wage
Cons
expexcted to work lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, welcoming work environment.
Parts Counter Representative (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IASeptember 26, 2013
At Titan Machinery, their main focus was helping customers and creating good, long lasting relationships with them. All the co-workers got along, and the environment was always welcoming, and I enjoyed going to work each and every day. No hour was the same.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive team oriented work place
Parts Counter Person (Current Employee) –  Williston, NDMay 21, 2013
great place to work very nice knowing when you have to be to work every day and get off everyone gets along great and enjoys working with each other management is good very easy to work with and flexible with time off
Pros
free lunches, laid back atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume environment and fun work place.
Service Writer/Housing Admin/Marketing Team (Current Employee) –  Williston, NDMay 21, 2013
We were busy constantly and worked long hours so we would try to make our days at work enjoyable.
All the workers got along and enjoyed working there.
I learned the J.D. Edwards computer system, the DIS computer system and also learned how to navigate Microsoft Office, Excel, and Outlook.
Management was always willing to help.
The hardest part of the job was keeping up on all the tasks because I had multiple titles.
Pros
benefit's started the day i started and free lunches...lol
Cons
it would get so busy sometimes, i wouldn't know what day it was.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Store Level Management Lacking
Parts and Office Support (Former Employee) –  Blairstown, IANovember 13, 2012
The manager tries to do 2 different jobs, puts actually managing the store and employees on back burner to selling the equipment, even though he has plenty of salesmen to do that. Every employee has their own great qualities to bring to the table. The store dynamic is like a big family.
Pros
quarterly lunches provided by store.
Cons
young employees are looked down upon, treated inferior.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be ready to work
Corporate Marketing/CRM and Parts Worker (Current Employee) –  Fargo, NDApril 21, 2012
Work/life balance depends heavily on what position you take up. If you work in the offices, you might get 40-45 hours per work. Other people, like those in parts, behind the counter and in the shop, can expect a minimum of 60 hours each week.

On the plus side, most everyone is pretty nice, considering how much work is on the agenda. There are inter-company advancement opportunities and the organization has an expansionary focus. The tough part is keeping staff numbers up with how much work is taken on.

Pay and benefits are competitive. You can expect promotional events now and then, which means holiday events and baseball games. If you're good at what you do, there are also some chances to go on cruises.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No10

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture