Find companies:
TitleMax
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
182 reviews

TitleMax Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was fun and challenging
General Manager (Former Employee), Mableton, GANovember 19, 2014
I managed 6 employees and grew my office from $600K to $1,700,000.00 in 3 years.I have a great customer service skills.My co workers enjoyed working with me and for me.I learned to be patience.The hardest part was not reaching my goals sometimes.I enjoyed meeting new people and helping them with there needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
MANAGER (Former Employee), Columbia TNNovember 16, 2014
I started at the bottom and worked my way to the top with this company only to end up very ill and having to quiet my job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many duties and much rspondsibility!
Assitant Store Manager (Current Employee), memphis,tnNovember 13, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: compensation for duties, no overtime, unbalanced work life, extremely long hours
A typical day at this work is basically coming in at 8am or 9am check your store email for updates. then wait for a call list of deliquent customers. this list needs to be called twice a day, also this call list should only take an hour and 30 minutes. then you may assist customers with payments, loans or counseling in between the calls. you may have – more... vehicle inventories that must be done which is going out to a car lot where repossessed cars are kept and inspect,collect belongins and look for any damage done to vehicle overall to prepare for sale. Also you may have 10-15 field visits that you must do in your own vehicle and at your own expense. this must be done within and hour. Also you need to complete your second round of calls by 4pm and that must take only 45min.Not to mention, throughout the day, you may have to run bank errands,misc errands that occur unexpectedly. so the day may not end for you until 8pm or 9pm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Cordova, TNNovember 5, 2014
Pros: nice employee holiday parties
Cons: horrible job/life balance, no job security, dishonest practices
A typical day at work would be to come in at 8:45am to prepare store to be open by 9. This includes counting cash drawer and checking for emails and saving previous nights reports. Once store is open I would send the CSR to the bank and I would prepare the days goal board as well as print out call sheets for past due customers. I would immediately start – more... calling customers that are 1 day past due all the way up to customers that are more than a 100 days past due. This would be the process until completion or customers came in. The business practices are not ideal for customers that don't have a basic knowledge of high interest loans. I enjoyed my co-workers but putting people in debt was morally stressful for me. Some people would be paying on $1500 pawns for more than 2 years and would be paying all interest. TitleMax does provide a service but has little interest in educating less knowledgable customers on their practices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work.
Asst Manager (Former Employee), memphis tnOctober 31, 2014
I love the place. just had to come prepared to really put in some work, but overall it was an outstanding place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 30, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: short breaks
Nice place to work. Friendly people great staff. Job was good and met a lot of new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Driven
General Manager (Current Employee), VAOctober 29, 2014
If your a man-eat-man type of person then this is the job for you. You cant survive in this industry unless you know numbers and how to manipulate people. Also, at regional meetings the company will let you know that if you want to make money then you are going to have to miss your family events to get it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE!
General Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 14, 2014
They lied about the entire trainee program, didn't get my store as I was hired for and promised. Management was crooked and made employees do shady deals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Augusta, GASeptember 30, 2014
Very laid back work enviroment. Great training skills and will make lifetime friends with co workers. Only drawback is that it is retail so will have to work during the holidays
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not care about employees or customers
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: nice employee holiday parties
Cons: horrible job/life balance, no job security, dishonest practices
A typical day at work would be to come in at 8:45am to prepare store to be open by 9. This includes counting cash drawer and checking for emails and saving previous nights reports. Once store is open I would send the CSR to the bank and I would prepare the days goal board as well as print out call sheets for past due customers. I would immediately start – more... calling customers that are 1 day past due all the way up to customers that are more than a 100 days past due. This would be the process until completion or customers came in. The business practices are not ideal for customers that don't have a basic knowledge of high interest loans. I enjoyed my co-workers but putting people in debt was morally stressful for me. Some people would be paying on $1500 pawns for more than 2 years and would be paying all interest. TitleMax does provide a service but has little interest in educating less knowledgable customers on their practices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job experience ever had
Store Manager (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALSeptember 27, 2014
This was the most demoralizing place I ever worked. Upper management does nothing but bark out orders. Poorly trained managers with lackadaisical attitude just sit back and wait for the money to roll in their team earns. Zero team building, little to any encouragement or positive feedback, Horrible experience.
No respect for family time.
Hourly pay – more... is horrible and bonus structure is designed to make it impossible to make money – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good employer
General Manager (Former Employee), Clovis, NMSeptember 25, 2014
No job stability. Pay is good, hours are ridiculous and its a cut throat business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stress!
Store Manager (Former Employee), Athens, GASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: bonuses can be decent
Cons: never feel comfortable, always stressed
I always felt like I was doing something wrong, they train you very little and make you feel guilty by learning through trial and error..its a collections company, overcharge in interest and your customers begin to despise you for doing your job.
The environment is never one that makes you feel that your getting satisfaction, there is always unrelenting – more... stress. The job is based on poor marketing practices, phone solicitation and flyers...the things that make people hate you. there is always drama in the offices. They use the feeling that your getting fired as a motivation tool. Constantly changing the format and the last thing was financing another part of the company by taking profit from the store in order to pay for another part of the company. If you work there, be prepared for the feeling that your job is on the all the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!!! Not worth anyones time
Store Manager (Former Employee), Valdosta, GASeptember 23, 2014
Cons: incompetent management, not caring for employees
I worked for Titlemax for 4 years. I always did my job and I was good at it, I worked my way up to store manager. Once I started my career with Titlemax I thought this was it. Even though I may not have agreed with certain things the company did I stood by them loyaly. With that being said I was released from the company without hesitation for a minor – more... mistake a month ago. I went to a local dealer and bought a used vehicle that turned out was a Titlemax repossesed vehicle from a different store than the one I worked at, I did not buy this vehicle directly from Titlemax, they were no longer the owner nor lein holder and no longer had any attachment to said vehicle. Well somehow they found out and released me with no question even though I got rid of the vehicle after findind out about it. Policy 17.7 states that if this happens one can be put on a corrective action plan or terminated. I figure that having put in 4 years they would've questioned me about the matter and written me up and put me in a prabation period instead of just booting me out the door. Titlemax doesnt care at all about there own employees, they only care about themselves and making $$$ of these people that have no idea how the inner workings of this company are. I even did my job with a General Manager that wasnt worth anything, did no work, was on his cell phone all day and all he did was talk about co-workers behind there back to everyone else, he only did work when the DM or RM were in the store. Dont waste your time in this company, they are just cutthroats that care about 1 thing...... MONEY!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well compensated, but long hours
General Manager (Former Employee), Snellville, GASeptember 14, 2014
Well paying job, but not a career opportunity. There is very little opportunity for advancement into other areas within the company and a lot of unrealistic expectations are set.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
General Manager (Current Employee), albuquerqueSeptember 14, 2014
love it I have family time. I can balance work and home. latest at work is 730 pm and holidays off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jefferson City, MOSeptember 11, 2014
I can't recommend this company. I was told at hire that I would be trained, and have advancement opportunities, not the case. I started in a newer store, got trained in how to put out Fliers for cars in parking lots, Door hangers on houses, and how to do Field visits, and that was t until the GM at my store left. Only person at the store level the company – more... cares about is the GM, they are the only one with paid holidays, and their bonus (automatic for the first year) is almost what the CSR makes in an entire month. With 10 years of experience as a GM in retail they would not hiire me above CSR, and when the GM left, I was told I was not promotable due to poor store numbers (was that way when I was hired) so IF you look here, make sure you start at GM or above or that your store has good numbers if you want to be eligible for any kind of promotion. I lost money working here due to vehicle repairs from customers on back rural gravel roads and the company only paying $0.38/mile what a joke with gas around $3.30/gallon and the amount of wear on vehicle from gravel roads. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run!!! If you are offered a job with this company say no!
CSR (Former Employee), Prattville, ALSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: sundays off.
Cons: no insurance, lack of training and personal life.
I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone!! They do not offer enough training for the csr position. I work there for almost a week and I was rushed through my training , and expected to know everything. Management can't be bothered to train, and heaven forbid if you had a question, you were treated like you committed a sin for asking such a thing. – more... It was very unorganized, dysfunctional, and unprofessional. Both of my managers would talk about every customer that came through the door, and even talked about the other employees. My first day starting, one of my managers yelled at one of the other csrs in front of a customer. They only offer insurance to management. You have to use your own car for everything. A lot of wear and tear on your vehicle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In my opinion the district manager is mean, confrontational, and unqualified.
General Manager (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, TXSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: terrible district manager
I finally had enough. I had a district manager that didn't think before she spoke and would contradict herself all the time. She treats people like garbage and plays innocent to her superiors. She loved to threaten peoples jobs and act like she was the nicest person to her bosses. She is a horrible person and should have been fired long ago. My whole – more... store quit the same day I did leaving her to run the store. If the company can't see that she is breeding a hostile work environment treating her people like trash well it isn't a company I want to work for – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company needs better management training
Store Manager (Former Employee), virginiaSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: it was close to my home
Cons: low pay, lack of training for sms, selfish gms
I have been in this industry for over 10 years. I have never had so much non communication and lack there of training in all my years. They expect for the GM's to train the staff when the GM's are there just to get a check (bonus). Every company is ran by numbers not a problem with that but what if you know more than your GM? I was put in an office – more... to help grow the office and maintain the accounts. That was done passed the GM exam within the first three months of employment. Never got promoted do I blame the company? No, I blame the management for that. I have always been promoted with my first year of employment because of my knowledge of the industry. I stayed a SM for almost two years while I saw people from no experience to just don't have a clue about running an office come in and make twice what I am making. Yet, wanting me to show them about being the face of the Store. Really, I must say this company has a lot to learn about loyal employees and good training.
If you need a JOB this is the place now if you want a career look elsewhere this is not for you. By the way, if you want to speak don't speak in the office you never know who is going to record your conversation. FYI – less

1 2 3 4 5