Find companies:
TitleMax
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
188 reviews

TitleMax Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well compensated, but long hours
General Manager (Former Employee), Snellville, GASeptember 14, 2014
Well paying job, but not a career opportunity. There is very little opportunity for advancement into other areas within the company and a lot of unrealistic expectations are set.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
General Manager (Current Employee), albuquerqueSeptember 14, 2014
love it I have family time. I can balance work and home. latest at work is 730 pm and holidays off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jefferson City, MOSeptember 11, 2014
I can't recommend this company. I was told at hire that I would be trained, and have advancement opportunities, not the case. I started in a newer store, got trained in how to put out Fliers for cars in parking lots, Door hangers on houses, and how to do Field visits, and that was t until the GM at my store left. Only person at the store level the company – more... cares about is the GM, they are the only one with paid holidays, and their bonus (automatic for the first year) is almost what the CSR makes in an entire month. With 10 years of experience as a GM in retail they would not hiire me above CSR, and when the GM left, I was told I was not promotable due to poor store numbers (was that way when I was hired) so IF you look here, make sure you start at GM or above or that your store has good numbers if you want to be eligible for any kind of promotion. I lost money working here due to vehicle repairs from customers on back rural gravel roads and the company only paying $0.38/mile what a joke with gas around $3.30/gallon and the amount of wear on vehicle from gravel roads. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run!!! If you are offered a job with this company say no!
CSR (Former Employee), Prattville, ALSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: sundays off.
Cons: no insurance, lack of training and personal life.
I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone!! They do not offer enough training for the csr position. I work there for almost a week and I was rushed through my training , and expected to know everything. Management can't be bothered to train, and heaven forbid if you had a question, you were treated like you committed a sin for asking such a thing. – more... It was very unorganized, dysfunctional, and unprofessional. Both of my managers would talk about every customer that came through the door, and even talked about the other employees. My first day starting, one of my managers yelled at one of the other csrs in front of a customer. They only offer insurance to management. You have to use your own car for everything. A lot of wear and tear on your vehicle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In my opinion the district manager is mean, confrontational, and unqualified.
General Manager (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, TXSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: terrible district manager
I finally had enough. I had a district manager that didn't think before she spoke and would contradict herself all the time. She treats people like garbage and plays innocent to her superiors. She loved to threaten peoples jobs and act like she was the nicest person to her bosses. She is a horrible person and should have been fired long ago. My whole – more... store quit the same day I did leaving her to run the store. If the company can't see that she is breeding a hostile work environment treating her people like trash well it isn't a company I want to work for – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company needs better management training
Store Manager (Former Employee), virginiaSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: it was close to my home
Cons: low pay, lack of training for sms, selfish gms
I have been in this industry for over 10 years. I have never had so much non communication and lack there of training in all my years. They expect for the GM's to train the staff when the GM's are there just to get a check (bonus). Every company is ran by numbers not a problem with that but what if you know more than your GM? I was put in an office – more... to help grow the office and maintain the accounts. That was done passed the GM exam within the first three months of employment. Never got promoted do I blame the company? No, I blame the management for that. I have always been promoted with my first year of employment because of my knowledge of the industry. I stayed a SM for almost two years while I saw people from no experience to just don't have a clue about running an office come in and make twice what I am making. Yet, wanting me to show them about being the face of the Store. Really, I must say this company has a lot to learn about loyal employees and good training.
If you need a JOB this is the place now if you want a career look elsewhere this is not for you. By the way, if you want to speak don't speak in the office you never know who is going to record your conversation. FYI – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay but Horrible Management Houston Region
GM (Former Employee), Houston,Tx D131 , R33August 27, 2014
Pros: pay, and pay
Cons: management, hours, short staffed, everything else
Do not work for this company, if you wish to keep your life. A typical day for a GM consisted of driving all over Houston conducting field visits (visiting customers at home or work) Imagine the traffic! My DM expected us to be in the store as much as possible but also expected us to do all the outside field work. From what I understand, being in two – more... places at once is almost nearly impossible. My DM was the worst. He was previously a GM at the store in the Heights and received a promotion. This guy didn't even run a successful store (no track record to prove he was capable to manage 10 other stores!) All this guy would do was go to your store, perform an audit based off of compliance, performance, etc., leave, THEN he'd go to other stores and talk about you to other General Managers. This guy had no sense. He wouldn't even review our audits with us. Just email, print, sign and file. After awhile I just stopped printing them. He didn't even notice. Instead of building teams within the work place he would just put everyone against each other. Working for this guy, I learned all things NOT to do when I'm running my own business one day. He never did any coaching or training. Just talked about how all the GM's in his district were sorry (which we weren't, he was a lousy manager.) Some people were great to work with. You could tell who had been with the company for awhile. They were the people who were always in a bad mood. The most difficult part of the job was dealing with management. The most enjoyable- meeting new people every day. That was great. And I'll miss it. But do yourself a favor, don't work for this company. Pay is ok. But it doesn't amount to the time you'll be spending away from home. I had to have a social life during lunch! Not only that, our recent RM was let go. This company brought in a guy who talks about nothing but "Kansas this and Kansas that. " We had a meeting about a week ago and it was the most confusing meeting I've ever attended. This guy was telling us not to follow some policies and procedures and to not let corporate find out we weren't, but two minutes later he'd reprimand us for supposedly not following polices and procedures. I hope that this review has assisted you in making the right choice and saves your life as well. Good luck! And if you do decide to apply and get the job, from the wise words of a fellow peer, "Date it, don't marry it!" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is good to work for but looking for better work life balance
General Manager (Current Employee), ChicagoAugust 17, 2014
Provide excellent customer service daily
Grow the business in new accounts and profit
No work/life balance
Pay scale was misrepresented so looking for stability
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 14, 2014
Pros: noneq
Delivered prompt, accurate and excellent customer service
Conducted vehicle appraisal
Loaded consumer loan applications into the loan processing program
Opened new customer loan/pawn accounts
Processed Loan payments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Dayton, TNAugust 9, 2014
Everyone there is such a sweetheart, the only thing really wrong with it is that customer service reps don't get insurance there its only if you go a step up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TitleMax is a company that does have advancement opportunity but at the expense of your morality.
Store Manager (Current Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 6, 2014
Pros: competitive pay for managers
Cons: long hours without overtime
i would not recommend TitleMax to anyone as a career option, only a job to hold while you transition to something better. The culture of TitleMax is set up so that if the average person wants to advance you basically have to step on your coworkers or wait for them to fail and get terminated. This company does not look out for its employees nor even – more... give the appearance of having their best interest at heart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great people to work with
Store Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAAugust 4, 2014
I was always busy and making customers happy. Never had a problem with any employee. Loved the environment and would go back to work there if given the chance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Pressure Sales job
Store Manager (Former Employee), GAJuly 22, 2014
Titlemax is a company that is completely numbers driven. There is no concern for the employees or work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional place to deal with and work for
store manager (Former Employee), Cleveland, TennesseeJuly 21, 2014
Pros: good a s m
Cons: about everything else!!!!!
They expect you to know the ins and outs of the job before you even get your computer based learning completed.... I had 3 G.M.s in 3 weeks....turnaround awful... Will confuse you to death.... they all want different ways of managing you!!!! Need to go by policies and procedures...not all these people are honest in day to day activities.... They made – more... me feel uncomfortable most days, belittling their associates, not just me!!!!! I quit... FYI...I am a seasoned manager with many years experience, would never recommend anyone, but "the good ole boys network"........ – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competative market
Store Manager (Current Employee), Blue Springs, MOJuly 20, 2014
Pros: monthly bonus
Cons: bad upper management
This job can be stressful at times because there is a lot of collections involved and if you do not meet certain numbers your job is on the line, so in the past year I have seen a lot of employees come and go. I have never had any issues with meeting my stores numbers but there has been a steady decline in the business due to a lot of competition in – more... this market. There are also to many changes that the company does that constantly effects the job and the way customers look at this company. The higher management in this company is not good, all they care about is the profit numbers for their bonuses and yes I get a bonus as well from my stores profit but I have to deal with a lot of negativity with these people, they do not care about employees personal lives and expect you to do everything and then some without question. The job could be much better if there was not so much pressure and better marketing like I see other competitors doing like introductory offers and cheaper interest. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing customers pay off their loans way ahead of schedule and saving a bunch in interest and knowing they will come back to me because I help my customers out when I can and they then refer others to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place do not work there!
General Manager (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 14, 2014
They use people and spit them out. They lie to you and then when they tell you it is all your fault. rather then fix the real problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Csr (Current Employee), Union City, GAJuly 9, 2014
I learned how to view the value of a vehicle and the process of loaning and collecting. I enjoyed the managers that I worked with. There was a lot of room for advancement. The most enjoyable part was helping a person their time of need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Store Manager (Current Employee), Smyrna, GAJuly 4, 2014
Pros: security
Cons: hours
Typical work day is coming in the office reviewing daily goals and making collection and marketing calls. I learned building rapport and future relationship is the key to driving your business. The co-workers are great and motivated. Hardest part is producing during tax season. The enjoyment come from achieving your goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working environment
CSR (Current Employee), Charleston, SCJuly 2, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: short breaks
Call center
Answering phonse
Notating accounts
Processing payments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day doing Title loans
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 1, 2014
Pros: mileage reinversement
Cons: no beneifits
A typically day, is starting the collection calls trying to get in contact with customers that are late on there due date. When customers come into the store greet them. Help them out and see if they're going to make a payment or interested in getting a new loan. Also I have to go through our collection list and see if there are customers that need – more... to be placed out for repo that we've had no contact with them in the last 14 days. The most difficult part of the job is that sometimes we don't always get through our second round of our collection calls because we normally are very busy, my store is a high volume store. But I definitely enjoy what I do, I love to help people when they are in need. – less