Find companies:
TitleMax
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
151 reviews

TitleMax Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high pace office
Office Manager (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAFebruary 12, 2014
- A typical day at work would be getting in by 8am getting all reports done before my staff gets in at 8:30 and continue pushing loans and recoveries.
- I learned
- Management was continually changing.
- Very hard workers and always giving 100% when you lead them the right way.
- Being a Christian it was difficult selling a product or a loan to someone – more... that I knew would not be able to pay back. It was a hard decision that (I couldn't live with and it brought me to me leaving the company)
- Working with my staff and seeing everyone come together to help each other it was like a family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TitleMax is a financing company.
Assistant Communications Specialist Manager (Current Employee), Alsip, ILFebruary 7, 2014
TitleMax is a fast-paced environment. One has to be really great at multi tasking, while paying close attention to detail. One also has to have great customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved managing and Mentoring the employees I Supervised
Store Manager (Former Employee), Gaffney SCFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: great compensation for the outstanding job i did
Great opportunity to interact with the public and use my exceptional sales and customer service Skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), 1177 manchesterJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: scheduling
Cons: marketing in cold weather
enjoyed one on one with customers securing payment arrangements explaining contract and appraising vehicles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will work you to death and let you go
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VaJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: bad hours and management
I have been with this company for 8 months. If you aren't a SM or GM, you will spend most of your day outside putting flyers out illegally in all kinds of weather. You will be putting a ton of miles on your vehicle. You have to clean out disgusting repo'd vehicles and have to go to people's houses if they don't communicate with the office. The upper – more... management has no problem working you until you can't take it anymore and you end up quitting, or they find a way to fire you. The pay is decent and you can get promoted quickly, but still is a horrible company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT JOB FOR SOMEONE WHO IS LOOKING FOR MORE HOURS
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), South Boston, VAJanuary 22, 2014
Its not a bad place to work , Great chance to move up in compaany,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profit driving company which gives you the motivation to strive for more
Store Manager (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 18, 2014
Most enjoyable part of my job was working with clients to overcome their financial situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
started off dreamy,high turnover
Assistant Mgr (Current Employee), Griffin, GAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: every other weekend off
Cons: high turn over, inconsistancy, pay
It started off dreamy,but I started noticing that the cost of living is now sky rocketing and my pay is staying the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Preformance Based
Store Manager (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALJanuary 13, 2014
This job has been a great learning tool as it highly relates to my field of study. It has allowed me to acquire skills that I previously wouldn't have utilized before working in this type of environment. It has been a great opportunity to manage a staff in a fast pace and growing industry. On a day to day basis the objective is to manage a staffed office – more... to market, loan, and collect. I oversee all operations as it pertains to the production of the office(loan and collections), printing reports every morning, issuing task, and setting goals for the store's growth. This industry has helped my personal growth soar beyond measures. My job overall is to successfully manage a balanced business with loans, collection, and difficult decision making. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good paying job
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Albany, GAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: long hours
The job pays well. Hours are soooooo long no time for family have to be in management in order to qualify for benefits . I have been there a year and have already gotten a raise and have been promoted to asm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 27, 2013
Titlemax is more concerned with making money than they are in regards to their employees. There is no job security at all because you can be let go at any moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth orientated company
District Manager (Former Employee), Charleston, SCDecember 20, 2013
Pros: . performance compensation
Cons: no health care at that time
Title Max was a great company to work for. The company created a proactive high energy environment. The company’s management team strongly supported two way communications. Title Max always pride them self in bring innovated products to the market, making them leaders in the industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Candidate who applied for a Store Manager position.
Store manager (Former Employee), Acworth,GADecember 13, 2013
Pros: what they promise.
Cons: unprofessional, seems not to care about what candidates does think.
Very disappointed with the way this guys handled their selection process, after having passed three interviews with them and wait for more than 1 month to get a simple answer whether I was or was not chosen for the position ,I have to say that I am still waiting on them to give me a call or shot me an email with a final answer, regardless whether is – more... a yes or a No answer, I think I deserve it, I think is the professional way that should be expected coming from a serious company that is considering hiring reliable people, dependable people, to be honest make me think twice before joining a company with values like this one, is frustrating, and not fair at all, they should be direct and clear, that it would help me to understand having a better idea on what direction I should move on, not making me false expectations.
I believe they are taking advantage of the weak economy we are facing in usa and the abundance of qualified candidates available in the market now looking for jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay/ benifts, great/nice people, but not a long term career option
General Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 3, 2013
Pros: decent pay benifts, great people, never work a sunday
Cons: very long hours, zero job security, wayward upper managment.
TitleMax cannot seem to keep general managers, or district managers The average length of a GM's employment is about one year. Then you will become frustrated and quit, or they will find some reason to let you go, often without cause or warning. You have very little idea of were you stand with upper management. There is very little rhyme or reason, – more... or sense of direction in upper level management. You may be put in charge of a store that is a total disaster and be expected to turn it around in 2 months. If you can't by month 4 you will be let go.

You will work very long hours if you are a GM. In order to actually keep a store in line you will need to come in on your days off or before and after work to conduct field visits. F/V are your best tool for keeping collections and charges offs in line, but is very time consuming. You will often also be understaffed requiring you to fill in all those hours.

If you start out as a CSR you can quickly move up to Ast store manager, then SM and GM. You will receive pretty decent pay raises and profit sharing with every advancement. You'll be with the company 2-4 years depending if you survive as a GM. I've watched many SM promotees quit or get fired after only a few months as a GM

If you are willing to sacrifice your personal time/ life and put in many hours, you can make quite good money. But there is zero job security. Most GM's I've worked with in the last year who have any talent have already left. Despite being a successful GM in terms of sales and controlling charges offs, I will be looking for better security and less hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Store Manager (Current Employee), ForestdaleNovember 29, 2013
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: marketing and chases
A store manager must meet monthly, quarterly, or annual sales goals, depending on the company's fiscal cycle. This involves setting individual sales goals (quotas), holding contests for employees, or offering sales promotions. The manager may also find ways to make employees more productive to meet the goals. Thus, the store manager may be forced to – more... reduce payroll expenditures by decreasing employees' hours, or otherwise reducing operating cost. A store Manager should Motivate his team to achieve the target set for the store by Using some different activities. A store manager should set an example for his/her subordinates to follow. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good career change in my opinion
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), ALNovember 19, 2013
Pros: pay, reimbursment for gas, hours for those that are not a general manager. light weight work. vacation time starts immediately
Cons: stressful envoirnment, micro-managed, no insurance for anyone who isn't management, requires to spend your money to market for the company, excessive mileage on your vehicle
Pros – Pay, Reimbursment for gas, hours for those that are not a General Manager. light weight work. Vacation time starts immediately
Cons – Stressful envoirnment,
The management makes the job harder than it is by adding to your work load that is not manditory under company policy. Not one manager beyond the General Manager goes by company policy.
Money – more... hungry company:Attack/Market to the disabled, low income individuals and financially unstable people. Make it to easy to get money that people will never be able to pay back. They do not require proof of income, so that when the end of the 30 days is up and they don't have the minimum payment to renew the contract the vehicle is repoed.
They train you to be heartless and only go after the money: Pawn as much money as you can without thinking about how this person is going to pay it back.
Customers service isn't in their focus because they don't explain the product, & the money the customer gets is always way more that they need. And they remove all ways to get your title back
Required to you use your personal car to visit customer's houses in neighborhoods, most of which are not safe and only pay for gas.
Excessive mileage on your vehicle.
Requires to spend your money to market for the company. They want you to solicit in places that it says don't, dnd leave fliers on cars that is illegal.
If you don't meet loans, goals, or your numbers are not "in line" then in 3 months you are fired.
You are micro-managed. They don't trust their employees to do their job.
No insurance for anyone who isn't management.
Management is not professional: Conflict of interest, employees "hangout" and such with higher management (the typical favorites.) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
carls
General Manager (Former Employee), Walterboro, SCNovember 5, 2013
worked allday not always given a lunch if so you ate there couldnt leave store not the desired work enviroment at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Asome workplace, Caring Individuals
Store Manager (Former Employee), Wellston, MOOctober 29, 2013
I assist with car selections and helping customer retreive there titles. I assist the customers with appraising vehicles, marketing tactics, cash handeling daily, provided staff scheduling daily, assist with courtsey and deliquent calls, Multi tasked daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Promise of Big Money? But NO!!!! employee loyalty
Store Manager (Current Employee), Rockmart, GAOctober 29, 2013
Pros: chance to make money
Cons: zero job security
The Promise of Big Money? But NO!!!! employee loyalty
would rather FIRE you than to challenge and encourage you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity to Learn about Revenue, Profit and Marketing
Training Store Manager (Former Employee), Houston and DallasOctober 28, 2013
Pros: great hours
Cons: the constant travel
I learned a great deal, however, the continual traveling between Houston and Dallas for over three years was a difficulty esp when you have a young child. The company is a great company and you gain a great deal of insight into the Consumer Lending Field.