TKC holdings Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just don't.
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MIFebruary 8, 2018
Management treats you like garbage because you are so disposable. Even if you have potential, you will take the blame for things that could damage your career. The Corrections Officers are creepy as heck, even compared to inmates. If you're a woman, don't do this job, because you're seen as guilty of overfamiliarizing if you even crack a smile at the inmates. Every one I worked with was backstabbing and would throw you under the bus for anything. Management only took action when they thought people were engaged sexually, but not over the job and what really mattered.
Pros
Cake, always got my break
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never ever work here
Kitchen Supervisor (Former Employee) –  ArizonaFebruary 7, 2018
Worst job I ever had . Shady upper management . Always blame the little guy takes no responsibility for their mess ups. Really I'm so happy not to work there any more.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoting someone with no qualifications is so unfair.
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pickens, SCJanuary 31, 2018
I loved working at the prison. I put my heart into my work. Unfortunately the new boss took every weekend off which made scheduling unfair to the food supervisors. Slacking in hiring additional help ;made long work weeks.
Pros
Calm and steady work.
Cons
Unfair promotion to unexperienced employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a little stressfull
Delivery Agent (Former Employee) –  Buckeye, AZJanuary 25, 2018
the company is a good one to work for. when i worked there both times the company was under very poor management. but i have heard they weeded out the bad apples and have replaced with excellent employees. all we did was inventory all ordered store items that specific inmate had ordered, then we delivered each and every store bag to each inmate that ordered. Only Monday through Friday.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
its at a prison
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay far away from the St. Louis Prison in Michigan
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MIJanuary 25, 2018
Unless you have a relationship with a inmate and don't get caught through MDOC you will make it. Stay away from there unless you want to get involved.
Pros
no pros
Cons
you have to have a relationship with inmates to make it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Implementation Analyst (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 12, 2018
Culture and management needs improvement other than that its a ok place to get your foot in the door for an IT professional. Learned and gain experience in how work place cultures work.
Pros
Get your foot in the door job
Cons
benefits have recently been changed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kitchen was a mess
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Cape May County, NJJanuary 5, 2018
They have you make meals for 70+ people that is just barely considered food. And then they want it made cheap as possible. Making meals for 70+ on a $15 per meal budget. Using contaminated cook ware
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair and dishonest workplace
Commissary Representative (Former Employee) –  Oakwood, WVDecember 24, 2017
Incompetent management and even worse human resources. I don't recommend working here unless you're desperate for a job. The pay is not good for the risk you put yourself at on the job and you never know how your manager will react to your good or bad job performance.
Pros
You learn how to constantly glance over your shoulder.
Cons
Management, Pay, Unfair
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They dehumanize people
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Eloy, AZDecember 18, 2017
To work for this company that works out of the prison system is horrible. You constantly have to watch your back and not just for the inmates but for your management also
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Expensive healthcare, lower wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 28NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food Service Supervisor: Error with electronic application. Needs attention
applying (Former Employee) –  Bayamón, PRDecember 18, 2017
I have tried completing your electronic employment application and your system does not allow me to continue past the certification of my application in spite of entering the requested information and selecting 'NEXT'. Even after attempting to complete the application from four different computers I receive the same error time and again. I emailed your HR department with a screen shot of the issue, hopefully I will be able to complete the application before the position is filled or the listing expires.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair and bad management
Kitchen Worker (Former Employee) –  Elko County, NVDecember 13, 2017
Bad management, old employees stuck in bad habits complacent, lazy each and every single one of them, pawning there lack of communication n leadership off onto new employees not following protocol or kitchen rules, favoritism... if anyone has a good head on their shoulders I wouldn't recommend working here unless you want to be taken advantage of as they're doing to the poor employees that work there now.
Pros
None
Cons
Bad management!
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company to be employed by. Ionia, Mi
Superviser (Current Employee) –  Ionia, MIDecember 6, 2017
This is the worst company that anyone could possibly work for. You have to fight tooth and nail to get your money from them. No advanancement, No time an half, your are forced to use your pto if you want your money. This company lies to your face and will cut your throat soon as it gets a chance. I would never recommend this company to anyone. They are not a trust worthy company. During the holidays the bosses cut your hours back to get their bonuses which is about $4500.00 in their pocket. They send you a lousy $5.00 walmart gift card and thats it. This company is not worth the stress, pain, or effort. Bypass this company and find a real and better job.
Management has their favorites and will let them come and go as they please and still pay them for their full time even if they come in late.You're not able to work any over time unless they need you, but heaven forbide if you work any over time on your own to get your job finished. High and low manangement is as stupid as a groundhog in a grapefruit. Please be smart a find a better job than this one.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything. Even the food taste bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Compassion For Labor
Implementation Analyst (Current Employee) –  Garland, TXDecember 2, 2017
This company does not value their Labor Force at all. They purchased Keefe Commissary Network. They immediately began slashing employees. Salaries are low balled UNLESS you are one of the good ole boys, or chosen few. Secure industry, but no regard for the people who make money for them.
Pros
Secure Industy
Cons
Low Salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes 24NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever to work.
Kitchen supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kinross, MINovember 30, 2017
Managers have no clue, under paid, dangerous, serve food that is rotten. Witch puts u at risk to save a few pennies.. Dangerous.................................................................................
Pros
None. Low pay. Dangerous
Cons
Dangerous. You will be serving rotten... Witch puts u at risk...
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BS company
wharehouse worker (Former Employee) –  FloridaNovember 8, 2017
Beware upper management doesn't even know their own polices BEWARE it's not a career it's only a job with nothing to look forward to. And pay sucks they lie and the president doesn't keep promises
Pros
Only a job
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 27NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive staff; casual atmosphere
Tax Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Creve Coeur, MOOctober 17, 2017
Supportive staff; casual dress code. Learned a lot as the tax coordinator about federal, state and local tax codes and permits. Hardest part of job is that there is not a "typical" day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company Ever
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lakeport, CAOctober 5, 2017
Imagine working in a place that feels like a bottomless pit and being treated as if you were too condemned into a bottomless pit and then working for a company who basically doesn't even acknowledge that you are a human being and if you enjoy these thoughts then continue on and apply, no good has ever come out of a company like this especially given the type of people that make up this company. Save your soul and your self by not giving them your time of day.
Pros
Get Into Jail Free Card
Cons
Lose your self worth and morals
Was this review helpful?Yes 71No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place
HR Generalist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 13, 2017
Terrible place to work

Broken promises
Unstable
Cut-throat
Alot of turnover
No growth in terms of career
Low pay

I would recommend that you find another company that offers stability and room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 73No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No structure
Shipping Clerk (Current Employee) –  Sparks, NVSeptember 12, 2017
The pay starts at 11. Every year in Jan you a review and a "raise". It's percentaged and about a quarter, depends really how hight they go. Anout 3 percent is the highest. People there for 5 years are barely at $12 an hour. When the company was bought by investment people we were told they were going to raise starting pay. They however had to figure out what to do with the rest of us. So, a year later, nothing has been done. They do not want to raise starting two dollars because they do not want to raise everyone who has worked there for years the $2 as well.
We are replaceable. We go through so many people in a couple weeks. Whats the point to learn new names anymore?
Pto is nice. But if you call in, not only do you get a point, they take from pto. Points fall off the day you call in, a year later. Get over 7 they stay... 8/9 wrote up, walked out, fired. 1 minute late. Point. Leave early unscheduled for sickness. Point. Have no PTO but need to see a doc or have an appt? Call in, take a point. That is what we are told to do.
Pros
You pay for medical, they pay for dental.
Cons
Management. Pay. Point system. Parking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tired physical
Shipping Staff (Current Employee) –  Elkridge, MDJuly 12, 2017
All day walk to get the numbers of requirement. No future, and at the end of the day you feel pain all your body. Only once a year increase paid but very very little. No bonus reality, but they said they provide bonus according to your job performance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 48No 8Report