Find companies:
TMC Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

TMC Transportation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TMC- Just another company
Driver (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: good home time
Cons: freight pay is light
In my experience of 5 years at TMC, I've already quit twice first time too just enjoy my summer the second was to work for an O/O with unfortunally did not work out. My problem with TMC they just don't have the run's like they use too @ the frieght is just so cheap I can make $180 per day at home doing local for all the waiting around it's just not – more... worth it too me. Along with going 62mph that's a JOKE especiall when they are going to E-Logs. Maybe the saftey department should look at quality drivers @ try holding on too them
Instead of puttting new guys inn the trucks at a high rate, then we here complaints on the trucks being damaged/rolled over. I'm not the only driver who believes this there are many that say the same thing.

TMC does have nice trucks and are currently putting new one's in the fleet but inn the end people want to get paid over having a brand new truck to drive. The few things I enjoy would be home time they are very good with this regardless of your FM sometimes you got ta make them just understand by talking out your needs. The hotel in Des Moines is also very nice @ most of the staff is friendly. I just feel like it's more babysitting then letting me do my job!! They are great to start with if you can make it long enough here, most companies respect you working for TMC if you decide to leave, flatbedding is semi-hard work and not for everybody. Average salary here starts around 35k-50k and up too 60k+ if you like to train. I have to say thought they maintain there trucks better then most, I don't mind washing the truck unlike companies that never do. All @ all your gonna have to shovel some bullsh!t just like anywhere else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than most but still at the bottom
Driver (Current Employee), KyDecember 18, 2012
Pros: good equipment and insurance
Cons: find myself giving more than getting, pay is average if you run hard, now tmc is using e logs and inge trucks run 62 mph so you better hope you got the patience.
I somewhat enjoy working here but I learned to put up a lot on how they do things. When they say your family it's a lie because staff treats you as below them. If your lucky you will have a veteran fleet manager. If you get one of there college kids be prepared for low paying loads and forget home time cause these guys don't know trucking. It's true – more... they are dubbed marine corp of trucking industry because you will do things their way or highway. Also get used to walking on eggs shells they love to be intimidate. Most part decent check,see the states, get experience, and move on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the company sets your sights high and lets you down.
driver (Current Employee), des moinesDecember 14, 2012
Pros: seeing the country
Cons: money, loads, home time, management
I have been with tmc for almost five months. Their pay and home time sucks. I have had to talk,to my fleet manger about it many times and nothing is done. They say they are a family company my wife was in the hospital and i let my fleet manager know and they kept me out another week. Also if there going to keep you out over the weekend their suppost – more... to let you know by mid week and not let you know friday afternoon after your fleet manager said he had you a load. I made more money in the training then on the road. Your normal day starts at 6am if you have a load. Most the time after you unload its hours inbetween your next load. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LONG HOURS/GOOD EQUIPMENT
Transportation Specialist (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAOctober 19, 2012
Pros: good equipment
Cons: dead end job
NO HOLIDAY PAY HARD TO GET A RAISE THEY WILL DROP YOU ON THERE TERMS OK FOR A NEW DRIVER TO GET EXPERIENCE OTHER THAN THAT DONT RECOMMEND
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take good care of equipment
driver (Current Employee), texasOctober 5, 2012
Pros: home time
Cons: seasonal lulls in cargo mostly building supplies
As a driver that values home time its a good place to work. they try to get you home every weekend and fix anything you identify as wrong. most repairs are at terminal or dealer. Tarping is worst part of job best part is always on the move very little in load delays while I was OTR 30 minutes or less was common from unload to redispatch
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced company
Flatbed Regional Driver (Current Employee), Des Moines, IAAugust 29, 2012
learned a lot in two week training program in des moies, ia. very tough, only the good stay and the weak go home. be ready to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Driver (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAAugust 8, 2012
Pros: see the country
Cons: never home
otr driving exp.
steady freight
nice equipment
great pay
it was great to learn all about driving a flat bed and getting to see the entire country. family needed be back home so didnty have a choice but to quit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Driver (Former Employee), United StatesAugust 6, 2012
it was over the road so i got to see the world, somthing i never did before.but when it started snowing i was kinda scared cause i wasnt use to driving in the snow, i didnt have experience at the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need more work
Detailer Specialist (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 16, 2012
Pros: one pro i loved about this job was that i had my own work station
Cons: they would let the detailer from days get all the semi-trucks
First, when I worked here, there were too many people giving orders instead of taking orders. Second, we would had a meeting before our shift started to talk about what need to be do before our shift was over. Finally, I hate when they ran out of trucks for me to detail. So, I would have to do house keeping around the workplace and offices in the building.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay free at any one of there hotels
OTR Flatbed Truck Driver, Class A CDL (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAJuly 3, 2012
Pros: first class outfit
Cons: away from home
Work hard , and they will take care of ya. (In a good way) The hardest part of the job for me or really the most time consuming was tarping the loads. Time in truck driving is money,the longer your wheels arn't turning the less your making per week.The best part you meet and go to some very cool places. Trust me driving gets under your skin (In a good – more... way) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Training; Good Equipment
Truck Driver Trainee (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAJuly 3, 2012
Had a good training program and good equipment. All of the personell were helpful and professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
OTR Driver (Former Employee), IAJune 16, 2012
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: home time
On a typical work day I would start around 7am. I would make my first delivery then would contact my dispatcher to get information for my next pick up and drop off. Safety is the biggest part of my job. I didn't have much interaction with co-workers as I was an otr driver. The hardest part of my job was tarping my loads. The most enjoyable part of my – more... job was everyday driving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard worker
Long Haul Driver (Current Employee), Des Moines, IAApril 9, 2012
Pros: guarantee home time
Cons: being away from my family
Tmc has taught me that if I take pride in myself and the company I will achieve my goals.

About TMC Transportation

TMC is the largest privately owned flatbed trucking company in the United States. With over 40 years in the flatbed industry, – Read more

TMC Transportation Photos