Find companies:
Topshop
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
138 reviews

Topshop Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse fashion forward enviornment
Sales Stylist (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 7, 2014
very fun to challenge my fashion sense on a daily level. most of the management team have been imported from the uk so its rather interesting because i sometimes feel im no longer in nyc but abroad, and thats awesome.

the store overhired and overestimated its projected sales and because of that the company has to let go many of the just hired associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very big store
Sales Advisor (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 27, 2014
Pros: long lunches
Cons: didnt give hours
I had a seasonal position here, but they only worked me once a week so i really didn't get any experience. I would keep my section organized and make sure clothes looked neat. I would get clothes from the dressing room and put them back where they belonged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hip and great fashion brand with a voice in youth culture.
Assistant Brand Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 29, 2014
Topshop is an amazing and comprehensive fast fashion retailer. The brand has the unique ability to target the fashion elite whom love exclusivity and the budget conscious fashionista who needs affordable yet stylish clothes. This brand has taught me the demands of an expansive retail operations and the balance of still needing to have an air of exclusivity – more... and prestige that high end brands have. The hardest aspect of working at Topshop is meeting the demands of a high traffic stores and the general operations required to meet these demands. The most enjoyable part of working for Topshop is the fun and playfulness that is fostered among the employees who are able to express their fashion uniqueness and clientele with a broad range of customers who often mirror there personalities and interests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, ENGAugust 20, 2014
During my time at Topshop, one of my roles was to ensure that the stock room was kept clean, tidy, and should have enough stock stored in case any products ran out on the shop floor. To keep the stock room in a good order, I was responsible for checking in the deliveries and ensuring that the goods were tagged and then put in their right place. My main – more... role was checking the shop floor on a regular basis during my shift and replacing any items of clothing that were running low to maintain the customers’ expectations of the stock being available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you're a student
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 22, 2014
Pros: good employee discounts, flexible scheduling
Cons: management, employees
I've worked here for about a year and have had a few good experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No life, no development
Sales Advisor/Customer service (Former Employee), London Oxford circusJuly 17, 2014
Pros: staff uniform (in every 3month)
Cons: ignorant management, low payment, bad schedule, long hours
I was working for the flagship store. It is a really busy store usually understaffed but the expectation is high and in return you don't get almost anything. They like to hire people who don't care about the job so they don't have to deal with them. Management is rubbish, team leaders are scared of them therefore there's no one to stand up for you.
There're – more... 5 different shifts which are being rotated throughout the week. That means that you actually have no time to have your own social life, especially because the shifts are long. They make you take 1,5 break which makes you stay at work for almost 9 hours and you're being paid for 7.2 hours or so.(it's a complete waist of time in my opinion)
Your getting paid monthly on the last Friday of a month which is a struggle because it is sometimes 4weeks sometimes 5weeks. It means that from the same payment you have to stretch for an additional week.
Co-workers: There are some really good people working there but unfortunately majority of them is rubbish. Most of them is living at home with their family so they're not motivated to do any work,you ending up working instead of them. And these are the people who are not even coming to work because money is not important for them so again you ending up working instead of them.
The hardest part of the job is that you have to deal with customers on the daily basis meanwhile you have to struggle with the rubbish management and the hateful atmosphere which surround you all day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best retail job
Sales Advisor (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 22, 2014
Pros: amazing people
Cons: nothing
I would provide excellent service by listening and attending to customer needs, also restock and merchandise on-floor product I would also assist customers with questions and help style customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time
Loss Prevention (Former Employee), Las VegasApril 27, 2014
I worked here as a so called "loss prevention associate" its horrible. Management won't have your back the loss prevention manager will throw you under the bus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly working with customers and cash rep
Sales Specialist & Visual Merchandising Support (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 9, 2014
Start out with a store meeting, highlighting important facts and details that were beneficial to that specific day, then going to your assigned floor, meeting with the floor manager and checking to see which sections you are assigned. Sections including: running clothes back to the floor coming from the fitting, cashier, ringing out customers, answering – more... any questions, giving them surveys, and also sales advisers whom would be in charge of staying on sales floors constantly ensuring customers had their proper customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 31, 2014
The management lacks in certain areas. Hours are horriable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job in retail I ever had
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 8, 2013
Pros: discount and location
Cons: hours, management, pay, hr
Extreme hours and scheduling that changes continuously. Non existent HR department which really makes things hard. Management is poor and overrun with unqualified people. Pay is constantly an issue for employees because checks are constantly not correct. Absolutely no communication at all within the entire company. Only good thing was my coworkers and – more... the neighborhood. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opportunity for growth
Top Level Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 30, 2013
Pros: great fashion. co-workers are fun to work with
Cons: schedule changes at last minute. no teamwork
No open positions to grow. Constant competition with each other no team environment, people throwing each other under the bus to look better than everyone else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relevant fast fashion brand
VISUAL MERCHANDISER/ CREATIVE ASSISTANT (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 11, 2013
Cons: company is ran by too many people
This is a company that supports employees that fit the brand and the team. Most days consist of styling, coordination and product placement within trends. Analyzing sales versus LW and LY, and problem solving those merchandising issues. Hardest part of the job is the 6 a.m start, most enjoyable part is competitive shopping, inspiration walks and over – more... brainstorming sessions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for young adults!
Customer Service Specialist - Cashier (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 10, 2013
Pros: fun, good managers, understanding
Cons: long shiftts
I really like this job, I'm 19 years old and many of my co workers are the around same age. A lot of us have bigger goals were working towards when it comes to careers and this job is a great way to set building blocks and networking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Associate (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 9, 2013
Topshop is an amazing company to work for but the growth rate at this location is very slow and management is very condescending and unprofessional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Seasonal Stock Associate/Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: many breaks, great people
Cons: lack of hours able to work
Great Staff, Managers, and Products. Although the days are long, the staff made each day a joy to come in. There was never a dull moment. The customers were friendly and most patient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Inspiring, fast-paced work environment.
General Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 15, 2013
Pros: bonus scheme
Cons: work/life balance.
Works with an amazing group of talented, creative, and highly motivated management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good for Retail
Assistant, Personal Shopping Department (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 14, 2013
If you work hard there are opportunities for growth at TopShop. They are a growing company in the US so there are plenty of opportunities. The work hours are tough because it's retail, but its not uncommon to go from working on the shop floor to working in corporate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good.
Previous Sales Advisor (Former Employee), whitecitylondonDecember 19, 2012
Pros: 25% discount, boys in topman
Cons: management, no breaks after 5hrs which is actually illegal, underpayment
I worked in Topshop Topman White City for roughly six months, it is baaaaaaad The Management stand on the floor and talk whilst all the other employeers do all the work. , the managers are seriously rubbish, they always underpay you! The rota's are never up and agree with the other person who gave a review on White City Topshop! They also never reply – more... back to any hoilday requests and many have favourites - as it is in many jobs. The floor is poorly run! And the shifts are done so bad sometimes that there are hardly any staff in at a time, which causes stress! other Topshops seem run alot better than this one! . Rude and isn't approachable which is what a manager should be!
Typical day at work on the shop floor, all day. Co-workers they alrite, hardest part of the job mangagement. also if you work 5 hours you dont even get a break!! this is illegal. also if you attend a staff party they take 20£ outta your wage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new company
Accessories Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 21, 2012
Pros: great employees, brand oriented
Cons: management
it is a great company to be apart of. many different things happening that you wouldn't expect in retail. bad management and no growth within.

1 2 3 4 5

About Topshop

The London-based retailer, Topshop has over 300 stores for women, including the four-story, 100,000-square-foot flagship store – Read more

Topshop Photos