Find companies:
Torrid
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
104 reviews

Torrid Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees are like a family
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLJuly 1, 2014
Pros: there pretty good at coaching you for advancement oppurtunity if your the right fit, they also give you your breaks on time normally.
Cons: sense it is retail people call out alot so sometimes you have to work through your breaks.
There was both good and bad while working here, but over all it was great. I would recommend this job if you can afford to start part-time. The managers made you feel like a family. Towards the end of me working there the management went through some changes, so future employees may have a different opinion about management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Independence, MOJune 29, 2014
customer service, cashier, sales.assist customer with clothing and etc. housekeeping, set displays
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Gretna, LAJune 24, 2014
Productive and fun workplace, promotes from within, friendly staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Sales associate (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 18, 2014
I enjoyed working at Torrid, It was a fun environment, I learned alot even though I didn't stay long because of school. I miss my coworkers alot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and exciting workplace with fashion.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), mall of victor valleyJune 16, 2014
in the mornings i get the store ready for opening, clean/organize, sale/wall sets, greet customers letting them know whats new and what sales we have going. I also checked dressing rooms and customers in dressing rooms, i would give myself projects such as re- organizing walls, re- folding jeans, t- shirts etc. when closing i would also clean and organize – more... the store change out walls and/or sale sets, put out stock and go- backs. I learned a lot from management and customers, everyday was an experience! Our team was always like a family, we always worked together to make sure our customers had the best experience possible and to make sure the store was up to par. I cant think of hard parts of the job, I truly enjoyed working at Torrid. Work for me was fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place
Retail Sales Representative (Current Employee), West Covina, CAJune 6, 2014
Pros: build on communication skills, flexible scheduled
Cons: not enough hours, part time
A typical day at work would be assisting customers through out there full visit. What I learned most about working with Torrid is that you have to enjoy everything that you do , and be patient about everything you do. My co-workers are the best, they are very nice to work with. The hardest part of my job would be signage because it does take a while – more... to accomplish and work through but eventually we all finish it. The most enjoyable part of my job would have to be the energy and trust that is built into our company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low-pay, but fun job with no advancement opportunities.
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sterling Heights, MIJune 4, 2014
Pros: discount, networking
Cons: short breaks, bad pay, okay management
Helping people choose and purchase plus size clothing and accessories. Decent management but no opportunity to advance in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up to date fashion
Assistant Store Manager/ Store Manager (Former Employee), Palmdale, CAMay 6, 2014
Pros: great discount
Cons: minimum amount of hours
Okay training. a lot of hands on. Not enough hours to provide staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun Environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Newport News, VAApril 29, 2014
Greeting customers and working together as a team to make a sale. A very warm environment where everyone is encouraged to be their selves and show self expression
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Independence, MOApril 22, 2014
Pros: mall
Cons: pay
customer services, sale, cashier, assist the customer with fashion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manager assistant
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Aurora, COApril 18, 2014
Open close
Marketing
Promotions
Delegate responsibilities
Customer service
Cash register
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but lacked training and guidance
Full Time Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Cedar Park, TXApril 8, 2014
Pros: great co workers, great product, great environment
Cons: poor company training
Store environment is fun and busy, there is never a boring day with nothing to do, and the co workers were great girls who anyone could get along with even on their worst of days. I loved the product, the customer, and I LOVED doing all the visual moves and updates. My only issue with Torrid is the Division management. The whole time I was employed – more... there, it seemed like the DM was more concerned about being buddies than helping us learn more about our new roles. She would come in almost weekly and never really talk to us about the store or our numbers, she would rather walk around the mall and get her eyebrows done for her next vacation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Torrid
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Albuquerque NMApril 7, 2014
Pros: meetings were good for bonding
Cons: barely any hours and extremely small paychecks
I did not enjoy working there. I don't want to bash them in any way but I dreaded going to work when I was scheduled. The main reason that I disliked working at Torrid was because I was only scheduled 2 days a week for 3 hours. 3 days if I was lucky. That is 9 hours a week. I eventually realized that 9 hours was not worth it. I also really disliked – more... the store manager but knew that I couldn't disrespect her so I just kept everything to myself until the only thing I could do was quit. I will admit I learned a lot from torrid about retail and customer service. I got a lot more confident when talking to customers and became a pro at selling clothes. I was up and down with my sales though. Some times were harder to sell than others. My co-workers were great for the most part. However, quite a few of them quit before I did for the exact same reason I did. Every complaint always goes back to the manager. And I guess I wasn't the only one. I think the hardest part of the job would be having to respect someone that never respected me. Its a place of work where everyone has to respect and get along with each other but the manager didn't seem to feel like it was expected of her with a lot of her employees. I noticed that the employees that brought in the most sales were the ones she favorited the most. A lot of employees got the short end of the stick most of the time. The most enjoyable part of the job would have to be the people I met and some people I worked with. I loved working with a few of the girls because I got along with them so well and felt comfortable around them, which in all honesty, feeling comfortable around people is relatively easy for me to do but the store manager made it so difficult. As for the customers, I loved working with customers that came in to shop often. I was only working there for a month but after a few visits, I knew what kind of clothes they would like and we were able to connect on a friendship level instead of a costumer and employee basis. Its a plus sized store so I was able to connect with them on that as well. The customers made it a lot easier to handle. Especially young girls looking for outfits that they wouldn't normally wear. They needed to get out of their comfort zone and I was able to help them through it and make them feel comfortable. Ive been there so working at a store like that really helped me grow! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fashion Savvy
Seasonal Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), phoenix azMarch 30, 2014
Fashion marketing. Customer service. Retail Sales. Cashiering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the clothes
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Anchorage, AkMarch 24, 2014
This was a seasonal position so I was not there very long but in that month or so one manager moved to a different clothing store and I saw several employees come and go. Very high turn over rate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and amazing company.
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Louisville, KYMarch 22, 2014
The store is a great place to work and gives you great communication skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably the best corporate company I've ever worked for!
Full Time Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Mesa, AZMarch 7, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: late hours during holiday's
A typical day would be taking care of all store operations. From breaking down new shipment and placing it on the store floor for market to running to the bank to deposit earning from day before and grabbing change for the tills. The DM and store manager I worked under where by far the most caring people and open people to communicate with and the same – more... can be said about the employees I helped manage. The hardest part of course was not being able to accommodate a customer due to company policies, they were loose to an extent but there were times where there was simply nothing I could do to ease their pain. The most enjoyable was being able to make a woman feel beautiful about herself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Key Holder (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAMarch 5, 2014
I loved helping women feel confident and the happy atmosphere that was created.

Unified management staff lacking and a strong history of "playing favorites Great for a second job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Company but Horrible Staff
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Humble, TXFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: 40% off, flexible, fun, learning enviroment
Cons: pay sucks, hours suck
The company overall is amazing, but the staff at my store are rude, stuck up and nasty people. I would highly recommend Torrid or Hot topic as a first job. The company has taught me so much about retail and how to be successful in it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Retail Salesperson (Former Employee), Eugene, ORFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: discounts at the food court
Cons: no benefits
wonderful place to work, pleasant coworkers. The hardest part of the job was talking customers into buying things. The most enjoyable part was shipping in the back of the store and cleaning up the store, keeping it tidy.

1 2 3 4 5

About Torrid

What's the Hot Topic? "Everything About the Music," according to this teen-focused retailer. Hot Topic's 625 mall-based stores – Read more

Torrid Photos