Find companies:
Torrid
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
128 reviews

Torrid Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place with excellent customer service
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Bronx, NYDecember 11, 2014
Pros: assisting customers and helping to boost self-esteems everyday.
Cons: no benefits
What I have learned while being at Torrid is that customer service is EXTREMELY important and also the effect it has on clientele. The most enjoyable part about the job is the fact that I am helping women find clothes for themselves while feeling good about it. There really isn't a hard part to the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Asst. Manager (Current Employee), Eugene, ORDecember 9, 2014
Pros: health insurance
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work requires me to count tils and the safe, do markdowns, help customers be happy.
I learned how to maintain my management position.
The management above me is difficult to get along with.
I love my co-workers they are amazing and truly work hard.
The hardest part of my job making an angry customer happy.
I think pleasing the customer – more... is the best thing to do at the company seeing a customer smile is so rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I miss this place!!!
Part Time Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Mesquite, TXDecember 2, 2014
Pros: bonuses, discounts, customers, culture, location, team
Cons: the manager sucked!
I absolutely LOVED working at this place!!! I loved the culture at the store level and company wide. We were a family and I still keep in touch with most of the ladies. This was a very fun time in my life! We had fashion shows during down time. I loved our customers and they loved us. I got to travel around to other stores in the area to work. I got – more... to train and give ideas. The only thing I didn't like was how mean the Head manager was. She truly gave us a hard time and it felt like we were walking on egg shells around her. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Store Manager (Former Employee), Bowie, MDDecember 2, 2014
-Drive sales
-Recruit team
-Update visuals
-Operations executions
-Receiving and processing shipment
-In the moment coaching
-Tracking conversion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, but no hours here
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Downey, CANovember 19, 2014
Pros: you can express yourself with your own fashion and wear almost anything to work, fun co-workers and fun managment
Cons: too much work for little pay!
Not many hours, no organization with schedules, fun co-workers and cool management. Working way too much for little pay!! Even had to clean bathrooms and climb 15 foot ladders and carry heavy boxes and way too little pay for all of that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding work schedule but great people to work with.
Store Manager (Current Employee), San Francisco, CANovember 17, 2014
Although the demands on my time are huge, it is an excellent place to work with people with an awesome work ethic. I love the care to customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned to up-sell
cashier (Former Employee), Mesquite,TXNovember 13, 2014
This was one of my very first jobs. I blew my manager away at the interview, which consisted of myself along with 3 other girls. I would go into work and make sure that our merchandise was all neat and ready for our customers. They would come to me for questions and concerns and not only did i provide that but i also would convince them to buy other – more... products we sold to compliment the piece they already had chosen to purchase. Up-sell!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Discount, Awful Hours
Sales Associate (Current Employee), WashingtonNovember 6, 2014
Pros: 40% discount, awesome customers
Cons: cattiness, horrible hours, push of selling tccs
I love the 40% off of Hot Topic and Torrid and the occasional 50% off but I hate that I only work 7 hours a week and when I do come in they send me home early. I also don't like the cattiness of it all. I love customers but I hate being pressured to make them buy a credit card... they tell me to push even while they're in the dressing room which I don't – more... feel comfortable doing.
I do love the clothes and discounts and the occasional free cupcakes but I'd rather work somewhere else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours are not guaranteed
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), NorthgateOctober 21, 2014
Clean and prep the store for opening, assisted customers find clothing, tried to meet quota, made sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company To Work For.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Ingram Mall, San Antonio TxOctober 20, 2014
Pros: face to face customer relations. discounted clothes. no dress code. flexible with your life.
Cons: short lunch's..late hours.. strict like bootcamp strict on rules.
Great company to work for. I enjoyed every second of being with the company. A typical day at work is fun. We got to do shipment and then if we were slow we could go ahead and try stuff on. We got to interact with customers and we were able to dress people up. I mean who doesnt love dress up. I learned to be empathetic with customers and I learned some – more... really good management skills with the team. My management at the time when I worked there was ok. Store manager was lazy....always leaving the store while on the clock with her girlfriend. Also if she didnt want to deal with customers she would just go and sit in the back room till the store was empty again. She would be late to work. She wouldnt do anything. My co-workers were by half amazing. I met some great people with the company. Hardest part, probably the really strict rules when it came to management. Most enjoyable being able to just have fun at times and be me. Also not having to worry about what we will be wearing. I loved that we didnt have a dress code :D – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous All Around
Stylist (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCOctober 14, 2014
I get to work along side the best women that I have ever encountered and I am not just saying that. These women are fierce in all the right ways which makes going to work that much more fun. We are not just a random group of attractive plus size women because we are a family. Supporting each other and our customers so even at the part time level that – more... I am... Work is an amazing place to be. I get to shop with my friends and so many incredible women that come to our store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere to work in
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee), Woodbridge, NJOctober 6, 2014
Having a love of the product makes it easy to sell. But most enjoyable are our regular customers who are pleasant and fun and often lead to worth while experiences and the ability to genuinely make a positive impact on a persons day or life. As torrid is a plus size clothing store we have more than our fair share of customers with body issues and we – more... can truly impact their self esteem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
engaging in customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 6, 2014
Pros: helping customers, inventory, being a manager
Cons: seasonal
Greeted customers entering the store to ascertain what each customer wanted or needed.
l Described product to customers and accurately explained details and care of merchandise.
l Earned management trust by serving as key holder, responsibly opening and closing store.

l Politely assisted customers in person and via telephone.
l Provided an elevated – more... customer experience to generate a loyal clientèle.
l Recommended, selected and helped locate and obtain out-of-stock product based on customer requests.
l Conducted weekly walk-throughs with the manager to discuss interior visual displays, including store window
presentation.
l Restocked inventory ever month and reviewed cash operation data to verify proper replenishment.
l Served as the main liaison between customers, management and sales team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: learn a lot
Cons: hours and pay
Awesome place to work and learn about fashion not so great on hours and pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A store that shows "Sexy is not a Size"
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Gurnee, ILSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: 30 minute breaks
Cons: few hours
The clothes they sell for plus size women are awesome. Finally plus size people can be up to date in style as well.

The job work and life balance is alright.
I don't really get too many hours a week, 10 if I am lucky. I mainly work for three hours a day, and like i said I am lucky I can pick up someones shift.

I just learned how Torrid has it's own – more... way of greeting customers, how they have goals to sell denim or bras and how they earn Torrid Credit Cards or Personal stylist from the customers.

I don't know much about the main management but the store management seems to always be in a peppy mood and enjoy having to work with all employees.
My co-workers are really nice and work hard. They were very gracious on showing me how things are done and aren't afraid to give me ideas.

The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing all the new trends coming in and watching the customers leave the store really happy after we've helped them find an item or outfit.

The hardest part would be having to convince a customer to sign up for a Torrid Credit Card, because the customer might already have one or they don't want one because they are "afraid" of having a credit card or have existing ones. It's difficult to get someone to buy something when they are adamant on "just looking". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Fashion
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Cherry Hill NJAugust 29, 2014
This is the place to learn more than customer service. This is the place where I found my passion for training and development. There is plenty of support for growth. If you like retail, you would love to work here. I also found an appreciation for visual merchandising.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Torrid
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 26, 2014
This company is fantastic; moderate to fast paced, always keeps you on your toes. The people are friendly and the staff is helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't for me
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLAugust 25, 2014
Pros: discount, helping people
Cons: horrible management
I first thought working at torrid would be the best place for me, but it wasn't what i thought it would be.
My coworkers would fight over who got sales, and who didn't.
The management team was so unprofessional.
And there wasn't enough hours to actually make a living off working there.
My co-works were always marking people sales under them, when they – more... weren't theirs.
The hardest job was probably finding enjoyment working in that type of environment.
I used to love Torrid, I spent hundreds of dollars on that company, I tried my hardest to meet sales and find positive people to involve myself with and it was a fail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pluses and Minuses
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Springfield, ILJuly 27, 2014
I was always a Torrid fan, from shopping online in the early days to finally getting to shop in a brick and mortar store. When I was offered a job, I was over the moon. Get a discount on my favorite clothes, and get paid for it, sign me up!
It's retail. You help customers, you fold and straighten, you clean...the basics.
The only thing that ruined my – more... experience was the management. However, that's the general gist of any retail job. You work your hardest, but you're ultimately a replaceable part of a larger machine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast working.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLJuly 24, 2014
Cons: horrible management
every day work --
Coming in, checking sales.. what is needed.
Jumping in and checking where on the floor youre suppose to be.
Ask customers if they need help or try up-selling.
Check them out,

1 2 3 4 5

About Torrid

What's the Hot Topic? "Everything About the Music," according to this teen-focused retailer. Hot Topic's 625 mall-based stores – Read more

Torrid Photos