Find companies:
Total Quality Logistics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
109 reviews

Total Quality Logistics Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Vulture Mentality
Account Executive (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHDecember 20, 2013
Pros: build you own book of business, freedom within managing your own accounts, close to working for yourself
Cons: 4 c's out to get you - other carriers/competition, your customers always want to nickel and dime you, - your coworkers will try to steal your clients, either by adding a duplicate location or running through other brokerage customers, - and other companies always have the chance to underbid and overtake your business., no job security always on edge, can change in a blink of an eye.
This job is not for the light hearted. There will be many obstacles standing in your way. If you can get through the Mental Warfare, the negativity from all around you, and stick to the system you can land new business in this company, and make a lot of money. But there is no room for anyone who ever gets content, even if this means you are not on draw – more... or costing the company any money. Logistics is brutal, you can get under bid or lose a customer in the blink of an eye and there is never any safe point in this job. You can however make a lot of money, but the key would be to move to a satellite office to get on the STL or sales team leader levels because they are garnering all the accounts when people leave the company, and therefore are adding business at all times. The key being able to add business with minimal effort on their own, because you will at some point get burnt out from the day in day out grind. You always have to be adding to your book of business no matter what stage you are at in your career development, just in case something happens and you lose a client. There is no benefit for the company to keep you over firing you, and handing your account to another broker, also it seems like managers have made up their minds on who they would like to see succeed and like in any office setting where there are obvious favorites, this to brings down morale. There are plenty of other companies offering hirer commission percentages to new brokers, that if known previously I would have looked into before signing up at TQL. The entire industry is kind of a sham, not just this company, but if you were looking to get into the broker life be warned that you are looking at phone calls all through the night, because only you completely understand you business and why would you want to lose your next rent check because someone else handled your phone call, be prepared for a lot of negative outlooks and rejection, and be prepared to go to war on your mental and emotional well being. It is a grind but it is definitely a place you will do really well if you can stay money motivated. You can make money here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A new and different experience
Logistics Account Executive (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INDecember 12, 2013
I was on the phone 9+ hours a day and couldn't leave the desk for very long. Had to work through lunch breaks and put in extra hours. What it taught me was how to multitask and be very assertive and detail oriented. I did enjoy the busyness of the job and the people I worked with were always willing to help me if I had any issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High level of expectations/ Pressure
Logistics Account Executive (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHNovember 27, 2013
Pros: independently manage your account
Cons: consumes your life
A typical day of work consisted of making 100 calls per day with 2 hours of talk time. You come in at 7:30am and leave at 5:15pm. Your thrown into the fire with a lot and it was pretty much learning on the floor which was the most effective. Younger people make it a good environment and a good work culture. Hardest part of the job is hearing "NO" and – more... trying to build your book of business. I didn't enjoy the job it just wasn't for me. But its something thats not for everyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NONE
Logistics Account Executive (Current Employee), Cleveland OHNovember 14, 2013
Pros: good atmosphere
Cons: bad brand
I make 120-150 prospecting calls per day, trying to sell a service with virtually no brand recognition. When I do convince people to pay for our services, I have trust the carriers to follow through on their responsibilities. It is incredibly frustrating having the quality of your service be determined by an outside party.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment, hard work
Sales Intern (Former Employee), Dayton, OHNovember 10, 2013
Pros: good environment
Cons: lot of work
You get what you put in with this job. It was very demanding, but had plenty of opportunity for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Logistics Account Executive (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 8, 2013
Pros: culture
Cons: on call 24/7
Whatever you put in the job is what you will get out of it. Fun, energetic, and fast-paced environment with fantastic earning potential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast-paced, aggressive, culture with large potential for growth!
Logistics Account Executive (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHNovember 7, 2013
Pros: very proactive, and active atmosphere
Cons: must grow own book of business from scratch
"smile and dial", sell to companies and truck drivers to make a profit and eventually a living. Very knowledgeable culture, everyone is there to help you grow and succeed, or at least find a good fit for you to grow within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Sales Organization in the Logistics Industry
Satellite Office Leader (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INNovember 7, 2013
Pros: young, enthusiastic environment. unlimited earning potential
Cons: hard work pays off. dealing with ups and downs of sales.
I've been working at TQL for a little over 4 years. I moved to Cincinnati and joined the company right out of college in 2009. When i took the opportunity, I wasn't sure how long I would be here. Over the last four years, there were many times that I wanted to leave and start a different career path, but at this point I can honestly say that I couldn't – more... see myself working anywhere else. Just like most things I've experienced in life, good things come to those who work hard. There are alot of ups and downs involved in the actual position, but if you realize that coming in, and you are tough enough to continue to work hard and push through the rough patches, you can really build a great life for yourself and your family. I don't know of anywhere else I could make this type of living and work in this type of office setting.

The opportunites to move up in the company are almost endless. Promotions for leadership positions are only done from within. TQL is a growing company, opening up multiple satellite locations throughout the company every year. The great thing is that even if someone doesn't want to move to a new city or a different part of the country, there are growth opportunites at every location because of the structure and constant growth.

This is a sales organization. Like any sales posititon, production is expected. If you hustle, are willing to be coached, learn, and step out of your comfort zone, you can be successful here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for people willing to put in the work.
Logistics Account Executive (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INNovember 6, 2013
Pros: earnings, great environment, free lunches, team events
Cons: work/life balance can sometimes be more in the work direction
I've been with TQL for over 2 years now - when I originally started I wasn't 100% sure I would like being here for the long run.

The job is high stress, high rewards - which is great for people who thrive in that kind of pressure, however, it's not for everyone.

When I originally started I didn't think it was for me, but with the people I work with – more... and the help of management I came to realize that this type of environment is the ONLY one for me. I learned and progressed both professionally and as a person through the things I've gone through at TQL.

While the job will take up a lot of your time, the people who work for this company are some of the best I've met and the most supportive you'll find. Everyone knows that there is a ton of work to be done and everyone appreciates the work others put in.

As for the earning potential, it's limitless. Now, I know a lot of companies talk about 'unlimited earning potential' but the expectations of it happening with many companies are unrealistic.

I was the first person to graduate from college in my family and the success I've had here has changed my life - if you're the type of person who is willing to put the work in and work towards changing your life this is the company for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work pays off
Account Manager (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INNovember 6, 2013
Pros: money making potential
Cons: stress
TQL is a good company to work at it is the type of job that isnt cut out for just anyone, but if your a hardworking person that is driven to make it this is a good fit. The thing that attracted me the most to TQL was the fact that i knew i could put myself in a postion to see the fruits of my labor. I didnt want to work at some job where i would work – more... twice as hard as the person next to me and make the same amount of money as they do. i did take hard work for me to build my own book of buiness with TQL being my first sales job the training program you are put throught before you go off on your own to build your book of bussiness really gave me every tool i need that along with my own passion to make money were the things that help me become successfully here. Lastly the best part about TQL is you will have great co-workers and all your mangers were brokers or are currently broker so when any situtation arrives they are all understanding because they have been in the situations before in there own personal experiance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like money and enjoy a young, competitive environment, I suggest you check this out
Logistics Account Executive (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INNovember 6, 2013
Pros: high, uncapped commission, not micro-managed, fun, young work environment
Cons: 24/7 on call, stressful at times (although that comes with any sales job)
I started working for the Indianapolis office in 2011 and am currently still apart of the team. I can honestly say it's the best decision I've made. Very High commission percentage and you get out of it what you put into it. On a day to day basis, we are expected to manage our accounts the best we see fit, handling all our customers' transportation – more... needs. All the while, still prospecting leads to grow our business. The management provides great support for any help we need along the way, but gives us enough space to run our businesses the way we want. Its a very young, fun atmosphere in the office and the culture is unlike any I've ever seen. Management does a great job of making you feel like a valuable member of the team. A lot of sales jobs have great earning potential, but with TQL the results of hard work can come extremely quick. Very few jobs can you come in and double your salary within a years time, and this is definitely on e of them. The only downfall I've seen so far, is the fact that as a broker we are on call 24/7. I occasionally have to take calls in the middle of the night. But if answering my phone at 3AM can earn me more business (aka more money), it's worth it to me – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A post college entry level sales postion
Logistics Account Executive (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHOctober 31, 2013
Pros: no commission cap
Cons: have to build customer trust on a volatile and unreliable trucking industry.
-Good training program
-Work under "experienced" brokers to gain first hand experience
-Work long hours to build a book of business
-Manage all aspects of the business from building a customer base to accounts receivable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Industry with Much to Learn From
Account Executive (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHOctober 29, 2013
Pros: building your own account yourself, culture
Cons: very saturated industry
From day to day, I manage my current book of business as well as develop new leads to turn into customers. I Penetrate my current accounts to earn more business and call 80-100 companies a day that I am currently trying learn about. I am available for my customers, prospects, and carriers 24/7/365. I have learned how to develop relationships with customers – more... via phone. This company has allowed me to gain extensive insight on the logistics industry, and apply my aquired sales experience to earn my customers trust to in turn gain business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Sales/Customer Service (Former Employee), Dania Beach, FLOctober 28, 2013
This company is very competitive and a high stress work environment. You have to stay extremely late hours for low pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive Atmosphere, Challenging
Logistics Account Executive (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 28, 2013
Pros – Culture - we work hard, and we work together. Some sales jobs can feel lonely...this is not one of those jobs.

Money - it's a daily grind, must be very money motivated, not everyone is fit for this

Support/Technology - sales and brokerage is made easy with accounting, credit, tech support, after hours, carrier services, operational sales department – more... all ready to help you through any problem

Training - you will learn how to sell here, great training with a good balance of teaching and hands on experiences

Cons – Work/Life Balance - Your first year is one of the toughest you will have at TQL. Long hours, very stressful, and definitely not 9-5 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All around terrible employer
Logistics account executive (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHOctober 23, 2013
Cons: no breaks, long hours, cutthroat sales, poorly run company
Cutthroat sales and management is absolutely horrible. Very long hours which they expect you to stay for no extra pay or incentive (7am to 8pm). Expect to work A LOT of Saturdays, also for no extra pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT was ok
Logistics Account Executive (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 16, 2013
Pros: .
Cons: .
Stepping stone. salary is 35k. Takes about a year until you start making money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just awful
Logistics Account Executive Trainee (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHOctober 7, 2013
Cons: no breaks, 6 days a week.
Awful. 60+ hours a week expectation for 35k. 70% turnover rate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LAE
Logistics Account Executive (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: great work environment
Cons: on call 24/7
Handle shipments from customers from the moment of pick-up to moment of delivery. Find the best priced trucks. Also ensure the product is safe and help driver with any problems he may occur. Be good at handling stressful situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and interact
LOGISTICS ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: great atmosphere at work, games to play, tv to watch
Cons: 60 hours per week with not sense of relief or reward
TQL is a great, laid back company to work for but the daily, rigorous work schedule working including 60 hour per week was a bit much.

Learned the logistics of brokering with companies and truck drivers.

The hardest part of the job was grueling work schedule with no work/life balance and the pressure of not hitting sales goals which leads to a quick – more... termination. – less

About Total Quality Logistics

TQL was established in 1997 with a mission to exceed expectations with the best customer service in the industry. After just 11 – Read more

Total Quality Logistics Photos