Find companies:
Total Wine & More
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Total Wine & More Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
manager (Current Employee), sarasota, FlJuly 21, 2014
Pros: changing environment, room to grow, yearly raises, good benefits, paid vacation, it's fun
Cons: long shifts on hard floors get some good shoes
Total wine is a fantastic place to work. You do work long hours on your feet but no 2 days are the same. There is loads of room for advancing. The management team really cares about your growth and will help you develop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, yet unfulfilled promises
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Miami, FLJune 9, 2014
Learned a higher level of delegation, time management, business proposals as well as the sales portion of the business. Please ask applicant for more info.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Wine Supervisor (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 11, 2014
Wine/Retail Education
Enjoyable-Wine Training/Discount
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic, yet productive work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Laurel, MDFebruary 26, 2014
I learned how to count large amounts of money using machine provided. I enjoyed working with customers and helping them decide on choices of products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier & Merchandiser (Former Employee), Dallas, TXFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Service..
Handling large amounts of money.
Processing Credit/ Debit Cards
Processing Checks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work directly with customers, learn about different wines and beers and discounts.
Manager (Former Employee), North Carolina.December 18, 2013
Pros: tasting and learning new wine and beer, wine and beer for life, discounts, healthcare, customer interaction
Cons: long hours, short breaks, dirty store, unappreciated, low advancement, out date variety beers, always under staffed
Initial training was great but once you got back to your store or at least the store I went to training was not great. The store did not plan their days well and there were morale issues from others where good associates quit because of being burned out and unappreciated. Those associates could have been saved if management would have given them the – more... recognition they deserved and the opportunity to advance. Several 14 hour days with one short break. Budget is tight in every company but Total Wine is an under statement. Customer service is very demanding and it is hard to get tasks accomplished when you staff the wine associates short. It is hard to increase sales when you under staff your stores accept for the holidays. That's why associates get burned out because of working those long hours everyday from open to close. Management did not follow policies consistently but expected others to do so. I don't think the owners fully understand what goes on in some stores with some of the management staff and their practices. This company has a gold mine concept but needs some work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was thinking of applying there
beer guy (Former Employee), fredericksburg?December 13, 2013
Pros: beer
Cons: ringing up
I was thinking of applying there. I'm a merchandising machine, I don't care if the managers sit there and eat all day, I'd rather be working anyway...I have a good knowledge of wine, but a superior knowledge of beer...I used to deliver to Total Wine & More and merchandise their shelves as a vendor...I know I could easily beer "the beer guy" at one of – more... their stores...my question is would they let me start out doing that or is it MANDATORY that you spend some time ringing up purchases??...also, is earning $750/week to start out of the question??...a lot of people complained about long hours and no benefits I already work long hours and have no benefits where I am, but I can't pay my bills on a penny less than $750/week...just wondering if I should bother applying.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly atmosphere with lots of focus on learning.
Front End Team Member (Former Employee), Vancouver, WADecember 6, 2013
Pros: lots and lots of free learning
Cons: very very short breaks
I started here before the store was even open to the public. In the beginning the store set up was intense, a lot of heavy lifting and nearly full time hours, which is unexpected for a part time employee but not a bad thing at all.

Once the store opened a typical day at work consisted of ringing out customers, having a friendly face, keeping the front – more... end clean, and attempting to upsell the featured wines to every customer. The most enjoyable part of working here was definitely the fact that every customer was always in a good mood and never seemed to have a negative attitude. The hardest part was having to push cheap, second rate wines on customers simply because they were the ones with the biggest profit margin. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun with little friendly competitions
Wine Connoisseur (Current Employee), Tustin, CANovember 18, 2013
A typical day at Total wine, we have to stock all the wine and spirits shelves full in order to optimize our sales. Mid day, we focus on sales and make sure all of our signs are correct and up to date. By night we must face all the bottles in order to make the store look more organized the next day and to make inventory much easier. I have learned so – more... much about wine, spirits, beer, and cigars. I have learned what food can pair with what drink. The management team is good. They can at times be overwhelmed with their duties to reply to me when I ask for help or want to learn something new to help out the store. But for the most part they are helpful. The hardest part about the job is keeping all the shelves fully stocked because we have over 13,000 different products in the store. It gets pretty intense especially during the holiday season. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers plan their parties and weddings. Seeing how satisfied after I helped them or after their event is over, and they come back just to tell me what a hit my recommendations were is very rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright i guess
Merchandiser (Current Employee), Laurel, MDJuly 22, 2013
Pros: discounts
Days are alright when I get to finish the things that I am working on, that I know need to get done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and great bosses
Wine Associate (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 26, 2013
Cons: no advancement
Learned a lot about wine and spirits, great store to work for. I really enjoyed the environment and other co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, Caring, Informative
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCJune 11, 2013
I've learned a lot about our products, human resources, building client relationships and seeking to create new ones. The fast paced environment and the independence of my role, I really click well with. The team I manage and our departments run very smooth. I can attribute much of my management skills to Total Wine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Claymont, DEMay 27, 2013
Pros: healthcare
Cons: short breaks, long hours
My typical day stated at about 9am and didn't end till about 6 or 7 pm. I learned about numerous wines. Management was pretty good and understanding. Co-workers were great and helpful. The hardest part was being on my feet for 10+ hours at christmas time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day
Front End Team Member (Current Employee), Northridge, CAMay 8, 2013
Always staying busy is a necessity; willing to help on the floor or where ever neeed; great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly fun co-workers, pressured managers, long days.
Front End/Cashier (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLMarch 27, 2013
Pros: good discounts, lunch provided on high volume days, adequate training.
Cons: long hours, could have been paid more
Developed upper body strength by lugging cases of wine around. Very busy - an average one customer every 90 seconds. Manager tried hard to accommodate my schedule (death in the family). The work was hard, the hours were long, but the people were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot here and was fun
Cashier/Assistant Front End Coordinator (Former Employee), River Edge, NJMarch 14, 2013
Pros: health insurance benefits were good, nice customers, learned alot about wine and other spirits, did a lot of holiday displays and gift baskets
Cons: was let go due to a miscommunication, management wasn't very nice, no set schedule (changed weekly)
By working here, I learned a lot about wine and other types of spirits. Also, learned how to pair food with the drinks of the event. I would create numerous holiday displays to show customers the ideal wine/liquor for that time. I would make gift baskets for holidays and helped customers select the ideal wine/liquor for the person or event. I enjoyed – more... working on the floor with the wine associates and merchandisers, learning and stocking the shelves. As a front end coordinator, I would train new cashiers and assist the other cashiers with counting out their drawers, doing daily paperwork, and dealing with customers. I would, also, enter the store finalization paperwork into the system to let headquarters see our daily numbers and deposits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my favorite jobs
Cashier/Assistant Front End Coordinator (Former Employee), River Edge, NJMarch 14, 2013
Pros: nice customers, was able to play with puppies all day, able to use my knowledge on dog breeds and their care
Cons: no healthcare benefits available, no room for advancement, store closed down
This job I really enjoyed. I was able to match families up with a new "family member" and watch them grow together. The customers were very nice and always interested in my knowledge and opinions on the dog or cat breed they were inquiring about.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The truth about the corporate office
Finance (Current Employee), Potomac, MDFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: wine education, health benefits, pay
Cons: long days, poor management, little opportunity for growth
If you are interviewing for a job here, seek out former employees and ask about their experiences. Do NOT rely on the interview experience because they put on a front.

Senior management is easily intimidated by others, unsupportive and inappropriate.

It is a matter a time before this company becomes consumed in lawsuits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work when young
Wine Associate (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLFebruary 9, 2013
Pros: great wine knowledge
Cons: no work life balance
Total meat grinder, great place if you want to learn wine.very tough work life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young company.... needs time to grow.
Cashier (Former Employee), Springfield, VAJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: 30% discount on wine, 10% on single beers
Cons: hours, work life balance, corporate managment, advancement opportunites, political and legal aspects of selling alcohol, you could sell to minor
A typical day is around 10-13 hours with a 30 minute lunch. Be prepared to get the life sucked out of you for around 8.50 an hour (starting VA wages). Everyone starts out as a cashier, unless you have 10+ yrs of wine or management experience. If your under the age of 30 and have a college degree be prepare to start at the bottom and I mean bottom; minimum – more... wage, cleaning taps and wine spills, cashiering, and merchandising. This company does not like young people moving up the ladder fast. The top 50% of the company is controlled by rich old men. So I suggest you start taking up golf and learn to like whiskey, all on your minimum wage pay, in order to move up the ladder. Each store has only a few select number of full-time cashiers, wine associates, and merchandisers, who are approved by corporate. So don't expect to get benefits (paid time off, medical, dental, or 401k) unless a full-time employee leaves or you are specifically hired as one. Managers must work a min. of 50 hrs a week. The company's main focus is on Winery Direct numbers (wine that you cannot find anywhere else but total wine) and percentages, so DO NOT go into the job stating you love Kendall Jackson or any other wines you can find at the local grocery store. Your job, your bonus, your holiday lunches, any perks, and the whole success of the company is determined by not selling such brands as Kendall Jackson, Barefoot, Woodbridge, JLore, ect... It's an on going battle to persuade the customer into give up their grocery store favorites and get them into WD wines, (which the customer can become very hostile about) because your future with the company depends on it. Also, you only get discounts on WD wines. There is no discount on beer, except for singles. This is a very young company with a solid business plan, but they need to work on standardizing breaks, benefits, employee award programs, and at least giving some kind of benefits to part-time workers. They could use some time to fine-tune their business plan. The company is also involved in some political struggles to have state liquor stores abolished in ABC states. For instance, they will not be opening more stores in VA until the state government abolishes ABC stores and lifts liquor restrictions. Now ABC agents are purposefully targeting TW&More stores with Minor Sting Operations in hopes of quieting the company's lobbying agenda. This means more chances that you could sell to a minor and land yourself in federal prison. Applicant beware. – less

Shawnny – March 28, 2013

I totally agree. I still work for this company and is trying VERY hard 2 find another job!! I wouldn't recommend this job to ANYONE!!