Tower International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 36 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food people, bad work place
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Shepherdsville, KYMay 24, 2017
I was trained for a total of like 30 minutes and then expected to run everything smoothly. I'm a fast learner so I accomplished this task. The mental demand was more than the physical. All together its a good job but I want to expand my horizons a little more.
Pros
None
Cons
Short breaks, no benefits, and stressful work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place For Welding Experience
Welder (Current Employee) –  Madison, MSApril 28, 2017
This Was A Nice Company To work for. They Were fair and showed everyone equal rights. As a welder it was honestly a settlement due to the fact that you didnt get paid due to the fact of certification.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Welder (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, OHApril 20, 2017
Management sucks, you can't plan your life because you never know what schedule is.horrible work conditions. They do not care about the employees at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but poor air quality
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Mount Clemens, MIMarch 29, 2017
alright wook days poor management
learned about the big 3 and what the upcoming vehicles that are going to come out in the future
hardest part is dealing with the management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tower had a good enviroment
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Elkton, MIFebruary 27, 2017
I am not big on working in a factory, but if I was going to TOWER would definitely be the place. The supervisors for the most part were respectful and fun to work with, and most of the employees were pretty nice people. Outside of that it was a lot of repetitive work, and that always gets to me. This being the case I couldn't continue a career there, even though the pay was really good for unskilled labor.
Pros
Good pay, nice managment, and overtime.
Cons
Factory work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high intensity with demanding situations
Maintenance Elelctrician (Current Employee) –  Shepherdsville, KYJanuary 14, 2017
Love it, learned alot. pays well but very demanding, maintenance supervisors treat you very well. But hours are tough and very stressful at times. need more help
Pros
pay
Cons
hours, short lunches, breaks....everything needs done immediately
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politics
HR & EHS Manager (Former Employee) –  Meridian, MSDecember 13, 2016
Politics

I was placed in an environment with little information. I was unaware that there was an open war for a leadership position. Once the war was over myself and several others loss our positions based on the winners realignment. I moved 1100 miles to take this position; 110 days later I was out of a job. My position should not have filled until the new leadership was in place.
Pros
compensation
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not work there again unless management changed
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Auburn, INDecember 7, 2016
Bad management, Production manager is a bully and a liar. The people out on the floor are good people that I worked with with the exception of a few zone leaders
Pros
fair pay
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldnt work there again unless that was my last resort
Welder (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, OHOctober 13, 2016
Union is terrible, Employees are the last thing they think about, Management is a joke there no sense of direction, pay is okay but mandatory overtime the schedule is all over the place. only good thing really is all the people i had worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Stamping Press Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 31, 2016
great guys to work with but hr is more worried about finding reasons to get rid of people then keeping them its a vary race divided plant so if your not dark you will get the boot
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turn away.
Weld maintenance (Current Employee) –  Clinton Township, MIJuly 30, 2016
You work 87.5 hours a week, every week. Forced in on most holidays as well, we used to have one weekend a month off and that's been taken from us. I'm a weld tech and the management in our department is the worst I've ever seen, everyone who can leave does.
Pros
Good medical.
Cons
Terrible management, weak union.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked
Robotic Technician (Current Employee) –  Clinton Township, MIJune 23, 2016
12hr work days, 7 days a week. Only 1 weekend off per month. Management doesn't care about employees at all. This place has a revolving door because of the long hours and they make no effort to address the issue. All they care about is hitting their production goals at all costs. Quality and morale are the casualties of this practice.
Pros
Medical benefits
Cons
Long hours, 26 consecutive working days before you get a day off.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skilled trades stay away
Tradesman (Current Employee) –  Clinton Township, MIJune 22, 2016
7 days a week.
12 hours a day.
Very poor top level management.
There is literally a revolving door on this place!
High turn over except for a few long timers.
Very low moral due to working conditions and long hours.
The air quality is terrible. Expect health problems.
We are the zombies of tower!!!
Pros
Fair wages, co-workers
Cons
Management, never ending hours
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diffucult to keep the plant running with not having a Proper PM system in place.
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MIMarch 21, 2016
Tower has a great group of UAW workers but they have a hard time keeping the plant running with the processes they have in place. They claim to be WCM but unfortunately they are very far from becoming that.
Pros
Built and Maintained and Great UAW Skilled Trades Team
Cons
Not WCM, Wrong PM Process in place, Bad Work Enviroment created by Upper Management
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tower is great place to work
Business Analyst/Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Livonia, MIFebruary 15, 2016
Advancement, management, and co workers are all great at Tower. It's hard to find something to complain about. Compensation could be better I suppose but bonus is nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Quality Technician (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, OHJanuary 23, 2016
Great work environment, positive, helpful and fun people to work with. Excellent benefits and pay! I would recommend this job to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive Work Experience
Machine Operator/Welder (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MIJanuary 21, 2016
Excellent company to learn and build from. Very valuable skills learned at the time I was employed there. The paychecks are very nice at the end of every week and working there was a breeze.
Pros
Excellent workers
Cons
Long mandatory hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good for diversity
Quality Manager (Current Employee) –  Meridian, MSDecember 29, 2015
High Turn over rate. No diversity. Not a friendly place to work. There are a few good people there but scattered here and there.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management/Diversity
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Skilled Trades Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MIDecember 16, 2015
We have a daily goal to produce 341 frames per shift.
You learn daily about how the line works and about goals.
Hardest part of the day is the standing around waiting for the line to go down to perform quick repairs.
Best part of the day is meeting the goal and exceeding the numbers.
Pros
Pay for perfect attendance, pay for overtime, health benefits, education reimbursement, available overtime
Cons
work schedule 19 days straight before you get a day off
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Production Welder (Current Employee) –  Elkton, MINovember 3, 2015
The work tends to get boring at times, but the awesome group of people you work with makes it all better. You learn new things and new ways of doing stuff everyday. Some days drag on but there are more good days than bad.
Pros
Learning, New skills to learn
Cons
Long hours, short breaks, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tower International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9

Tower International, Inc. Reviews by Location