Find companies:
Tower Loan
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
64 reviews

Tower Loan Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful company
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Tupelo, MSJanuary 21, 2014
not a great company. no respect for employees. work long hours for little pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively place to work
Manager Trainee - Internship Tower Loan (Former Employee), Tupelo, MSJanuary 16, 2014
A typical day at work is made up of making phone calls and processing personal, automobile, and mortgage loans. I learned what was necessary to legally disperse a loan to someone and all the legal documents that are needed. The hardest part of the job was learning the computer system and how to get to all of the screens and documents. Although the most – more... enjoyable part of the job was learning the loan process and making new friends and relationships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice establishment to gain some experience!!
Manager Trainee (Current Employee), Shreveport, LADecember 14, 2013
Pros: great benefits, good place for advancement in a very short time frame!!
Cons: customers are rude and hate the idea of following through arrangements of their loans.
Great way too get your experience in a business that is on the come
up!! Shyness not allowed but if you are a shy type might be best for the experience of taking you out of your comfort zone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
Manager (Former Employee), Rolla, MODecember 4, 2013
Pros: relocation, advancement, pay
Cons: no work life balance and hours
Tower Loan was a great company to work for. The job is very demanding with hours of operation. Collection and Soliciting are the main job functions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Summer Job
Loan Officer (Former Employee), Natchitoches, LANovember 21, 2013
Great beginner job that teaches how to handle customer service and also handle large amounts of money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
n/a (Former Employee), pearl, msNovember 5, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: stress
A typical day in this environment would be answering phone calls, taking payments, and filing. Depending on what shift you work, there are other things included. Some of co-workers were okay but some of the manager trainees were not understanding to the fact that when a new person is on the job, it does take time to learn the millions of things to do – more... on a day to day basis. I agree Tower Loan is a great place to work for because it helps you get great experience and the pay is great. But you have no chance to prove your loyalty and the stress is OVERWHELMING. I had to tell a person who could not make a payment on their loan to get more money and even if they said no I was told to argue them down and find out the reason why they could not get payments in (NOT professional). One person who came in to pay on a customer's account said that they were a customer (and they were not) but we're not allowed to ask for identification but I ended up getting chewed out for giving out personal information despite the fact that I had no idea that the person was not the customer. They ALWAYS threaten the loss of your job and did I mention the overwhelming stress? This is not a good place to work if you cannot deal with stress, and if you have morals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Alexandria, LAOctober 15, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: long hours
Working in this company was a great experience. It taught one responsibility and great management skills. People we work with was like family and we all tried to help and always encourage one another. I think the hardest part of the job was collection, trying to get customers to pay their bill on-time...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long work days,work 45 or more hours per week
MANAGER TRAINEE (Former Employee), Biloxi, MSOctober 3, 2013
Pros: competiton, free lunch, bonuses
Cons: long hours, some goals was unrealistic
A typical day consist of working from 8-6 or 9-7 with an hour lunch break. While on the job learned that it is very important for the everybody in the office knowing what is going on with each and every customer. Got to learn from one of the best manager in the company when I was a manager trainee before I became a manager of me own office and my co-workers – more... was great to work with. The hardest part of the job was just making sure that everybody was doing what they was suppose to make sure that we reach the customer every way possible and to have update information on them. The most enjoyable part was knowing at the end of the day we
did everything we can to reach our goals – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for advancement
Manager trainee (Former Employee), Eunice, LASeptember 8, 2013
Pros: great pay great hours
Cons: dealing with rude customers
enjoyed my time there only reason for leaving is because of personal
reasons..if you are looking for advancement and relocation tower is where you can grow and advance quickly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Manager (Former Employee), Water Valley, MSSeptember 3, 2013
Tower loan is a great place for work and career oriented people, you can advance in all areas if you work hard and smart. It is very hard to maintain a family while working there the hours can be long and stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful environment.
Branch Manager (Former Employee), louisianaAugust 30, 2013
Spend days calling accounts to solicit new loans and past due accounts. Some field collections.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to develop many business skills
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Jackson, MSAugust 22, 2013
Pros: bonuses, promotions, paid travel, opportunities, training
Cons: health benefits, work/life balance
Typically, a day at work would be very productive, busy with face to face customers, much paper work, at least one hundred or more phone calls, and soliciting. At this job, I have learned how to overcome objection, multi-task, solicit, be more self-motivated, manage financial accounts, and be active with great aggressive selling. Management included – more... much one on one training, caring about employees progress and any matters throughout the day, and great with preparing their team for promotions. My co-workers were every person for themselves except when it pertained to team play for the branch. The hardest part of the job was finding balance for work and personal life. The most enjoyable part of the job was the challenges, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Winnfield, LAAugust 19, 2013
gave me a chance to enhance my management and personal skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tower Loan
Secretary (Former Employee), Washington, MOAugust 6, 2013
Pros: customers
Cons: management
I learned a lot from my position as a Secretary . Handling accounts and learning how loans are processed and closed. The customer service experience really helped in developing my skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An embarrassing company culture.
Branch Manager (Former Employee), LouisianaJuly 11, 2013
Pros: great benefits.
Cons: everything else.
If you work for Tower Loan, you can do much better, trust me.

You are expected to call customer's at their place of business and all of their family members if they fall more than 10 days behind on a note.

Your are expected to refinance accounts of customers who are struggling to make payments, thus raising their payments, and somehow this is supposed – more... to solve the problem.

Most members of upper "management" do not have formal education past high school diplomas, and do not have the slightest clue of market or business trends. Their answer to every question is either, "Refinance the loan", "File suit against this customer and garnish their paycheck", or "Go and collect the collateral".

If you have a conscience or a strong moral compass, then this is not the job for you.

I will admit that they do offer great benefits, and this is why they have a 2-star rating instead of a 1-star rating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience ever
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Clarksdale, MSJune 7, 2013
When Tower Loan says your employment is at will, they really mean it. Turnover rate is very high. Very hard for minorities to make it to the top.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and very focus work place.
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Laurel, MSJune 4, 2013
A typical day at work was some days slow but most days very fast paced. I learned that the customer is always that. I enjoyed my co-workers. the hardest part about my job was getting delinquent people on the phone. the most enjoyable part was helping people in their time of need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for, great benefits, and salary
Manager/Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Philadelphia, MSMay 28, 2013
I worked here for one year. The only reason I left, was becasue I was 12 hrs away from my family. Very enjoyable, challenging job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, a great learning experience with people behind you encouraging you to move forward. No dead ends!
Manager Trainee (Current Employee), Joplin, MOMay 7, 2013
Pros: great experience, tremendous pay
Cons: extensive hours
I start my day off working salvage accounts, call my delinquency, lend and collect loans. The management is great and they want to see you succeed! My co-workers are very well educated and we are definitely a unit. The hardest part of this job would have to be the inability to collect all debts accordingly. I don't like it when people get away with – more... doing something unethical; stealing money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), McComb,MsApril 22, 2013
Pros: paid mileage, benifiets
Cons: no time off during my training period
A typical day at work usually involved calling customers on there accounts,collecting on accounts,balancing a cash drawer,accepting payments,handling difficult customers,working all day on a computer and using the telephone

About Tower Loan

Tower Loan, a privately-owned finance company, operates more than 180 branch offices in Mississippi, Missouri, Illinois, Alabama – Read more

Tower Loan Photos