Find companies:
Tower Loan
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
57 reviews

Tower Loan Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Alexandria, LAOctober 15, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: long hours
Working in this company was a great experience. It taught one responsibility and great management skills. People we work with was like family and we all tried to help and always encourage one another. I think the hardest part of the job was collection, trying to get customers to pay their bill on-time...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long work days,work 45 or more hours per week
MANAGER TRAINEE (Former Employee), Biloxi, MSOctober 3, 2013
Pros: competiton, free lunch, bonuses
Cons: long hours, some goals was unrealistic
A typical day consist of working from 8-6 or 9-7 with an hour lunch break. While on the job learned that it is very important for the everybody in the office knowing what is going on with each and every customer. Got to learn from one of the best manager in the company when I was a manager trainee before I became a manager of me own office and my co-workers – more... was great to work with. The hardest part of the job was just making sure that everybody was doing what they was suppose to make sure that we reach the customer every way possible and to have update information on them. The most enjoyable part was knowing at the end of the day we
did everything we can to reach our goals – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for advancement
Manager trainee (Former Employee), Eunice, LASeptember 8, 2013
Pros: great pay great hours
Cons: dealing with rude customers
enjoyed my time there only reason for leaving is because of personal
reasons..if you are looking for advancement and relocation tower is where you can grow and advance quickly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Manager (Former Employee), Water Valley, MSSeptember 3, 2013
Tower loan is a great place for work and career oriented people, you can advance in all areas if you work hard and smart. It is very hard to maintain a family while working there the hours can be long and stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful environment.
Branch Manager (Former Employee), louisianaAugust 30, 2013
Spend days calling accounts to solicit new loans and past due accounts. Some field collections.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to develop many business skills
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Jackson, MSAugust 22, 2013
Pros: bonuses, promotions, paid travel, opportunities, training
Cons: health benefits, work/life balance
Typically, a day at work would be very productive, busy with face to face customers, much paper work, at least one hundred or more phone calls, and soliciting. At this job, I have learned how to overcome objection, multi-task, solicit, be more self-motivated, manage financial accounts, and be active with great aggressive selling. Management included – more... much one on one training, caring about employees progress and any matters throughout the day, and great with preparing their team for promotions. My co-workers were every person for themselves except when it pertained to team play for the branch. The hardest part of the job was finding balance for work and personal life. The most enjoyable part of the job was the challenges, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Winnfield, LAAugust 19, 2013
gave me a chance to enhance my management and personal skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tower Loan
Secretary (Former Employee), Washington, MOAugust 6, 2013
Pros: customers
Cons: management
I learned a lot from my position as a Secretary . Handling accounts and learning how loans are processed and closed. The customer service experience really helped in developing my skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An embarrassing company culture.
Branch Manager (Former Employee), LouisianaJuly 11, 2013
Pros: great benefits.
Cons: everything else.
If you work for Tower Loan, you can do much better, trust me.

You are expected to call customer's at their place of business and all of their family members if they fall more than 10 days behind on a note.

Your are expected to refinance accounts of customers who are struggling to make payments, thus raising their payments, and somehow this is supposed – more... to solve the problem.

Most members of upper "management" do not have formal education past high school diplomas, and do not have the slightest clue of market or business trends. Their answer to every question is either, "Refinance the loan", "File suit against this customer and garnish their paycheck", or "Go and collect the collateral".

If you have a conscience or a strong moral compass, then this is not the job for you.

I will admit that they do offer great benefits, and this is why they have a 2-star rating instead of a 1-star rating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience ever
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Clarksdale, MSJune 7, 2013
When Tower Loan says your employment is at will, they really mean it. Turnover rate is very high. Very hard for minorities to make it to the top.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and very focus work place.
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Laurel, MSJune 4, 2013
A typical day at work was some days slow but most days very fast paced. I learned that the customer is always that. I enjoyed my co-workers. the hardest part about my job was getting delinquent people on the phone. the most enjoyable part was helping people in their time of need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for, great benefits, and salary
Manager/Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Philadelphia, MSMay 28, 2013
I worked here for one year. The only reason I left, was becasue I was 12 hrs away from my family. Very enjoyable, challenging job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, a great learning experience with people behind you encouraging you to move forward. No dead ends!
Manager Trainee (Current Employee), Joplin, MOMay 7, 2013
Pros: great experience, tremendous pay
Cons: extensive hours
I start my day off working salvage accounts, call my delinquency, lend and collect loans. The management is great and they want to see you succeed! My co-workers are very well educated and we are definitely a unit. The hardest part of this job would have to be the inability to collect all debts accordingly. I don't like it when people get away with – more... doing something unethical; stealing money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), McComb,MsApril 22, 2013
Pros: paid mileage, benifiets
Cons: no time off during my training period
A typical day at work usually involved calling customers on there accounts,collecting on accounts,balancing a cash drawer,accepting payments,handling difficult customers,working all day on a computer and using the telephone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manger trainee
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Yazoo City, MSApril 3, 2013
If you don't have a college degree this is a great company to work for, but if you do you would might want to work for a company with a better overall reputation and not such a high turnover ratio.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for entry level workers
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Horn Lake, MSFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: healthcare, set schedule, good retirement
Cons: job security, no room for advancement
Tower is a great company to work for. Good hours(Monday through Friday 830-530),off holidays w/pay,great benefits(affordable healthcare and retirement),Great for someone who is single or on one income looking for advancement and possible job relocation. My only complaint is that there is no room for advancement for someone who is married or has more – more... than one household income. Also employees are forbidden to work outside of Tower(i.e. part time job outside of finance/customer service industry). Also,job security is not that great as seen in high management turnover rate. I enjoy my job in customer service very much;however, I feel that I am being stiffled in my career advancement due to my marital and famial background. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplacethats very competitive
Branch manager (Former Employee), Clarksdale, MSFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: $200 gas money minimum management
Cons: short breaks, limited months you can take a vacation
A typical workday for me was to come in and assign accounts to the other employees and start calling delinquent accounts until everyone has been called. After that, I assigned solicit boxes to have the other employees try and make loans. I did the same. I learned quite a bit from my job. I learned to collect on delinquent accounts, solicit customer, – more... former, new and current, work a cash drawer, make deposits and better my people skills in order to satisfy the customer's needs. I was a branch manager at my last job and it was fun. The pay was good along with the bonuses. My co-workers were very competitive which made the job that much better. The hardest part of my job was collecting on customers that were five months past due .The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to interact with lots of people, hear their problems , and be able to accommodate them and make my goal in the process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst COMPANY to work for ever
Manager Trainee (Current Employee), Bossier CityFebruary 3, 2013
You will no longer have a personal life. They tell you once you start working there the hours on the glass is not what u will be working. A normal working day is from 830- 730.

Tower loan is not a Longterm job..

The only plus from working for this company is the pay!! However it's a down side to that because u are on salary and you only get pd for – more... 49 hours per week!!! But u work more!!!

Sooo basically u will make money but will not have the time to spend it...

This company sucks!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great employees.
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Columbus, MSJanuary 15, 2013
A typical day at tower loan was from 8-6. While working at Tower Loan I learned a lot about finance companies. I learned how to balance cash drawers and how to approve and deny loan applications depending on credit, income, and collateral. Co-workers were great and everybody got along well and helped each other with any problems that might have occured. – more... The most enjoyable part of this job would have to be working with such great people. The hardest part about working at Tower Loan were the long hours. I worked on average 45-50 hours/week. I am currently trying to finish college and it was nearly impossible working so many hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Experience
MANAGER TRAINEE (Former Employee), Crystal Springs, MSJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: christmas bonus, and incentive pay
Cons: must relocate within 8 to 12 months and leave your life behind
Tower Loan is okay place to work. I learned many things about how collections work as well as taking loan applications and getting them approved.

About Tower Loan

Tower Loan, a privately-owned finance company, operates more than 180 branch offices in Mississippi, Missouri, Illinois, Alabama – Read more

Tower Loan Photos