Find companies:
Towne Air Freight
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Towne Air Freight Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace of towne air freight
Fork Lift Operator (Former Employee), Elk Grove Village, ILJanuary 25, 2015
Pros: 30 min lunch
Cons: 10 min breaks
what i learned at Towne air freight is everybody isn't your friend some of the co-workers i had where cool & always helped me out & there where some that would always want to throw me under the bus & not help me out. The hardest part of my job was be was being cool with my boss because i tried to do everything right & when i try to he always tried to find some wrong with what i do. The most enjoyable part of my job was loading & unload trailer trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest job.
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Brisbane, CAJanuary 13, 2015
Pros: management experience
Cons: over worked
Right off the bat it was not good. My dispatching position soon turned into running the office. Building shelves. operating forklifts with any prior training or license. I worked more than 12 hours a day while also working weekends that was originally supposed to be rotated with the other employees. The good part is I managed to get a taste of management with managing my drivers and the warehouse workers on the weekends. I also learned how to operate a forklift and load a 53' dry van. My coworkers were a mix up personalities. I learned how to work with all kinds which was a feat in itself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I kinda miss it
DISPATCHER (Former Employee), Harrisburg PANovember 23, 2014
I loved this jon untill they laid me off. They were getting low on work so they let me go. However, I really did like this job. It was fun and laid back and i absolutely enjoyed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was an owner operator an felt dispatch often played favorites.
Driver/Operator (Former Employee), Eagan, MNNovember 14, 2014
co workers were fantastic. management was often indifferent. dispatch was mostly incompetent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Driver (Former Employee), Forest Park, GAOctober 20, 2014
Management continuously offered false advancement and raises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent Management out of touch with Reality
Terminal Manager/Sales (Former Employee), local terminalOctober 17, 2014
Pros: there are some really good people in the organization.
Cons: executive management is incompitant
Executive Management expects lower local level management to improve revenues and customer satisfaction with no assistance from corporate. Pay is WELL below industry standards in every position that I came in contact with. People are nothing more than a number, and no amount of dedication and hardwork will ever get you anything other than empty promises of future promotion that never occurs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer
Accounts Receivable/Collections Specialist (Former Employee), South Bend, INOctober 7, 2014
Great team environment that allows the employee to learn different aspects of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
OFFICE CLERK (TEMP) (Former Employee), Glen Burnie, MDSeptember 8, 2014
I would return to that position it was a great job but a temporary one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If I had it to do all over I would not work for them.
Independent Contractor Truck Owner (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 31, 2014
Pros: you get to see whats its like to get worked over
Cons: your not making money they are.
Towne takes from its drivers every thing they can from lift gate charges to home delivery. They even have the nerve to take 2% from the fuel money that Pilot gives the driver.

You're not working for yourself, your are a slave to Towne Air Freight! Some of the dispatchers treat the drivers like dumb people - no respect at all! Makes a person quit and go work for a company where they pay the cost to be the boss.

none of the information you get is ever right you do what the dispatchers need to do before it comes to you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
many hours
Dock Worker / straight Truck Driver (Former Employee), South Bend, INAugust 26, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: no over time
A Good Place To Learn LTL
Drive Forklift
Good Friends
Load&unload trailers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no Structure with this company
Corporate Recruiter (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 16, 2014
Pros: decsent pay
Cons: no support
I received no help with trying to get the impossible to become possible with hiring Owner Operators. This company will not grow if they do not find a steady structure of hierarchy to implement what is needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work
Billing Specialist (Former Employee), South Bend, INJuly 2, 2014
Pros: the people i worked with
Cons: part time 3rd shift
This was a great place to work and really taught me all about team work!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace safety based work environmet
Operator (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 6, 2014
Very high expectancy on efficient and safe loading and unloading.
I started with no experience in warehouse dock work and now I'm a certified forklift operator and HAZMAT certified.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Owned Business
National Call Center Supervisor (Former Employee), South Bend, INApril 18, 2014
Nice group of people to work with. Left for job advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDL Truck Driver
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Dayton, OHApril 10, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: long lonely hours.
I hauled trash daily for Montgomery County, here in Ohio.I would drive from Dayton,OH. to Bellfountaine OH. three times daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Postion
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Elk Grove Village, ILDecember 10, 2013
Daily answered calls and often had the highest calls incoming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), INDecember 9, 2013
Great People to work with
Small company environment
Not a ton of opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Customer Service Agent/Dispatcher (Former Employee), South Bend, INDecember 3, 2013
It was an enjoyable experience. Great management and co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for recent graduates
Customer Service/Operations Agent (Current Employee), Elk Grove Village, ILNovember 7, 2013
Pros: yearly cookouts, pizza paties, off all major holidays
Cons: only 2 weeks vacation time & this includes sick time
This job has taught me a lot, I learned a lot about logistics and what it means to be a customer service associate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very organized
Semi- truck driver (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIOctober 9, 2013
no one knows what they are doing, the dispatcher don't care about the drivers, the company has no safety rules, all they care about is that the freight gets out there.

About Towne Air Freight

Eugene Towne founded Towne Air Freight, in South Bend in 1963 with one employee and one van. Gary "Duke" Downey then – Read more

Towne Air Freight Photos