Townsend Tree Service Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never work for Townsend
FOREMAN (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, GADecember 6, 2017
Townsend is the biggest joke ever. Spent 4 years busting my butt for them only to have crew shut down and left with no job. They act like your a big family but at the end of the day your nothing but a number that can be replaced.
Pros
No
Cons
Waste of time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Foreman/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brookville, PAOctober 19, 2017
Would not recommend this to other's. To many people out to get each other. Very large problem with drug use and when given the subject of confidential information intended only for safety and company policy reason's was denied and ignored in the face off danger to other's and safety precautions for other personnel. Not having a death on my hands for poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of physical labor
Climber/Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Indiana paAugust 30, 2017
It was a nice job for the most part, there was alot of physical strength needed for this job. You worked in harsh conditions like 2 feet of snow or rain
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a very good company to work for they treat there workers very well
Laborer/Operator (Current Employee) –  Gadsden, ALJuly 18, 2017
By far the best company I've worked for they treat you good, chances to move up in the company it's a equal oppurtunity employer, if you are looking to work in a good environment for someone who appreciates your hard work it's here!
Pros
Chances to move up
Cons
The heat is really the only thing that's bad
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaJune 22, 2017
Always working outside. I learned how to climb trees and trim all trees off of line. everyone there is down to earth and are very nice. if you feel like you were overwhelmed they would stop to come help you. very nice people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun work
United States (Former Employee) –  United States, GAJune 10, 2017
Really enjoyed the work and the people i worked with and the supervisors. Very challenging but rewarding job. Hard work but its fun. Summertime it's hot winter it's cold.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Bucket Operator (Former Employee) –  IndianaJune 4, 2017
I like my job I loved working out side and inside doesntatter I'm am a hard worker and everything was going great they just decide to let me go .sometimes difficult work but I loved my job and to work
Pros
I like working out side
Cons
Difficulty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a profitable learning experience.
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Sevierville, TNMay 20, 2017
My pay was fair and my employers were honest and respectful. The management was fair as well. They appreciated my work. The worst part was the heat.
Pros
Fair pay
Cons
Inherent danger
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
Foreman Operator (Former Employee) –  MissouriMay 17, 2017
The pay isnt the best but it puts food on the table. The work environment is good. A lot of travel so work in different weather conditions. Good first job.
Pros
Per diem and paid suppers when out of town
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is nothing fun about working for Townsend tree
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Po box7015 Muncie,IN 47308May 15, 2017
When I initially started working for Townsend tree it was a great job things were going well I love that the work love the people that I worked around but once I got relaxed people seem to want to be better than you there's a lot of cutthroat going on at this particular job overall I hate it this job the management is very poor some of the supervisors think that they are really Superman and it is all about them do I recommend anyone work for this company no
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Townsend Tree Service?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stayed busy it was fun while working
Tree Trimmer and climbing (Former Employee) –  Princeton KyMay 9, 2017
Tree work includes trimming, pruning, felling, and
removal of trees and bushes. It involves climbing
trees, using portable ladders, working at heights
while using hand and portable power tools, working
near energized overhead or downed power lines,
feeding chippers, and other hazardous operations.
Safety equipment such as harnesses, belts,
tree saddles, ropes, and lanyards
Personal protective equipment (PPE) such as
hard hats, face shields, safety glasses, shoes,
gloves, high-visibility clothing, and hearing
protection.
Pros
Foreman
Cons
short breaks, hot weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tree trimmer
Tree Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Sevierville, TNMay 4, 2017
The greatest thing about this job was being able to use a chain saw. My boss was horrible. Very poorly managed. I enjoyed the work just not this company.
Pros
Chainsaw
Cons
Hard labor
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favorite Job
Tractor Operator (Former Employee) –  Screven, GAApril 4, 2017
I loved this job. I learned too much to even begin listing. management had some power issues but they were alright people for the most part. The hardest part was chipping brush. The best part was the amount of freedom I experienced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security
Sky trim hand (Former Employee) –  Muskogee, OklahomaMarch 29, 2017
The job moved around to much and i have a family not that great of supervising but i loved the pay didnt really like the hours didnt have enough time in the day
Pros
The pay
Cons
The hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unsafe work place
Bucket Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Chapel Hill, NCMarch 28, 2017
Hired a lot of Mexicans that could not speack English made for unsafe work place.When people cant under stand each other people get hurt fast and when you are droping limbs and the man don't under stand to move time for me to find another job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent hours
Tree Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Wabash, INFebruary 27, 2017
Standing all day out in hot and cold weather dont work in rain or very hot or negative cold travel across state or states on storm damage work in groups or 4 to 2
Pros
Open air no large groups
Cons
Under pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment
Driver (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 19, 2017
Townsend is a great company in all but the General Foremen that over us employs was not at fit to be in the position they were in they were unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly work place
Flagger/Laborer (Former Employee) –  PADecember 7, 2015
I was responsible for directing traffic an communicating with co workers for safety. Everybody was friendly . I had to use common sense an always keep alert.
Pros
Active work enviroment
Cons
being out in the winter months
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe work place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYNovember 16, 2015
i enjoyed working for them never had a issue with any of there staff or company itself .. got paid properly felt i was treated with dignitity and fair
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Corbin, KYNovember 2, 2015
Loved working here for the many years that i did, but mangement always had trouble with time off scheduing , and overall communitaiton with their general foremans.
Pros
Good work enivorment
Cons
Bad upper Mangement
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Townsend Tree Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

Townsend Tree Service Reviews by Location