Find companies:
Towson University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38 reviews

Towson University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 8, 2014
Towson University bookstore mainly hires students, therefore it was a very easy going work place. Everybody is nice, the boss is very understanding. The book store is very flexible with work hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative and Fun Teaching Assistant position
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Towson, MDJuly 1, 2014
I assisted a professor in teaching an undergraduate Research Methods in Psychology course.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hard working people
Manager of telecommunications (Current Employee), baltimore mdJune 26, 2014
under paid workers that show up every day and do the best job they can
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with potential for some Personal growth
Technical Services Assistant (Current Employee), Towson, MDMay 29, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers, certification classes, very diverse
Cons: not much room for advancement, lackluster management
Towson University is a diverse place to work with several places for advancement. It was a great start up job right out of college. I learn a lot about people and how to work well with others. I also learned a lot about selecting and leading teams. Management varied from great employers who were willing to show you the way to individuals who delegate – more... without leadership. It becomes very clear which kind of manager you're working for very quickly. The hardest part of the job was advancing. There are a few places for advancements but there isn't much room for it in this industry. I thoroughly enjoyed my interactions with co-workers and with customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Administrative Assistant/Student Supervisor (Former Employee), Towson, MarylandMay 13, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: salary
Towson University is an exceptional place to work. Not only was I able to hone in on what "I wanted to do when I grew up" but I was able to form great professional relationships. Administrators were always supportive when inquiring about advancement. The University President is a wonderful example of leadership. She is personable and knowledgeable of – more... those working under her leadership. The students are wonderful. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with the students and working with one of the best departments and group of people that I've ever worked with. I learned about so many various cultures of students and each one was willing to sit down with me to discuss their individual cultures. I also enjoyed how students would come back to just say hi or get advice on academia or personal endeavors. I appreciated Towson's commitment to help employees reach their ultimate professional best through additional training and workshops of which I participated in as much as possible. My supervisor was also extremely supportive in my educational and professional goals. All in all I had an extremely positive experience working at Towson University. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A high-tech environment to work
Operations Assistant (Former Employee), Towson, MDMay 1, 2014
Learned a number of computer skills, edited technology equipment photographs, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small D1 Athletic Department - Close Employees
Manager, Group Sales & Promotions (Former Employee), Towson, MDApril 21, 2014
Very good D1 athletic department on the rise in the very tough CAA. Learned a lot from supervisors with experience in major D1 conferences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Janitor (Current Employee), Towson, MDMarch 13, 2014
a typical day at towson university is ok. i learned many things how to use different machines. management staff are great. my co-worker know me very well. im very known from my work. there is no hard part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Rewarding
Art Gallery Assistant/Computer Lab Monitor (Former Employee), Towson, MDFebruary 4, 2014
When you work for Towson University, you are beginning to make memories last fora lifetime. I'm grateful for my former manager Ms. Venetia Zachary who is able to assist select students with Federal Work Study with locating on-campus jobs for the Art Department. With the proper training, being an art gallery guard becomes a rewarding experience. You're – more... able to be a part of the gallery exhibit reception, meet new faces, and learn more about the various cultures that makes Towson University culturally diverse. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great nursing school
Group Exercise Supervisor/Instructor (Former Employee), Towson, MDJanuary 17, 2014
Great place to attend nursing school. Teachers were helpful and made a lot of long life friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University
Graduate Assistant -- Excel VBA lab teacher (Former Employee), Towson, MDJanuary 15, 2014
Easy job
Low pay
nice people
no other comment
working with student
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large job with many obstacles.
HVAC Supervisor (Current Employee), Towson, MDJanuary 13, 2014
It's a good feeling to be the service contractor and the owner at the same time. However the struggle of the lack of pay and the constant battle of the beauracracy is both frustrating and tiring. I like the single location work day and the sometimes set hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Graduate Assistant, Department of Computer Science (Former Employee), Towson, MDOctober 17, 2013
Towson University, I started working as a graduate assistant and I really enjoyed with students, faculty and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, encouraging workplace
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Towson, MDOctober 11, 2013
My experience at Towson University was phenomenal. I came to Towson from a small town and was very unsure what I could even do with a biology degree. The biology professors there opened my eyes to science and everything you can do with science. I got involved volunteering for a masters thesis project my second semester there. Every Sunday I was getting – more... to go out kayaking on the Susquehanna river and help research an endangered species of turtles. After volunteering for many months, they finally offered me a job which i continued for about 3 years. I also worked in the biology office where I helped the professors and chair of the department with anything they needed. Needless to say, I lived in the biology department during my time at college. The professors there really make you feel like you can do anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Towson, MDOctober 9, 2013
I learned to use MS excel the most enjoyable part was working with people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed tutoring student-atheletes
Student-Athlete Tutor (Former Employee), Towson, MDOctober 8, 2013
• Tutored student-athletes on the broad physical processes of Earth including geology, meteorology, climatology, oceanography, etc. along with pre-calculus and various economic courses
• Helped students with organizational skills to enable success in test taking and course completion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work and life balance enviroment
Web and graphic designer (Former Employee), Towson, MDSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: people at towson are great and fun to work on a daily basis.
Cons: no room for career advancement
The atmosphere is somewhere laid back and the volume of work is extensive. The design work has room for creativity, and you have the freedom to come up with your own design suggestions and concepts as long as you follow the branding rules.

Designers also have the opportunity to sit with clients and brainstorm, which helps break the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research and Internship
Research Assistant/coauthor (Former Employee), Towson, MDAugust 1, 2013
The overall experience working at the University as a student was well worth it for the experience alone. The professors are very informative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Supplemental Instructor (Former Employee), Towson, MDJuly 8, 2013
A typical day entailed meeting with instructors to determine the most important concept for the student to learn in my session. After meeting with instructors i would sit down a develop my lesson plan. The lesson plan is designed to piggyback off the materials taught in lecture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for
Testing Coordinator (Former Employee), Towson, MDJuly 5, 2013
The testing department was a great department to work for..I learned a lot under their management. I am always willing to learn new skills no matter the difficulties

About Towson University

Towson University, often referred to as TU or simply Towson for short, is a public university located in Towson in Baltimore County, – Read more