Towson University

73 reviews

Towson University Employee Reviews

Showing all 73 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Supplemental Instructor (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDJuly 8, 2013
A typical day entailed meeting with instructors to determine the most important concept for the student to learn in my session. After meeting with instructors i would sit down a develop my lesson plan. The lesson plan is designed to piggyback off the materials taught in lecture.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review of towson un
Assistant Football Coach (Former Employee) –  football officeMay 4, 2015
Atypical day would be working with the football staff, I usually learned something about economics or sociology. My main co-worker was as former football player.the job was too much fun to be hard.
Pros
free lunch, use o th ecomputer
Cons
geting to my work space o a collgeg campass
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues to work with.
Associate Professor (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 18, 2013
I learned how things work in Academia and what students are up to these days. My co-workers could not be better, and thanks to them the job is very enjoyable.
Management and as well as the average student could be better though.
Pros
work environment
Cons
lack of incentives
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large job with many obstacles.
HVAC Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Towson, MDJanuary 13, 2014
It's a good feeling to be the service contractor and the owner at the same time. However the struggle of the lack of pay and the constant battle of the beauracracy is both frustrating and tiring. I like the single location work day and the sometimes set hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emjoyable and hardworking enviornment
Towson University Building Manager (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDAugust 11, 2015
Everyone involved in Towson University athletic department is hardworking and willing to grow themselves in the benefit of the improving the university environment. Very positive and upbeat environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Adjunct Instructor of Women's Studies (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDFebruary 24, 2015
Towson University is a great place to work. The university is very supportive of both its students and faculty. I received my graduate degree from Towson. Three years later, I was able to teach other Towson students as an Instructor.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/life balance is great
TELECOMMUNICATIONS ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Towson, MDJanuary 13, 2015
Exempt positions offer ample time-off. Salary is less than average. Advancement potential is seriously limited, no mid-level positions. Management tend to be "lifers" with limited perspective and less than adequate skillsets
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great work enviorment
Orientation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDAugust 26, 2015
Respect work environment, that often go above and beyond. The management is outstanding, and it push me as a person to do my job well. I would be more then willing to come back.
Pros
Free Lunch, Great mangement, work with your Strengths
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Towson University is an excellent employer for adjunct professors.
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDMay 15, 2015
Working and teaching for TU is a pleasure. TU works hard to insure that the programs meet the needs of students. Being on staff as an adjunct professor is a great job for full-time professionals.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Towson University
Field Placement Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDApril 23, 2015
Towson University was a wonderful place to work. The people were wonderful to work with. I enjoyed working with the students and performing the many duties I held.
Pros
Great Work Environment
Cons
Contracted Employee/Contract ended
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team-first work enviroment/ Great work area!
Assistant Women's Basketball Coach (Current Employee) –  Baltimore MDMarch 25, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the day is teaching the kids the game of basketball and watching them grow into responsible and productive adults.
Pros
Team first atmosphere
Cons
Lack of community support
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Lab Research (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDFebruary 12, 2015
The reaserch mainly focused on identifying small proteins in E. Coli.
It required a lot of critical thinking, especially when the results obtained were not what we were hoping for. The experiments required mainly PCR and DNA purification.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the school
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDFebruary 25, 2015
Best place to work were you can meet interested students and families. Very fun work environment, wish I could still be there but moved out of state!
Pros
great schedule, great peers
Cons
sometimes dealing with upset people
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational setting
Assistant to the Chief of Police (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDAugust 20, 2015
I have learned to work with people of various ethnic backgrounds and working with language barriers. Learned patience!
Really nothing bad to say about the place
Pros
free education
Cons
dislike change
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school! Best paying job on campus!
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDMarch 25, 2012
If you love the school and want to share your love with perspective students, become a student ambassador! It's the best paying job on campus, and you get to choose when you can and can not work!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Athletic Training Student (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDMay 27, 2015
I became a great clinician due to the teachings of the preceptors and professors at Towson University. If I had to do it all over again I would choose Towson University again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Assistant
Graduate Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Towson, MDAugust 5, 2014
My manager was very flexiable in regrads to job work and balancing your everday life. Cheerful and fun environment to work in. Work was not super tedious as some other postitions can be.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunities
Challenge Course Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDAugust 3, 2012
Their are a lot of opportunities to work and you are able to easily manage part-time hours to work with your class schedule. You also have a lot of room to work with different programs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work as a student
student animal tech (Former Employee) –  TowsonNovember 13, 2011
It was a great place to work,I was a work study student so i am not in a great position to give a review as to whether it was the best place but for a student like myself it was great
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent part-time job for students
Actuarial Exam Preparation Tutor (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDAugust 24, 2015
Not at all challenging, but the job was good for busy students who wanted an additional source of income. The pay was just enough to help pay for gas and books.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 73 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture