Toyota Tsusho America, Inc Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Work Space
Senior Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CAAugust 28, 2017
Not that the workers are old, but the work space itself is very old fashioned. The company represents the culture and tradition of Japan, however, it can be managed and motivated through changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of learning opportunities.
Supplier Development (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, KYAugust 28, 2017
Good leadership. It is a good place to work - career opportunities and ability to learn. Placed value in their employees and treated with respect. Overall, good organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Senior Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Maryville, TNJuly 30, 2017
Good place to work, but not a place that provides much advancement opportunities. A lot of management still comes from Japan, but more and more local people are being promoted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Logistics Administrator (Current Employee) –  Princeton, INJune 13, 2017
I go into work and do my job. Management often asks for additional work to be done or support with something that isn't our usual job description. Most management personnel does not care about the employees but a few do.
Pros
Great benefits and good work hours
Cons
Low integrity of upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was left alone to work at my own pace.
Shipping Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIFebruary 27, 2017
It has been more than 10 years since I worked here so I don't really remember a lot. I know that I was basically left alone to do my job and the job was not hard. I prepared shipping orders and any paperwork that went with the orders.
Pros
One hour lunch
Cons
The pay wasn't enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worldwide presence, multi faceted scope
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAJanuary 13, 2017
Toyota Tsusho does a lot of different things and is committed to excellence. Offices wordwide focusing on various industries (automotive, energy, chemicals, food, etc)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits fun job
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Georgetown, KYDecember 18, 2016
this company has the best benefits! The job was really fun and interesting the pay is low, but the benefits make up for everything. The offices are large and plush with coffee and lounge chairs in the break room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
corp staff accountant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 5, 2016
Toyota was my first full time job and I had learn a lot from the place. but lack of opportunities. all the co-workers are nice and fun place to work. I really enjoy of working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
warehouse supervisor (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNNovember 3, 2015
Great company, great benifits, great salary,structerd enviroment, mgmt cares about the people and will listen and make any improvements necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get working atmosphere
operations (Current Employee) –  NYCOctober 2, 2015
a lot of overtime but great co-workers/support and staff.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will be belittled by management and lied to by HR
Accounting (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, KYJuly 30, 2015
A typical day would include management belittling, discriminating, harassing, ridiculing and/ or ignoring their employees. You can go to HR about the unprofessional treatment, but they will tell you to learn how to get along with management or perhaps it would be better if you look for another job.

Tsusho has a strict attendance policy......for hourly employees only! If you are an hourly employee, you will be receive points against you for being one minute late and/ or using any of your sick time. With a combined total of 6 points in a rolling calendar year, you will be suspended and can be fired. This policy does't apply to management. (By the way, management gets 10 sick days per year, hourly employees only get 5 days per year.) Management can use all of their sick days and be late everyday, with no penalties or repercussions.
Pros
It is possible to get promoted by having an affair with your manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits but slow to move
Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee) –  Georgetown, KYJuly 22, 2015
I really enjoy the work I do for TAI but often feel stuck and stagnant without room to grow or learn. The hardest part of the job is managing down time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Corporate Accounting/Finance Intern (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, KYMay 27, 2015
Wish I could work there again. Love the staff and the area. The variety of involvement in several industries really help to broaden one's horizons and learning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toyota Tsusho Review
Senior Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, KentuckyMarch 18, 2015
I was in charge of making sure that all parts that were produced were to the correct standards and had accurate costs and prices that were confirmed by our vendors and customers. I analyized month end reports including inventory reconciliations and gross profit reports.
I enjoyed my job and the people I worked with.
Pros
Great beneifts and atmosphere. Learned alot about manufaturing accounting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at the office
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Maryville, TNMarch 10, 2015
Typical day at work:
Walking into a pile of sticky notes on your desk only to open your email to the same exact messages from 4 different co-workers.
Running errands for management in company vehicle
Serving coffee during meetings
Scheduling meetings
Scheduling hotel visits from out of Country Co-workers
Filing
Answering Front Office Phone
Scanning/Emailing/Mailing Customer Invoices
Filling printers with paper
Emptying recycling bens
Ordering company supplies
Keeping up with car log when employees took company cars
Different project co-workers needed assistance on

After Promotion:
Creating invoices for several different customers
Verifying that pricing was correct
Custom Audit for overseas shipments
Working in JDE Systems
Creating Sales Orders for warehouse personnel
Update tracking sheets in Excel


What I learned: How to be efficient in a timely manner.

Management: Lenient yet efficient, nice, always wanting to get to know you.

CoWorkers: Stand-offish mostly, some very friendly. Noticeably was always the one picking up their slack.

Hardest Part of job: Being a temporary for 3 years when always did above and beyond to prove oneself. Even with a promotion from receptionist to Administrative Assistant.

Most enjoyable part: Getting to know about overseas shipments, solar power lights, and co-workers in other departments
Pros
Working at a fast pace
Cons
Downfall of upper managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday presented new opportunities/fast pace environment
Logistics /Inventory Specialist (Former Employee) –  MichiganDecember 28, 2014
Each and everyday was a learning experience. The work load was fast paced and required dedication and support. Management is open to new ideas.
Pros
Generous benefits package
Cons
Rigid Company policies
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
PRODUCTION CONTROL SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CAAugust 9, 2014
TAI is a very unique place to work at. It literally a place where you can learn from a variety group of intelligent people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TAI's seven operating divisions (Metals, Machinery & Electronics, Chemicals, Logistics, Automotive, Food, and Consumer products)
Human Resource Representative (Current Employee) –  IndianaJune 26, 2014
Toyota Tsusho America, Inc is a parent company has adopted a slogan "G-Value to highlight the key characteristics of thier organization:
•Global - expanding activities in a global arena
•Glowing - maintaining a healthy, glowing enthusiasm and passion
•Generating - continually generating new business
•Green - raising environmental consciousness and committing to green operations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers that care,good team work
FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  lafayette,INMay 20, 2014
I Like Working For This Company. Everybody Is Nice And Helpful. The Hours Are Okay. The Pay Benefits Are Not That Great But It Is Good Place To Work.
Pros
good workers good management
Cons
salary, healthcare, stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love being the receptionist, I'm a people person.
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 17, 2013
Everyone here is great! I've learned a lot but my passion is children. I honestly can't say anything bad about this comapny.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No stepping up in another position
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toyota Tsusho America, Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4

Toyota Tsusho America, Inc Reviews by Location