Find companies:
Toys 'R' Us
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,434 reviews

Toys 'R' Us Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An easy holiday job with basic instructions.
Stocker (Former Employee), Brea, CAOctober 28, 2014
Pros: the work goes by fast even when stocking the entire store.
Cons: the position is only seasonal with a 1 out of 10 chance of being hired full-time.
You come in an hour before closing time and assist other employees in the clean-up, and once a week, help with unloading trucks and properly storing them within the warehouse. After closing time, warehouse stock is brought out to restock necessary shelves, racks or tables. After the sales floor has been properly stocked, the warehouse is cleaned up – more... and reorganized for the next evening, and dispose of all garbage and recyclables. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Overnight Team Member (Former Employee), Henrico, VAOctober 28, 2014
Pros: playing with the toys
Cons: leaving without being able to finish enjoying myself
coming in getting straight to work getting to play with all the new an upcoming toys just having fun inside one of the greatest toy stores of all time managers were cool and sop as the co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work. Helps me grow as a women
team member (Current Employee), miamiOctober 28, 2014
Overall its a happy place to work at especially if you love kids like i do. Very honest workplace and great motivational people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate, Restocking (Former Employee), Port Richey, FLOctober 27, 2014
Pros: good supervisors
Cons: only seasonal position
Learned all about toys and got to know the staff and supervisors. The hardest part was restocking and finding where the each toy went back on the shelf when there were thousands of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a decent temporary job.
Team Member (Current Employee), East Brunswick, NJOctober 27, 2014
Pros: great management, team atmosphere.
Cons: lack of efficient communication leads to confusion.
A typical day for me so far has been kind of hectic, as it seems that I am called upon to do multiple things for multiple people all at once. Though it is not hard or truly overwhelming, it is quite inconvenient. I often start one thing, get called away to do something else, and while I'm doing that I am called to do something else, then assisting a – more... customer, etc. and by the time I get back to the original task, it is three hours later.

I have learned quite a bit from working here the past few weeks, such as more efficient ways of keeping stock and new teamwork skills.

The management at the store where I work is really good. The managers are always calm and understanding, and very helpful.

The co-workers are generally helpful, and mostly nice. Unfortunately some of them are less friendly, and more cranky/bossy.

The hardest part of the job has been the customers. They are often looking for toys that are either no longer sold at the store, getting rude when they are told we don't have what they are looking for, or just generally confusing or picky.

The most enjoyable part of the job for me has been cleaning the store after closing, because it is quiet, calm, and easy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stocker
Stocker/Customer Service (Former Employee), Wichita, KSOctober 27, 2014
Showed up to work, unloaded pallets and loaded the shelves. Not much to the job. Just there for the manual labor portion of the duties needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relatively laid back with vending machines
Back of House (Former Employee), Hurst, TXOctober 27, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of sorting and stocking truck shipments, cleaning up you area, and occasionally fetching pick up orders for guests. Management was alright, co-workers were decent. The hardest part of the job was lifting really heavy stuff by yourself because most of the time there wasn't anyone else to help you. The most enjoyable part – more... was probably helping out children and kids. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely productive and light environment
Overnight Stock Team Member (Current Employee), Bronx, NYOctober 26, 2014
Get some coffee or good sleep for the shift , be ready to have a little scratch on the hand from cutting boxes and replenishing shelf. You learn to appreciate the behind the scenes people who restock shelves when you come in to shop. Co-workers find their own business and work efficient and individually. The hardest part is keeping up the whole night – more... if you have no rest and finding where every little item should go in the store if your just beginning. The most enjoyable part is being able to play with store toys and live out your childhood. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Don't Wanna Grow Up!
Store Receiving Specialist (Former Employee), Norwalk, CTOctober 26, 2014
Pros: seeing the smiles on childrens' faces.
Cons: holiday season could get really, really hectic.
It was a lot of fun working at Toys R Us. In addition to my regular duties, I especially loved doing live demos and workshops with the kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Shipping and receiving clerk (Former Employee), St. PetersOctober 25, 2014
I loved the job it was great everyone was wonderful. I was only looking for seasonal employment and got hired on full time had a few problems with the family and living arangements and had to let the job go otherwise I'd still be there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work..
Team Member/Cashier (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 25, 2014
Pros: decent hours, flexible, and your annual raise is based upon performance, punctuality, etc.
Cons: inability to use earned time off during the months of october thru december, and will not be considered for a position unless you have metrics.
A fun place to work. Friendly and professional co-workers/staff, decent communication between members and managers. Hardest part of the job is during the holidays when we get a high volume of customers and working long shifts such as closing the store one day and opening the store the next day. Aside from having a high volume of customers, you get to – more... meet people from all around the world and have some fun while doing so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic shoppers
Merchandiser, Cashier, Money & Media (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 23, 2014
Pros: toys
Cons: christmas shoppers
I started after high school for the Holiday season. I was tense and extremely chaotic. I enjoyed helping people find the toy they wanted for their child, but did not like the chaos of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace and fun work environment
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Newington, CTOctober 23, 2014
Pros: free pizza after a great night at work
A typical day at work would be finding out what department I am working in for the night, bringing all boxes to the right department, and stocking the shelves with the correct product. I learned that you need to know what boxes go in the correct aisles, because some boxes are labeled wrong. Management was amazing, and I have no complaints. My co-workers – more... were very friendly, and fun to work with. The hardest part of the job was remembering where certain boxes go for the first two to two and a half weeks. The most enjoyable part of the job was finishing unloading the truck and stocking the entire truck with an hour or so left before we clocked out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Babies R US
Salesperson (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 23, 2014
On a typical day... working a Babies R Us is very enjoyable.
The customers are great and management and employee are great.
But the pay scale and benefits are not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good as a second job
Registry Consultant (Current Employee), East Brunswick, NJOctober 23, 2014
I really enjoyed working here the people and the environment was great but unfortunately the hours/compensation wasn't enough for me to make my bills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool job
CSR (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 22, 2014
I didn't start there as a worker I had to show them I worked hard an they kept me after the holiday session the job is a cool job the ppl are nice but everyone has there days overall thums up loved helping the customers I made famileys in there I didn't even kno
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, but poor upper management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Peoria, ILOctober 22, 2014
Pros: fun, nice coworkers, flexible scheduling, laid back
Cons: poor upper management, not much room for growth, low pay
I worked at an express store for a while. I didn't know this upon getting hired, I assumed it was for the bigger store in town. Since the express store was just opening, the new employees were required to set up the store. One of the members of upper management was with us to assist in the set up, but all he would do was stand around and tell us when – more... we did something wrong. The people I worked with at my store were all awesome and we had a lot of fun, but a lot of the upper management for this company don't really care about employees. Part-time employees didn't get a lot of hours. When our store was told we were closing, we were told we'd still have jobs at the big store. This didn't happen...apparently the manager of the bigger store hired too many seasonal workers at his store and kept them all on, leaving no spots for the express store employees (even though our store got multiple complaints about the other store's seasonal help). Overall, my experience was rather enjoyable, but the way things were handled by management was disappointing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Cashier (Former Employee), Medford, OROctober 21, 2014
I only worked there a month as a seasonal employee. I don't understand why this is something I have to share to post a resume on this site. Toys R Us is busy around Christmas, not so much the rest of the year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stock
Stock , Re-Stock (Former Employee), Durham, NCOctober 21, 2014
Stocking things in the back and front of the store. I have learned that making peoples day makes your day feel better. I had great management had the best mangers ever. The hardest parts was getting the carts in the freezing cold. The most enjoyable parts was helping the little kids pick out new toys.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stock
Stock , Re-Stock (Former Employee), Durham, NCOctober 21, 2014
Stocking things in the back and front of the store. I have learned that making peoples day makes your day feel better. I had great management had the best mangers ever. The hardest parts was getting the carts in the freezing cold. The most enjoyable parts was helping the little kids pick out new toys.

1 2 3 4 5

About Toys 'R' Us

Toys“R”Us, Inc. is the world’s leading dedicated toy and juvenile products retailer, offering a differentiated – Read more