Toys 'R' Us Employee Reviews in United States

Found 5,248 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toys R Us
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Waterford, CTMay 7, 2016
Co Workers were great

quiet workplace

supervisor was great

created a great knowledge of the items in the store

gave a lot of hours to the employees
Pros
co workers
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy kids
stock ,maintenance,sales (Former Employee) –  Wesley Chapel, FLMay 7, 2016
the manager is wonderful. kids and parents playing with toys the joy on the kids faces is priceless when they see a new toy that they just have to have.
Pros
happy place to be
Cons
not enough cashiers long lines
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Carle Place, NYMay 6, 2016
I enjoyed working for Toys R Us. The hours were flexible, there were positive people to work around and people would always willing to help you if you needed it. Being able to help customer could be a challenge at times but was rewarding. It was definitely a rewarding experience and was worth learning.
Pros
Flexible hours, positive work environment
Cons
Inconsistent work available
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLMay 6, 2016
Come in and play with different types of toys. What else can you ask for? Teaches you how to interact with customers and how to be a great leader.
Pros
Everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so good anymore
SEASONAL SALES TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  La Mesa, CAMay 5, 2016
Toys R Us used to be fun to work at. They use to care about their employees. Now they don't. One of the days I was working I got a call saying my grandma passed away and they wouldn't let me leave work or even take a 10 minute break to gather myself. They run their employees into the ground and they use to never be like that. I think they could use a change of heart and go back to making it fun. Since I worked there a lot of people have left the store due to the management.
Pros
met some great people
Cons
Management is horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNMay 5, 2016
At Toys 'R' Us I learned time management skills, and learned how to provide great energetic customer service with great attitude. At Toys 'R' Us, my co-workers were very nice, respectful, and helpful. It was very enjoyable to help customers find the toys that they were looking for, knowing that I was being helpful was the most satisfying part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, New managers
Supervisor, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 4, 2016
This was a great place to work. There is a lot o knowledge to take in about products. The management changed a few times while working there. Overall was a good job.
Pros
Managers Worked with hours
Cons
Pay not the best
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funn
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Union, NJMay 4, 2016
A typical night at TRU was fun.
I learned much about Labor
I really appreciated my management
my co-workers were very youthful and fun
The hardest part about the job was the rush hour during the season
The most enjoyable part of the job the vibrant energy and youthful spirits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal but Worth It
ORDERS OF MANAGEMENT/CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Cedar Hill, TXMay 4, 2016
I have worked in just about every department and I would not mind working as a cashier there, or customer service. The management is quite nice and respectful, plus you learn how the company works and interact with the lovely little children (before they make a mess that is with the toys).
Pros
Coworkers, Customers, Lunch Break, Children
Cons
Long lines, Loud Children
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Electronic Specialist/Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Cary, NCMay 4, 2016
A typical day involved helping customers find products, ringing up sales, and restocking as well as recovering the store to a good looking state for the next opening day. The employees and managers are all very good people and this is a great work environment especially as a starter job.
Pros
Discounts on store products.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am aware these places exist but surprised they can still exist
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Santa Maria, CAMay 3, 2016
Coming to work is the first hurdle. After you make it in the door you find that the morning "huddle" was given to the overnight crew and checked off the list.
You then start your day searching for some information on what needs to be done since the person before you clocked out right as you were clocking in, so no hand-off.
While working you try and give the guest the best care you can.
Many times calling the back room can feel like your bothering them.
Training is in the form of notebooks you might find or if your lucky there is someone there who has been there awhile and not left.
The guests are friendly and you can get your work done.
Sometimes the Assistant managers are good and you have a good day. Store manager is a bear and don't go into the office. If your scheduled with the SM then plan on being short handed.
Pros
weekends are great and fun. it's not a bad 1st job
Cons
Have to have a thick skin and have a do it all your self work ethic
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Customer Service Representative / Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wayne, NJMay 3, 2016
hectic
learned to deal with costumers
management complicated
most cowrkers helpful
hardest part selling
enjoyable part is making the children happy
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun times
Cashier/Sales person/BOH (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCMay 3, 2016
I liked my job as well as my co-workers. I worked as a cashier, boh, and a sales person. I also worked at the customer service desk.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHMay 2, 2016
Not a hard job at all, standing everyday for hours does get tiring. Working during holiday season is fun and very busy. The busier the better, and the faster the time goes.
Pros
Occasional Free Food, Nice Management
Cons
Short Breaks, Standing for hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivational
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Guayama Municipio, PRMay 2, 2016
Allways have a possitive mood, be playful with children clients and professional with the job operation, learn new stuff about peoples entertainment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and team effort environment
Backroom Associate (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYMay 1, 2016
fun and friendly team. I learned more of inventory.
most managers where supporting and encouraging
the hardest part was changing hours from early mornings to overnight best part was achieving the goals by myself or as a team
Pros
we were a family team
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but not enough hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAMay 1, 2016
Coworkers were nice and everyday was different. I always enjoyed seeing all of the little kids that would come in and how their eyes would light up when they found a certain toy or a barbie doll.
Pros
Great toys and lots of kids around
Cons
Not enough money to live on
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toys R Us
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Florence, KYMay 1, 2016
Toys R Us is by far the most balanced company I have worked for. Management will go out of their way to train the employee until he/she gets the task understood.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy
Cashier/Stock Clerk (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 30, 2016
i loved working at toys r us , the environment and staff are great , i was usually on all floors moving merchandise and helping customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring place to work with unhealthy management
Priority staff member (Current Employee) –  Algonquin, ILApril 29, 2016
Thankful for the experience this job gave, but not thankful for the multiple management mess ups.
Forgotten frequently and not on the work schedule for multiple weeks despite asking for hours.
Managers choose to socialize instead of helping.
Very little to no communication between the managers.
Management is very rude to high school workers.
The hardest part of the job is having to teach oneself how to operate because training is very bland.
The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with cheerful customers and making children happy.
Pros
Free food around holidays, many coworkers willing to trade shifts, Back-of-house Manager.
Cons
Boring off-season, very stressful in-season, breaks forgotten to be given, low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 6,102 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture