Find companies:
ToysRUs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100 reviews

ToysRUs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Totowa, NJJune 29, 2014
Pros: getting experience
Cons: them not keeping their word
When I first started they said that we would be training for all the positions there ( cashier, sales associate) being that they might need us when ever. The management did not train me for either position, they put me straight on the floor for sales, I did not know what I was doing it was very off putting not knowing where things were when the customer – more... asks you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok!
Head Stocker / Cashier / Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), pensacola,flJune 21, 2014
Cons: scheduling!
Management can be better. You never get knowledge for your work. The scheduling is not fair to the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable place to be, but worth taking a visit to!
Sale's Associate (Former Employee), Hazelwood, MOJune 17, 2014
This was a great first job. Had the best team to work with, and only wish I could return there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, knowledgeable and fun work place
Sales Team Member (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 10, 2014
Pros: i get to meet people from different countries and learn new foreign words
Cons: it can sometimes be very hot in just my section on my store.
I would like to expand my work ethics and gain as much knowledge in different fields of work as possible. With that being said, i would like to say in my history if work experience i have grown into learn the basic fundamentals of business. Ive learned key retail selling points suck as; keeping close engagement with your customers is as important as – more... keeping the same relationship with the product your selling, product knowledge is important (of course), keeping up corporate goals dose not only apply to higher or superior management but in-store staff as well. The hardest part at a job for my self is my worry to meet company goals being a distraction and eventually getting in the way of any task at hand. Although i have never let my worries get in the way of my work i do worry it can effect my work ethics, so to prevent that i keep my focus on getting my job done and at a timely manner. Management and my co-workers has been a great help with teaching me new ways to prioritize and concur any task thrown my way. I learn to be persistent and sustain in the kind of work environment i look to work in. I learn and reach new goals everyday in my present job and i just look forward in growing and a working women with my work family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, co-workers are very helpful and kind.
Backroom Team Member (Current Employee), Commack, NYJune 10, 2014
Pros: nice co-workers.
Cons: healthcare.
A typical day at work once i get it i check in with the manager for that shift. If i'm working an opening shift I start by unloading the merchandise off the truck with other team members.Then we proceed to bring the merchandise to the floor and stock the shelves in prep for the store to open. When i'm working a closing shift i start by checking NOF – more... (Not On Floor). I pull the items that are needed on the floor from the backroom. In addition every shift i do carry outs for guest as well as assist them by pulling items they need from the backroom. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady paced job with very good benifits
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Colonial Heights, VAJune 4, 2014
Pros: steady paced
Cons: minunium waged
Greeting customers & helping with thier purchases , learned the advancements of the company , coworkers were very dependable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive careing okaty pay
Stocker (Former Employee), Roseville, CAJune 3, 2014
Pros: good company okay pay caring coworkers and managers
Cons: not enough hours avaiable
i learned how to stock and got thte stock experience prizing and scanning items
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some where to get by
Supervisor (Current Employee), Miami, FLMay 22, 2014
Pros: health care for ft, flexible schedules
Cons: read review
Company has a great inventory location search system to make it easy for the employees to pin point product for guest. Over all The company tries hard to keep Guest Satisfaction at a priority but can sometimes forget and go back to merchandising more then guest service. ToysRus is a very different retail company. The companies priorities sometimes are – more... not in the right direction. Hours for the hourly team members are scares to none. The company expects a lot from you but with no compensation to back it up. Raises suck and there are no bonus for no one except the store manager and up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great , Cultural And Respectful Work Place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Totowa, NJMay 5, 2014
Awesome Loved It
Great Environment
People Are Nice Too
A lot Of Kids Around
A lot Of Fun Events In Store
A lot Of Work Also
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment, must be able to handle customers.
Customer service rep, I take calls, make calls (Former Employee), Greece NYMay 1, 2014
Pros: great team, discount perks.
Cons: long hours not enough pay.
Working at Toysrus was great.
The team I worked with was awesome.
I learned how to supervise and provide customer service by working with the guest in person or over the phone.
My managers for the most part were pretty decent and easy to talk too.
The hardest part of the job was the customers. People are very serious about their toys and when we didn't – more... have the toys they were looking for they would get very angry.
The most enjoyable part was the team members I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier/sales associate
Sales associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Bronx, NYApril 10, 2014
rung up merchandise, cash handling, good customer service. stock and clean merchandise on shelves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was great working for toysRus
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rockaway, NJApril 9, 2014
the people were nice the managers were hard workers and the co workers were easy to get along with, a regular day at toysRus consisted on helping people find what they need and making a lot of kids happy that was the most enjoyable part if the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was ok
Unloader/Sorter (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 8, 2014
Pros: good for part time
Cons: seasonal, part time only
Job was ok but was only hireing for part-time and seasonal. They also cut hours to sometimes only working 4hrs a week
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with and a good job to start out with.
Cashier (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAApril 6, 2014
I loved working here everyone got along and the place was kept neat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place, friendly coworkers, good location
Cashier/Sales (Former Employee), Wesley Chapel, FLMarch 31, 2014
enjoyable work environment, great customer interaction, would work another Christmas season
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Cashier (Former Employee), Chula Vista, CAMarch 25, 2014
Moderate pace environment
Lots of Team work
Family oriented
Coworkers treat eachother like family
Lots of Customers to handle
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expected
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Totowa, NJMarch 20, 2014
I would come in when ever scheduled, which would only be 2 day out of the week. Most weeks I wouldn't get put on the schedule.
None of the managers knew where to put me once I clocked in.
I didn't get enough training to know anything in the store.
On training day we trained on how to use the register, but I myself wasn't put on a register that day, – more... they put me on the floor, but didn't give me any training for that position. A week after working, I stated that I wanted to work with the register, seeing that is where I'm most comfortable, the refused to do so keeping me on the floor doing sales.

The hardest part of the job was climbing the ladders to get the inventory from the top. I am afraid of heights.

The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the kids getting what they wanted for Christmas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK job if you like working with toys.
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: got to work for 3 months
Cons: fewer and fewer hours given until being laid-off
Stocking, straitening, helping customers. Hired too many people. Had to let 50% go, 3 months after grand opening.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Orlando, FLFebruary 18, 2014
I enjoyed working for Toys R Us because of the smile I was able to create in the buyer face from assisting in purchasing toys.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good
Sales Associate (Current Employee), LancasterFebruary 8, 2014
My experience working for ToysRus has been overall pretty good. The one thing that could be improved on is possibly better communication opportunities for workers and managers - work e-mails would be a good experience to stay up-to-date on work expectations and specific position oriented goals. Possibly creating a chain communication system that organizes – more... daily needs and goals. – less

1 2 3 4 5

ToysRUs Photos