Find companies:
Trader Joe's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
115 reviews

Trader Joe's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place!
Human Resources Representative (Current Employee), Monrovia, CAApril 8, 2014
Trader Joe's is a great place and care for their employee's. Team work is an essential part of the job and there is always something to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place with lots of energy.
Trader Joe's (Current Employee), Portland, ORMarch 25, 2014
Pros: great insurance and crew.
Cons: on your feet all day.
The days at Trader Joe's are fast paced. The days are filled with lifting heavy boxes and stocking the shelves to make sure the customers have product to shop. There is a lot of interaction with the customer as well. Customer service is very important for the job and without it you cannot succeed with the company. I've learned great customer service – more... skills and how to deal with people in many different situations. My Co-workers are the best part of the job. We all have a great attitude and know how to work well with one another. The hardest part of the job would have to be the hours of work. Although it is only an eight hour day, the start times can be very early. The closing shift is late in the evening and sometimes the turn around for coming back into work make it hard to get personal things done outside of work. I would have to say that the most enjoyable part of the job is being around people and having the ability to walk around and keep moving all day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for with one of the best environments for employees.
Merchant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: all the above.
Cons: the ability to build new stores in areas where they would thrive. not all locations did so.
My 11 years employed by this company was one of the best experiences I have had in my work career.
A typical day goes by so quickly mainly because the job was so enjoyable. I learned about how to treat customers and how to gain profit through engagement with customers. Merchandising and knowing the products to educate co-workers and customers about – more... the Trader Joe's brand and way of business.
The most difficult part of the job was keeping up with the business at hand. Keeping product available for our customers at all parts of the day.
I enjoyed every facet of the Trader Joe's culture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and creative work environment
SIGN ARTIST (Current Employee), Orange, CTMarch 19, 2014
Pros: healthcare, set reviews, fun environment
Cons: limited growth
I've always loved working for Trader Joe's. As a sign artist I have a lot of fun and have so much freedom to do whatever I want creatively. I love working for my boss and enjoy seeing my co-workers every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT
Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 14, 2014
IT WASSSSS A COOOL PLACE TO WORK FRIENDLY CO WORKERS I DIDNT REALLY WANNA LEAVE BENIFITS R GREAT TO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 12, 2014
Fun place to shop, work, overall a great place. The crew are friendly. Management are friendly people that really care about the crew.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to begin as a warehouse worker
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee), Olympia, WAMarch 10, 2014
* Every we had safety meeting before work.
* I learned how to load semi-trucks using big electric pallet jacks.
* I had an outstanding co-workers everyone worked hard and we helped each other when someone need it help with anything.
* The hard part on the job was when it was raining because we had difficulties loading trucks when the docks were wet.
* – more... I did enjoy my job and I enjoy working with my supervisors and co-workers beautiful experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace
Section Leader (Current Employee), Columbia, SCMarch 9, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: hard to climb the ladder
Great working environment! Learned a great deal about customer service and leadership skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Crew Leader (Current Employee), Boston, MAMarch 4, 2014
Trader Joe's is a great company to work for. They offer full benefits for employees over 30 hours/week, retirement, bonuses, and flexible hours. Employees are given the skills to make their own decisions throughout the store. Employees work hard and are rewarded. It is a fun and dynamic environment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treder Jo's is an overall great company. However, menagment is a whole nother story
Crew member (Former Employee), Norcross, GAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: good pay, great customers, you can sample vino at work
Cons: hard work, managment, week communication, disorder
I am full-time student and I work for U.S. Navy reserves. As loyal customer of Trader Joe’s, I thought maybe I should apply for part-time position there since I like the food and the atmosphere. I was hired short time after; training was insufficient and unorderly. Mangers were all over the place, confusion was unavoidable. However, I kept my positive – more... attitude and I worked hard. I’ve started to notice that management did not recognize your hard work. I missed almost all my 10min brakes and no one cared at all. Long story short, I was becoming very irritated by the lack knowledge of some managers and employees. Short time after I’ve decided to resign, simply because the job was not up to par. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but has its problems
Crew Member (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: healthcare for full time workers, decent pay
Cons: lack of direction, lack of authoratative assistance, did not recieve orientation for first 4 months.
While the pay is good and your coworkers are nice, there is a very high turn over rate. They recently cut the insurance for employees working under 30 hours, so it's not the best option if you have another job.

Depending on the location you work at, the culture will be different. They shift managers around a lot though, so don't get comfy with how – more... the store is run for too long. The next person will come along and change everything up on you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Crew Member (Former Employee), Hadley, MAFebruary 5, 2014
pay and scheduling are great. the worst part is the customers who complain about stupid things but thats not the company's fault. advancement opportunities are few and far between- to get one you'd better be a manager's pet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun upbeat work environment
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Santa Cruz, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: health care, people, culture
Cons: compensation, upward mobility
Typical shift is spent working the floor, operating cash register and delivering high quality customer care. I learned how to train employees, manage food orders, grow sales and profits, and polish my customer service skills. Management creates a fun and enjoyable atmosphere to work in, which carries over to how the employees interact with customers. – more... Great company and in a competitive industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
MATE, (Management) (Current Employee), Medford, ORJanuary 31, 2014
Growth opportunities are available if you are mobile.
Hard work is required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive work place with minimal ability for advancement
Crew Member (Current Employee), Short Pump, VAJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: free samples, positive work environment
Cons: the store plays by the books too hard, good work is seldom noticed.
A typical day involved being able to work all sections of the store, which included stocking, or selling products from any section of the store. Additional duties throughout the day include cashiering for any number of hours and being involved in a good customer experience. I was able to learn about a variety of products in the store, but the hardest – more... part of the job wasn't the work itself, but trying to complete all tasked assigned, while staying safe and being able to work properly around customers while still providing them with a great shopping experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Despite the pay, everything about that store was terrible.
Crew Member (Former Employee), Edgewater, NJJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: current management
I appreciated working at Trader Joe's. I was paid well and after a few months, I was given benefits - that I didn't get the chance to use. The hours were fair and the pay was very promising. But room for advancement was scarce and if you weren't kissing up to management, they weren't your biggest fan. There is terrible bigotry, biases and discrimination – more... in the 606 store. I had been belittled by certain people in management and when I finally spoke up for myself nothing was done, it was like I hadn't even been heard. My discontent with the Trader Joe's company is great and very disappointing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional; every bit of bureaucratic as any corporate job
Merchant (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: they allow you to take an unpaid day off on thanksgiving, xmas and new year's. gee, thanks for nothing (literally!)
Cons: the employee manual does not thoroughly prepare you for any of the horrors that you about to face.
Hey, are you lazy? Like buttock kissing? Have no life outside of the company's culture and people? Enjoy being lied to and constantly disrespected? Do you like continually being thrown under a bus? Be talked about behind your back? You like being single out and written up for things that your colleagues are doing more often and a lot worst than you – more... would ever do? How about having customers curse and yell epithets at you while your superiors look the other way? Work your tush off so that your colleagues can hang out and get paid to do absolutely nothing? Have other people get credit for your hard work? Well, is this you?

THEN THIS IS THE PREFECT JOB FOR YOU. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trader Joe's is a great company to work for
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAJanuary 19, 2014
I started out as a cheese Girl. worked my way up to a Clerk, Full time and then an Assistant Manager. The atmosphere was fun and easy going.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and family oriented work environment
Crew Member (Current Employee), Manhattan BeachJanuary 16, 2014
Cashier

Stocking

Cleaning

Order writing

Customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trader Joe's is a store with a great atmosphere that allows employees to have fun while they work.
Crew Member (Current Employee), Palmdale, CAJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: we are rewarded for our hard work with things like free meals and snacks, and we are encouraged to have fun.
Cons: sometimes when there is extra work to do you become exhausted, since most of the work is physical labor.
Everyday at work, we usually do the same things. Some days are busy and some are a little quieter, but we always manage to have some fun and get our work done. Working at this store really has tought me a lot about people in the world and how businesses work. I've seen how high in demand our products are and how important it is to serve the people. – more... I have learned that hard work is very necessary and can feel very rewarding when you accomplish it. The managers at our store love to see us working hard and using our skills.
The management is very relaxed and helps us to see things in our job in a more positive light but also encourages us to work hard and perform our jobs as best as we can. I have learned that you will never like every single one of your co-workers, but it is always important to work as a team with everybody and not to bring any drama into your work place. Fortunately, I have been given some amazing co-workers who have really make this job a life changing experience. They make tough days at work not seem so bad.
The hardest part of my job is that sometimes, no matter how friendly or helpful you are, there will always be some people that you can never satisfy. The thing to always remember about this is that no matter what, as long as you put all you're effort in and do everything in your power, you should not be discouraged by someone being unappreciative. The most enjoyable part of my job is all the things I've learned and all the great people I'm surrounded by. It's great to work for a company that has such a great name. I have had customers tell me that it makes them happy to just simply shop at our store. That is truly a wonderful thing to hear and is very rewarding. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Trader Joe's

When it comes to grocery chains, Trader Joe's isn't your average Joe. With some 375 stores in 30-plus states, the company offers – Read more