Find companies:
Tradesmen International
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
122 reviews

Tradesmen International Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a career just a quick job!
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 27, 2013
Pros: quick job placement
Cons: 401k, health benefits, not always working
A typical day at work would be running conduit, pulling wire, trimming out, lighting, power, typically anything electrical. Worked with different people all the time which is hard to know their personalities and their strong points. Their was really no hard part of my job. the most enjoyable is when I look at the work I've done and say man that looks – more... good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
undecided
pipefitter (Former Employee), Tulsa OklahomaDecember 21, 2013
Pros: good supervision
Cons: cant guarantee u work once your there
worked one job for them it was a good job pay was good hours good, came from Tuscon Arizona to Tulsa Oklahoma to work for them n once I got to Tulsa they said the job was shut down n put me in a serious bind. never had a company do that to me before and this is the worst time of year to be out of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Form carpenter (Former Employee), Greenville, SCDecember 10, 2013
we build and repair bridges, I learned a lot about working together as an team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Electrician (Current Employee), VariousDecember 9, 2013
Great people working on various projects and the pay is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a fun place to work
Laborer (Former Employee), Dayton OhDecember 9, 2013
Pros: great hours
Cons: short breaks
Great coworkers, wonderful oppertunities,nice benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company if you like to travle
Commercial & Industrial Electrician (Former Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 5, 2013
Pros: free motels and good pay
Cons: the traveling
tradesmen international was a decent company to work for. the travel was the only bad thing about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 years of solid career building
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Columbia, SCDecember 5, 2013
Pros: benefits, corporate support
Cons: long hours, low pay
10 years of solid career building with excellent corporate support
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Manager
Sales Representative, General Manager (Current Employee), Spokane, WADecember 3, 2013
Pros: the freedom to manage in an effective way that suites my style.
Cons: relying on field employees to represent tradesmen properly
Responsibilities
I am responsible to make sure that my reps are out of their houses and on jobsites by 7am. I begin receiving
email requests at 5am from home. Our corporate office is in Cleveland. I am also responsible to know where all
of our field employees are at all times. We have between 40 to 70 field employees working at any given time. I
pull – more... our aging reports for billing and make sure my reps are keeping up on their clients billing. I am responsible
for making sure our project coordinator is getting all dispatches done on time daily. We try to interview 8 new
employees a day to keep up with our clients man power needs. I help our administrative assistant with payroll
every week and ensure that our field employees, as well as our office employees get paid on time. I was
responsible for the yearly business plan and budget for this next year. Taking the time to look at the trends and
forecast the needs for the office paid off greatly. I completed the task and received praise from my immediate
supervisor for being proficient and a stickler to detail. I am also responsible to maintain a professional office. I
have to make sure all of our services are in order and inventory stocked. I also am responsible for having the
office staff adhere to a professional attire depending on what their job tasks are on any given day.
Management
I have learned much from my Area Manager. He has helped my sharpen my multi-tasking efforts to become more efficient. He has been a mentor and a person who cares about his employees. He has taught me how to stay on task in any hectic situation.
Skills Used
I use relationship building skills. I didn't look at the sales representative job as sales. I looked at it as a
consulting position with my clients. It is a relationship business. I learned all of my clients needs for skilled
trades and put that knowledge to good use. Once you can prove to your clients and potential clients that you
will do whatever it takes to successfully service their man power needs, they will be a loyal client.
I took the same approach to becoming general manager. I used my relationships with my reps and their clients
to cut our collections from over 70% past 30 days to 30% past 30 days in 1 month. I have also been able to
use my past experience as a rep to motivate the reps to push forward and persevere. You have to have a thick
skin to be successful in the labor support business.
The most enjoyable part of this job is helping support the success of all of the people that work for Tradesmen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent in between job type job just pay bill money
Combo Pipe Welder/ Fitter (Current Employee), Tacoma, WADecember 3, 2013
They do a good job keeping you employed for the most part depending on your skills ability to travel whatnot but pay isn't the best but it is basically a temp agency so what can you expect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temp work
Welder/fitter/fabricator (Former Employee), Sacramento, CANovember 20, 2013
Pros: good expeirance
Cons: wor could stop without notice
It was good experiance. I had fun and learned alot about conveyors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temp
Hostess (Current Employee), Columbus, GANovember 18, 2013
temp placement that employs tradesmen, contractors and technicians.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
turbine tech
turbine tech (Current Employee), floridaNovember 13, 2013
Pros: good people
Cons: not enough work
worked on gas an steam turbines traveled all around, states, to repair the turbines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provided a variety of experiences.
Carpenter (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MINovember 12, 2013
Pros: provided a variety of experiences.
Cons: lack of long term interaction.
I was able to work in a variety of environments and in a variety of situations and was able to learn a wide range of construction aspects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the people I worked with
Field Representative (Former Employee), Saint Charles, ILNovember 11, 2013
Pros: once a month safety meeting
Cons: car allowance is not enough for the amount of driving
Mondays office day unless you have a walkout.
Tuesday work your territory back in the office by 3:00pm
Wednesday work your territory back in the office by 3:00pm
Thursday work your territory back in the office by 3:00pm
Friday work your territory back in the office by 12:00pm

Management is flexible with the territory schedule as long as you have appointments.

Most – more... enjoyable part of the job is the people I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work .
laborer (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 29, 2013
Pros: paid weekly
Cons: no days off/unhealthy worksite/lack of respect
not a good choice for longterm success. The main company is in virginia, and they offer jobs twice a year. The jobs are 10 to 12 hours a day, 7 days a week and are not scale pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always different work.
Electrician , Mechanic (Former Employee), Neenah, WIOctober 9, 2013
good company to work for there was always work. had to travel alot tho. but it was all part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Driven
General Manager (Current Employee), Greenville, SCOctober 6, 2013
Pros: outside sales
Cons: relying on construction workers for your success
If you work hard and have the patience to survive, you can do well with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They do not hire qualified help
Employer who used their services (Former Employee), ArizonaOctober 5, 2013
Pros: they send guys quick
Cons: the guys they send are not qualified
I used them for temporary help, and was sent out guys from half way houses who had NO experience in the work that we do. Something I think may have been drunk ... I spent more time correcting the mistakes they made then I did getting the work done.

For the most part the workers did not listen, could not take direction, and as I said I think a few of – more... them where drunk.

I was simply not impressed.

Oh and FYI I was not told that guys came from a half way house ... I think that should have been something they where more up front with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gusser
sub-contractor (Current Employee), Richmond, VASeptember 22, 2013
Responsible for repairing basic plumbing issues
• Assisted plumber with sewage, piping and installation of various appliances
• Handled the tasks of repairing and locating leakages and broken pipes
• Drilled holes in floors and walls to accommodate passage of pipes
• Assisted in fitting vales, pumps and systems by making use of hand tools
• Helped plumbers – more... in replacing and repairing fixtures and performing rough-ins
• Supervised office work and trained apprentices
• Handled the tasks of general preventative building maintenance, repair of air conditioning, janitorial and light heater
• Responsible for the troubleshooting, inspecting and validating the repairs as per the requirements of home owners or association
• Handled the tasks of maintaining janitorial supplies that includes ordering, inventory controls and supply pick up • Responsible for assisted board members in conducting interviews with prospective landscaping vendors and construction
• Facilitated and scheduled repair problems that required third party vendor work
• Oversaw all contractual works that are provided by construction, landscaping and third part companies that includes approval of completed tasks and final inspection
• Handled the tasks of taking up preventive measurements for maintenance of building, pool, spa and common areas
• Took active part in various inspections programs with city and state inspectors – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gusser
sub-contractor (Current Employee), Richmond, VASeptember 22, 2013
Responsible for repairing basic plumbing issues
• Assisted plumber with sewage, piping and installation of various appliances
• Handled the tasks of repairing and locating leakages and broken pipes
• Drilled holes in floors and walls to accommodate passage of pipes
• Assisted in fitting vales, pumps and systems by making use of hand tools
• Helped plumbers – more... in replacing and repairing fixtures and performing rough-ins
• Supervised office work and trained apprentices
• Handled the tasks of general preventative building maintenance, repair of air conditioning, janitorial and light heater
• Responsible for the troubleshooting, inspecting and validating the repairs as per the requirements of home owners or association
• Handled the tasks of maintaining janitorial supplies that includes ordering, inventory controls and supply pick up • Responsible for assisted board members in conducting interviews with prospective landscaping vendors and construction
• Facilitated and scheduled repair problems that required third party vendor work
• Oversaw all contractual works that are provided by construction, landscaping and third part companies that includes approval of completed tasks and final inspection
• Handled the tasks of taking up preventive measurements for maintenance of building, pool, spa and common areas
• Took active part in various inspections programs with city and state inspectors – less