Trans World Entertainment Employee Reviews

Showing all 43 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAJune 14, 2017
I mostly worked there seasonally or part-time, it was at best an okay job there was but there was always a mess to clean up after kids and parent who didn't care the typical retail job in a small town
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees undervalued
Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 6, 2017
Employees are undervalued. Very hard to maintain top talent.
little support from home office. Environment can feel unsafe, for example removing security guards from high shrink stores.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Senior Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKDecember 17, 2016
Good place to work at, and enjoyed all staff and management over my time there. Would recommend to anyone seeking a new opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you like Pop Culture and Music
Second Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHNovember 3, 2016
This was an FYE inside of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Very different from other FYE stores, but still very music oriented. It was a high volume store with a great deal of traffic flow. You got to listen to music all day long and meet a lot of interesting visitors, and a few popular musicians too!
Pros
Meal discounts, meeting celebrities
Cons
Short breaks, unfair compensation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A simple warehouse job
Picker (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYApril 18, 2016
The job itself was simple and straight forward. It involved picking products off of a line to package and send out. The full time position had forced overtime often and with another job in mind I left the day I was due to become full time. The environment was friendly and most of my coworkers were helpful/kind. I am not built for physical labor and had to quit when i was due to be full time however the job was enjoyable and it kept me active.
Pros
easy
Cons
physical labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 18, 2016
Company no longer exists but it was a blast while it was around. Great first job, great for entry level skills and experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working environment
stocker / picker (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYMarch 4, 2016
a typical day at work is cutting boxes and stocking the products in the correct location. sometimes i have to help unload the trucks if they need extra help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYFebruary 12, 2016
Great people to work with and to move up from with in the company.Started in the Distribution Center and moved in to the office.
Pros
Free stuff
Cons
Entertainment Inustry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used To Be 4.5 Stars But Falling Fast
XXXXX (Former Employee) –  XXXXXJanuary 25, 2016
Trans World Entertainment is the only music/movie retailer still standing. This is because of the hard work of the teams in the stores despite the continuing turn over of upper management and CEOs at the corporate level. A typical day is customer service, selling, stocking and the basics of organization and cleaning. Customer interaction and team interaction is the best part of the job. The company has added many new product lines to make up for slowing music and movie sales. They have also incorporated what many call phantom money to add to the bottom line. This includes product replacements, magazine subscriptions and several discount cards. The company now places more emphasis on these non-products than they do on actual material items. The employees get no commission on these products and starting salary is minimum wage. The company has also eliminated most full time positions. Part time positions consist of 5-10 hours a week. You could make more money doing less work at about any other retailer.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Few hours; Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst retailer
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJanuary 13, 2016
Worst company I have ever worked for. The pay is horrible & they treat employees horribly. New Jersey was once in a state of emergency, every other retailer in the area was close due to a coming hurricane. My DM would not let me close the store. No employees came to work except myself because my job was threatened.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fye
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MIJanuary 12, 2016
Worked with a great group of people and also had a great management staff. With a knowledge in Movies, Music, and Games work was enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a fun job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 22, 2015
I was responsible for opening or closing so we had flexible schedules, my boss always made sure he show me new things and pointed out how i can improve my performance.My co workers were fun the environment was fun. Looking for songs for the customer made them happy therefore made me happy.
Pros
I was updated with all new music and movies.
Cons
Saying goodbye to associates I worked with for years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place, loved the music industry.
Asst.Manager/Manager (Former Employee) –  South Williamson, KYJuly 27, 2015
I had the most fun ever working here. It was the only music store in the area. We did lots of business and made lots of friends. It was a great environment. Who wouldn't love listening to loud music all day.
Pros
My co-workers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Management position
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 27, 2015
Great place to work with a great environment. Employees worked hard a pushed to meet daily goals. Location was awesome as well as the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for a bit
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Scranton, PAMay 22, 2015
Lots to do and not a lot of payroll. Behind the times and was playing catch-up for a long time. Maybe they will get things right now that they have a new CEO.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Structure
General Manager (Former Employee) –  CaMay 12, 2015
No clear vision. Continuously trying to fix issues that do not exist rather than focusing on the business at hand and finding solutions for existing issues.
Pros
Generous discount
Cons
No job/life balance or growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FYE Day
2nd Asst. Manager (Current Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSJanuary 4, 2015
A typical day consists of going through the store planner to set things accordingly and adding the new shipment into the system/store along with being courteous and helpful to customers. Management and co-workers are knowledgeable about products and new entertainment.
Pros
Weekly Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working experiance
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYDecember 21, 2014
Good basic security position. Not much advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail with a fun product line.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNNovember 5, 2014
Sales is the key at TWEC, but the product as well as corporate structure make it easy to succeed!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dinosaur company on it's last leg.
General Manager (Former Employee) –  DelawareSeptember 25, 2014
Was a really fun and lucrative industry 20 years ago. Now it's a small company desperately clinging to life. Pay and benefits are awful. Upper management is readily available but rendered useless by a quickly diminishing support staff at corporate level. Easy to get hired and promoted right now as even the rats are starting to jump ship. Plan on looking for new work in 5 years. If not sooner....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Trans World Entertainment. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

Trans World Entertainment Reviews by Location