Find companies:
TransAm Trucking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

TransAm Trucking Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thankful to Have a Job In this Economy
Trucker (Current Employee), Olathe, KSFebruary 26, 2013
I have read the reviews from others and there are more good benefits for being with TransAm Truck than bad. It's always the bad reviews that get posted. But I am just thankful for TransAm and don't see why people would complain about having a decent job with one of the top trucking companies in the country.

The compensation is not a million dollars – more... a year, but that's okay. It was fair pay for fair work. I felt valued and my questions were always answered. I don't know if advancement opportunities are good but I have a plan of my own so really can't rate it.

My manager was good. Some things were out of his hands but he tried to take care of me and other drivers on the road.

The downside was that I was gone a lot but that's the nature of trucking. You are gone, traveling wide and far. I am surprised to see so many people complain about being away from home. It's trucking for pete's sake! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice modern condo type trucks
Student Truck Driver (Current Employee), Olathe, KSJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: far from florida
In training period, nice employer to work for. I drive a 2009 Kenworth T660 Automatic Truck. It's real easy to drive and has a special equipped GPS monitoring system that is reliable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
their really great
Olathe, Ks-Truck driver (Former Employee), olathe, ksJanuary 22, 2013
1st off their automatics
2nd they make sure you know how to back and that is a very important in trucking
3rd they will make sure when your really to hit the road then you safe and ready
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
OTR Driver (Former Employee), Olathe, KSDecember 28, 2012
After the normal driving routine, we find it difficult getting loads. Also management is poor. I never had any enjoyable moment there in my workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company to start your Proffesional Driver career
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Olathe, KSDecember 24, 2012
Pros: driver manager (at least mine)
Cons: pay, home time, lease program, only 2 terminals nationwide, no scanners in trucks, sattelite system and e logs terrible
I went to work with TA after ask many times to the recruiter about home time due to I am member of the Army National Guard, in addition to this because they offered me the VA Apprenticeship which meant an additional income for veterans. At the orientation in Rockwall TX, the only terminal they have in the nation besides the main terminal in Olathe, – more... KS, the personnel were really good and the accommodations as well, but nobody knew much about the VA Apprenticeship program, then when I started driving the flip the script on me saying that it wasn't possible for me to be at home twice a month when that was the first thing I asked and one of the main reasons after searching for companies that I made my decision to sign with them. Anyway home time is terrible, lease program they didn't harass me much on that due to National Guard status, but everybody else in my group were push so hard on that to the point that they ended up doing it, I saw some of the guys over the road and all of them were disappointed with that program most of the money goes to all the stuff they have to pay weekly i.e. truck payment, insurance and all that..., I left the company almost four months later due to the fact that it was conflicting with my monthly drills and family time and till today I haven't receive a single dime from the VA program because according with VA, TA never did the proper paperwork, and when I contacted TA they told me that they are not working that program anymore and left me in the air. Pay sucks, and they don't care if you leave cause for one driver who quits after dealing with their BS they have 20 new drivers coming in that doesn't know anything about them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Job
Owner lease operator of tractor trailer (Current Employee), Olathe, KSDecember 23, 2012
Work all the time driving truck
Away from home most of the month
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tractos trailer driver
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Battleboro, NCOctober 20, 2012
the job had me sitting for days trying to find me a load, i only got 1 day month to see my fam

slipk3531 – December 24, 2012

I feel your pain, that was the reason why I quit, I'm in the National Guard and I asked them to come home twice a month and they told me No Problem, yeah right that was the catch, after the training they flip the script on me saying that I was only able to come home once a month.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Driver (Former Employee), Olathe, KSOctober 14, 2012
Pros: equipment, driver manager, running lanes
Cons: downtime, pay, hometime
TransAm was a great company in hindsight. Lease operator option was decent. Miles were hit and miss. Driver manager was great. Equipment was great. Just had issues as most drivers do getting home to FL at the time, base mile pay was lower than expected,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company
Lease driver (Current Employee), Olathe,KSSeptember 1, 2012
Cons: dishonest, predatory
Stay far away from this snake pit. Don't ever lease one of their trucks. You will make no money and never go home. The warranties on the truck and APU does not cover a lot of problems and the company will not go to bat for you. I'm at the end of a 4yr lease and its been them worst decision I've ever made. These people lie like crazy and the President – more... has his daughter running the Lease Dept. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great equipment, but a demanding away from family hometime policy.
Over The Road Truck Driver (Current Employee), Olathe, KSAugust 14, 2012
Ok place to start up your career. Training was short but thorough. Equipment was great. Hometime policy is 4 days a month use it or lose it, but dates were hard to lock down a month in advance. Company drivers cannot get Thanksgiving or Christmas off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience of my life
Driver (Former Employee), Rockwall, TXJuly 31, 2012
Pros: nice trucks
Cons: no miles, forced lease, inexperienced dispatchers, etc...
No miles, dispatchers don't care, only a number, forced into a lease which only makes them money.
Stay away

Glykon – June 17, 2013

Kansas is a right to work state. Basically if you dont jump when they say jump your brought back into the terminal under the guise of getting a load....thrown out of your truck and fired. You are nothing than a number and easily replaceable. "Many more where you came from" is their motto. Stay away

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned how to be a better manager at TransAm Trucking
Fleet Manager (Current Employee), Rockwall, TXJune 4, 2012
A typical day at TransAm was learning about what had transpired throughout the night with our drivers and the on time delivery of our freight to our customers. Every aspect of the day revolves around what can transpire between our freight being delivered on time and the various obstacles that come up and effect this aspect of our business. The management – more... style was that of an ever changing one, as I have learned to manage several different personalities from drivers over the road, to my employees and upper management and conversing with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work "Great Trucks"
OTR Class A Driver (Former Employee), (Home termina) Olathe KansasJanuary 31, 2012
Pros: great trucks, repairs done in a timely manner, safety 1st, excellent miles
Cons: time away from family, poor dispatcher comunication, improper handleing of home time
I loved working for Trans Am .. My only problem was with my dispatcher. I was approved for my home time and then sent to FL where there are no loads coming out. I was let go for refusing to drive empty from FL to Kansas to get a load. There was closer loads that would have still got me home for my already approved home time. My Dispatcher did a poor – more... job of routing loads to get me home.
But over all I loved the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The top provider of logistics to the music industry.
Truck driver (Former Employee), London U.K.December 9, 2013
Pros: good company with hotels provided.
Cons: no cons you just worked hard
A varied and interesting job driving all over Europe and Russia.

About TransAm Trucking

No, TransAm Trucking isn't that movie where Burt Reynolds helps haul beer from Texas to Georgia -- that was Smokey and the Bandit. – Read more