TransCanada Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intensively focused on project management and implementation
Project Manager renewables (Former Employee) –  Westborough, MAJanuary 29, 2016
*Daily control of project execution.
*Taking a hands on approach and assuming nothing.......must see. *Control all aspects of the projects.
*Provide qualified co-workers with the authority and responsibility to be successful.
*Maintaining a team spirit by respecting individual opinions.
*Watching the Project Team-Work
Pros
Excellent Company to work for: benefits, salary, work scope, and management
Cons
The training schedule can be over done
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transcanada - Good beneftis
Accountant II-Planning & Cost Accounting (Former Employee) –  Downtown Houston TexasJanuary 3, 2016
Company is Canadian owned with excellent benefits. Management less likely to empower subordinates. Hardest part of job was witnessing the LACK OF TEAMWORK. Best part is learning new processes and the volunteer opps..
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits
Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  Harrisville, RIJanuary 20, 2016
TransCanada keeps salaries and benefits at the high end of the industry. The total compensation package is excellent.
Pros
Good compensation
Cons
Need to invest more in maintaining infrastructure
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYFebruary 1, 2016
They are a Power plant company, they okay to work, they paid an average salary , but they lay people off, I have nothing else to write
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High standards in paying attention to federal pipeline regulations.
Electronic Data Specialist (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNMay 2, 2016
Very regimen oriented work day. Daily morning meeting to share new developments and progress reporting. A small team for a very large project. Supervision was very demanding leading to great production in a short amount of time. The most enjoyable part of the job was working on a highly controversial pipeline project.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to be with
B Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Long Island cityJuly 3, 2014
This company is great. A lot of benefits and room for growth. Pay is good. Overtime is plenty. The only complaint I would have is management and how they micro manage. Nothing is prioritized and job planning is a joke. Calgary has no idea what really goes on in this power plant.
Pros
free lunch, constant raises, benefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
E, I and C Measurement Technician (Former Employee) –  Cushing, OKJanuary 23, 2016
I enjoyed my job there, just got caught in a corporate restructure.
The people that I worked with were wonderful.
There are lots of good people there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Procurement Specialist (Current Employee) –  HoustonNovember 12, 2014
Amazing Culture and Benefits. Constantly Growing and great work / life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company with excellent people
Server Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 27, 2014
A collaborative atmosphere with opportunities to work on challenging projects. People are very friendly and are genuinely interested in making things better.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
too many processes
Was this review helpful?Yes15No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance
Resource Learning Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 15, 2015
TransCanada was a good place to work. Typical work days were productive but allowed for socialization with coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun co workers
manager (Former Employee) –  TexasNovember 2, 2015
Great co workers and always something to work on. Need better training though. The work area can get noisy. I learned a lot about natural gas accounting.
Pros
work is interesting
Cons
late days sometimes - esp at end of month
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Disconnected From Employees
Pipeliner (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma, TexasMay 18, 2015
Management is disconnected from the employees and does not really understand what is going on in the field. There are too many employees skating by and pencil whipping work. There is no balance of work for the employees. Once people learn the system, they learn how to get around actually doing the work, when it is easier just to get the work done.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Lazy employees, disconnected management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and independent
I & E Tech (Current Employee) –  GlasgowSeptember 29, 2015
It was a good job, just looking for something different that will suit the Instrumentation and control side of things more.
Pros
Independent
Cons
not much instrumentation work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging project having 7 field offices over which I was assistant Land Manager.
Asst Land Mgr - Keystone Pipeline Project (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOAugust 10, 2015
Challenging project having 7 field offices over which I was assistant Land Manager. I enjoyed hands on with each agent, and creating interaction with new processes I created.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with skilled co workers
Support / PC Analyst (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 1, 2015
I like the atmosphere in this company. I found that alot of the people are very skilled and dependable. I learned alot working here and they have very competitive salaries
Pros
Great co workers, knowledgable staff
Cons
Some managers are not knowledgable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is disconnected & out of touch with employees
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 12, 2012
Management does not speak to or acknowlege employees.
Much time is wasted in meetings that had nothing to do with my job.
Supervisor constantly complained that we were behind without taking into account that we were down one person due to an illness & would not allow overtime.
Management could not decide what priority was most important.
Supervisor had favorites & did not acknowledge our efforts to get caught up. Management did not have a clue as to what our jobs entailed and wasn't interested in learning.
Any decision has to be deferred to Canada.
Good co-workers.
I really enjoyed my job. The time flew by because we were so busy.
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
contract employees are treated as non persons
Was this review helpful?Yes64No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Experience
Employee (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 23, 2014
TransCanada is a great company to work for, the environment is mostly friendly. A change in management presented communication barriers.

There are many inconsistencies amongst the existing departments and the Canadian sector runs things much differently than the US and Mexico sectors.

The areas that present the most challenge are: internal communication, employee development.

Overall, the company has more positives than negatives and is very diverse.
Pros
great networking and community involvement
Cons
no personal growth, inconsistent management styles
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work atmosphere
Field Supervisor / Contract Manager (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYMay 20, 2015
The typical day begins with a morning meeting to cover the detailed work for the day, employees work to complete the task at hand and work in a safe manner at all times
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workday at TransCanada
Environmental Department Intern (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 10, 2015
TransCanada is a wonderful place to work. I work to help the Environmental group organize their compliance calendars and assist them in remediation.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working downtown
Pipeline Integrity Group (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 4, 2015
Enjoyed working downtown, Great location with cheap parking close to the office. Connected to tunnel system.

Not a great place for contractors.
Pros
great location
Cons
work full day on fridays
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 63 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6