TRANSFIRST Employee Reviews

Showing all 46 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With patience you can succeed
Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  Orange County, CAJune 26, 2017
A wonderful industry to give you an income with freedom but you do need to have patience when trying to learn the industry with this company. It took my manager two months to get me basic training information, fortunately I'm a fast learner and was able to find what i need to survive through other outlets. Transfirst is only for the ambitious and hardworking, anything less and you won't make it.
Pros
i make my own schedule
Cons
internal employee help is minimal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Franklin, TNJune 7, 2017
Bad Management - commodity product
Awful management. High pressure
Tel-sales with pressure
This place isn't going to stay in business very much longer because it's run so badly
Pros
Na
Cons
Bad Management - commodity product Awful management. High pressure Tel-sales with pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and meet people
Ops Rep II/Conversion Group (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, COAugust 17, 2016
I was given a great experience; gives a different outlook to the industry and what to expect. Wonderful location and great shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Back Office Support (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, COJuly 10, 2016
awful it is like being in high school taunting worst job ever. I was there one month went through 2 mangers which both had no experience of the company. They like to play favorites.
Pros
none
Cons
drama no communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has a lot of potential
TSYS Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, COMay 25, 2016
TransFirst has a lot of potential but they do not value their managers. Everything is on fire and the requirements change by the minute. There is no work life balance and you pretty much have a start time with no end time. They have good intentions but cannot think ahead to make things easier.
Pros
Great Benefits!
Cons
Need a long term plan to implement ideas and not spur of the moment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of calling, low commissions
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COMay 24, 2016
8 hour workday with up to a 1 hour lunch (off the clock).
Make calls to merchants that TransFirst has a relationship with.
The first couple of months you will mostly be making cold calls, but you will receive some relationship leads as you progress. You are not micromanaged, but you are expected to hit your quota. After your 6 month "ramp", you will have to close 8 new accounts or you will NOT be paid any commission. You are only paid $100 per account is approved. Then there is some money in leasing equipment, activation and a small residual on accounts processing.

It is your typical phone sales, cubicle office environment. There is a nice mix of people. Dress is business casual normally. Management is fine. The hardest part of the job is getting sales closed enough to make a good amount of money. You need to close over 15 accounts per month and lease some equipment to make enough income.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the people you work with.
The amount of calls you make and your talk time is important to hit the your quota each day. However, there are days when you make many calls without connecting with a person at the that makes decisions. You have to be willing for people to hangup on you.

TransFirst was recently acquired by TSYS. It is undetermined what that will mean as far as more earning potential.
Pros
Free food, games, contests, vacation and sick paid time off.
Cons
Low pay compared to other inside sales jobs. Lack of transparency and integrity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great environment.
Procurement Manager (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, COMay 17, 2016
TransFirst is a great company. Everyone works hard but there is a good work/life balance. Management is excellent and so are my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress High Rewards Workplace
CORPORATE ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (Former Employee) –  Cypress, CAFebruary 23, 2016
This is a place where anyone with an aptidute for sales can come and learn a very lucrative business. Prior experience in sales is a must. Ability to overcome objections is crucial.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company started out great, until the acquisition was sought after
Senior Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Southwest IllinoisFebruary 22, 2016
Upper management began to cut the sales reps pay, after the first 4 years, in an effort to make the company more equitable, as they sought out a purchase/acquisition or public holdings. Once the pay cuts began, employment cuts began soon thereafter. They fired long-term and very tenured individuals for reasons that do were not substantiated. Top-producers began getting fired or pushed into quitting.
Pros
Pay before the cuts
Cons
Upper management only interested in having company go public
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not worth the pay
Tech support 2 (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, CODecember 13, 2015
handle 60+ calls a day and forced to do work over your pay
Management doesn't care if you are sick
No solidified attendance policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report

Want to know more about TRANSFIRST?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great place to work
Leasing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, CONovember 30, 2015
I enjoy helping the sales reps, ensuring they get their commissions each month. I manage the relationship between the two corporations. Very stressful and keeps me busy.
Pros
I work from home
Cons
I would like to make more money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, Busy, Busy
Operations Representative (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, COJuly 9, 2015
You are constantly busy, at all time. The biggest upside is the trainers and the pay. The trainers do as good a job as they can given the current position and status of the call center, however, the environment can feel hostile, like everyone is using you to get ahead in their positions.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Schedule, Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
must be self motivated
Account Executive/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cypress, CAJuly 7, 2015
Making out bound cold calls
typing up proposals
attending team meetings
obtaining financial statements from prospective clients
managers are hands on but they don't hover
Pros
supportive environment
Cons
commission based pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh, its a living
Programmer (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, COMay 22, 2015
standard archaic company stuck on the idea that being present is being productive. When I was getting hired, was going to be at 50 or so an hour contract, but immediately brought me to full permanent and cut me down to 85k per year.
Pros
decent medical, good people
Cons
bad apps, poor business planning, horrid understanding of living a life outside of work and family needs
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company with opportunity for growth
Corporate Trainer II (Current Employee) –  Cypress, CAMay 4, 2015
I have enjoyed building experience and demonstrating successful results at TransFirst. The company continues to grow, and the recent acquisition is helping the organization develop.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold as a morgue enviroment
Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, COFebruary 23, 2015
No encouragement. The only rewards for doing a job well done and working 60-80 hours a week was you weren't the one fired this week. Management rules by fear.
Pros
Work from home, great benefits
Cons
You'll be afraid to take any of those vacation days you get off...
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work on projects
Conversion Representative (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, COJanuary 28, 2015
Check voicemail/return any messages.
Out bound calls to customers.
Co-Workers are great.
Hardest part of the job getting a hold of customers(playing phone tag)
Work flow was good,got to work in your own cubicle.
Pros
environment was peaceful
Cons
attendance policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a very good company. High stress with high rewards.
Senior Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Franklin, TNJanuary 24, 2015
I learned how to qualify potential clients very quickly and assess their needs. I also became very proficient at closing business and formulating the appropriate solution for my clients as well as servicing them on an ongoing basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Merchant Services
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, COJanuary 15, 2015
TransFirst was a fast paced, call center driven merchant center. The employees are among the best merchant service providers in the US.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So far so good
Marketing (Current Employee) –  NYNovember 7, 2014
I am fairly new to the company but received the best training by far of any company I've worked for. Coworkers are so helpful and pleasant. No divas!
Pros
Decent pay, good benefits, auto 401k, 9-530 hours
Cons
Financial industry a little boring. Everyone fearful of sr mgmt
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TRANSFIRST. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.3
Management
2.4
Culture
2.4