Transocean Employee Reviews in United States

Found 90 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High risk and reward
Assistant Subsea Supervisor/Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 10, 2016
Great pay and benefits, lots of time off Work hard, get dirty. Unstable environment industry wide makes it fairly unstable at the moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is good.
Electronic and Instrumentation Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 13, 2016
Politics and overbearing paperwork makes doing simple jobs a huge task. Silly non essential steps are put in-place to cover the company in case of a mishap. This leaves the employee with no support from the company.
Pros
Pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rig based position, 12 hours a day, 28 / 28 day rotation
Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 30, 2015
Good company to work for, shipboard colleagues were very diverse, from several different countries who were exciting to work with and learn about their cultures. Compensation was decent, probably the most difficult thing about the position was getting in and out of the country we were working in. The best part about the position was the people and their willingness to teach new skills with various equipment.
Pros
Good learning environment
Cons
Travel and travel time
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Execellet work place
Storekeeper (Former Employee) –  many countriesFebruary 21, 2016
This was the best company I ever worked for, at the beguining I was pleased to work with the best managers ever, but at the end they were all left the company or relocated, good managers make good employees and we all missed that.
Pros
Good package all the way
Cons
Not good Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is decent not a lot of advancement opportunities
Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 17, 2015
Benefits are alright. No room for advancement. Not an employee centric company. Don't expect them to care about you. I like my manager, but I've heard it's not so great in other departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Present rig has great work environment and family atmosphere.
Chief Electronic Tech (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 4, 2015
Working on offshore drilling rigs is very challenging and can stretch your troubleshooting skills to the max. I have been on my present rig for over 5 years and still learn something new each hitch. Transition is a great place to work, has an excellent safety culture and great pay and benefits.
Pros
All aspects from pay to training to saftey to benefits are pros
Cons
Low price of oil and lack of off shore drilling.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World travel
Chief Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  World WideJanuary 29, 2016
This was varied work rotation some 14/14 some 21/21 as well as 28/28.
This is where I started offshore and learned the offshore culture and life.
The co-workers were always there to assist.
The job was never boring always a new learning opportunity.
Pros
Always good equipment
Cons
Tight on expense for maintenance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Rig Safety / Training Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 18, 2016
I worked with a lot of very great people offshore, compensation is on par for the industry.
The downturn in the oil industry has a lot of people out of work, Transocean laid off a lot of people based on who you know not what your know or work performance.
Management doesn't seem to have a path forward but is always reacting to the next "crisis" doesn't seem to have a vision for the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with lots of time off
Roustabout (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 10, 2016
Work three weeks on then had three weeks off. 12.5 hour days with two 15 minute breaks and a 30 minute break to eat. Coming out of the military I knew what outstanding leadership looked like. While there were some good leaders on the rig, many were in the position they were in because they had put in the time.
Pros
Lots of time off and good benifits.
Cons
Shortage of quality supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has Good and Bad
Maintenance Supervisor/Senior Electrician (Former Employee) –  InternationalJuly 8, 2016
Long work days and long travel when working international. Overall an excellent opportunity. Some rigs may have a bit of micro management trouble, however this is just an example of various conversations and abilities a person gets to show and improve on.
Pros
excellent pay
Cons
long time away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everybody is aware about safety,we are working in safe and good manner condition
ELECTRICIAN (offshore) (Former Employee) –  west africaJune 1, 2016
The company management is very high in safety,specialy for the employee.
we are stying on the rig,which is our 2nd home.
Everybody is helpful and participating in safety awareness.
Pros
we are staying on the rig
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for and great employees.
Crane operator (Former Employee) –  Gulf of MexicoApril 26, 2016
The most rewarding part of my job was at the end of the 21 days. I was able to look back and see what we, as a crew, were able to accomplish. In the end we all went home knowing that we did it safe and were able to meet or exceed all of our goals.
Pros
Meeting new people.
Cons
Lack of communication between departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed developing and delivering Safety Processes
Senior Corporate QHSE Advisor (Former Employee) –  WorldwideMay 19, 2016
Being the International Training manager and the Manager of Safety and Training my biggest achievement was seeing the incident rates reduced dramatically through hard work and determinatuion
Pros
Success
Cons
More time needed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Toolpusher (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 27, 2015
I learned a lot at Transocean not only about Drilling and Completion operations but Safety Management and Safety Culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get a start in the oilfield business
A.B. Seaman (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 30, 2016
I handled all safety aspects of the rig from the lifeboats to the fire extinguishers.
Was a good place to work and get my start in the industry. I cut my teeth and learned a lot from some great managers.
Pros
21 days of work-21 days off - living arrangement are handled while working
Cons
21 days away from civilization while at work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Assistant Derrickhand (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 28, 2016
Transocean has some of the problems that really large companies have but they seemed to care about us and our families.
Pros
Work half of the year
Cons
Hard work, sweat equity a plus
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent pay
Materials Coordinator (Former Employee) –  GOMAugust 11, 2016
Transocean isa good company to work for but upper management need to be more constant with their decisions. I learned a good deal about supply chain management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company with great people
Sr. Computer Tech (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 9, 2016
A very good company to work for. I enjoyed working there.
My job was both challenging and rewarding. The people I worked with
where like family.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quality equipment
Driller (Former Employee) –  Angola, AfricaJuly 26, 2016
Transocean provided state of the art equipment to work with. Provided safety and technical tools needed for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Floorhand/Motorman (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 2, 2016
Great place to work. It was 21\21 in the Gulf of Mexico on an Ultra Deepwater Drillship. The most enjoyable part of this job was the set schedule I knew when I was gonna be at work and when I was going home.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 211 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1