Find companies:
Transwest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Transwest Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply unless you want to be lied to.
OPE (Former Employee), FountainMay 19, 2014
Pros: good co-workers at the store level.
Cons: pay, benefits, work/life balance, micromanagment beyond belief.
When I was hired, I was told I had a Salary plus commission job, in fact that is how they advertise it. Do not be fooled, this is a 100% commission job. You will work endless hours attempting to obtain there ridiculous goal of sales. Claims of endless leads were a mirage. I worked endlessly prospecting showing 30% growth in new business month after – more... month and received no commission. In fact when I questioned it due to them advertising base plus commission, they explained to me that I owe them money because it is actually 100% commission structure. The Parts Managers have no actual power and management above them cares very little for there employees unless you are hitting the goal. Getting activity on account maintenance takes weeks, follow through on pricing takes a minimum of 3-5 days because one man requires everything goes through him. If your customers need something immediately, your screwed. I have seen price requests go months without being approved. I was promised customer leads galore. There was nothing but old lists from "customers" that had done little to no business with Transwest, and the ones that did had nothing good to say. I was questioned about stops made due to GPS. Assumptions were made because they couldn't electronically track your stuff. I guess 30% growth isn't a good way to track a sales person. If I were you, I would not get involved in this mess. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run from this place dont walk
employee (Current Employee), Denver, COMay 9, 2014
Pros: paycheck....and that's it.
Cons: management is horrible, pay is worse
This multifaceted "company" is poorly ran. The owner rarely coverses with employees, thus perpetuating an indentured servitude atmosphere. The other managers use an opposite approach and micromanage to ridiculous lengths. As an employee you are told if you dont like any aspect of your job "there are 20 other people waiting for your job". In this company – more... you are definitely a number and not a human being. Should you choose to sign on despite this glowing review expect mulitple undelivered promises, unwanted/unexpected schedule changes that will not be in your favor. Prepare to be overworked and underpaid. There is a reason this company has a massive turnover rate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no benefits.room for advancement
Independent Contractor (Current Employee), Sacramento californiaMarch 23, 2014
Pros: set salary
Cons: no benfits.
i have been working for an owner operator since July 2013 and i been promoted lead driver after 2 months. The OWNER/CEO never keeps promises and leads me on as far as finding me better routes and consistent home-time. i wanted to switch jobs once and when employers would call him he would tell them the person who verify s employment is out of the country..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
POOR COMPANY TO WORK FOR TREAT YOU LIKE JUST ANOTHER #
TECH (Former Employee), COLORADOJuly 2, 2013
Pros: fellow techs helpful
Cons: micro managed, everthing is a two year contract or pay back everything
YOU COME TO MAKE MONEY AND THEY FIND WAYS TO CHEAT YOU OUT OF YOUR HOURS. THAEY MICRO MANAGE YOU AT THIS DEALER ALWAYS LOOKING OVER YOUR SHOULDER AND RUSHING YOU TO FIX THE TRUCKS WITHOUT THE RIGHT PARTS AND TOOLS POOR MANGEMENT ON SERVICE SIDE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ran like there first time opening a dealership
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), Fountain, COMay 8, 2013
Pros: lower level employees worked well together
Cons: healthcare benefits, upper management
This is from another employee. I agree with the previous post. If you like to work for a company that has no communication and is micromanaged from the top, then this is the right place to work. The only good thing about this company is your co-workers, almost all of them are good to work with and help out when possible. It seems to me, management runs – more... every shop like it is their first shop (Fountain). One shop, Denver, carries all the parts and for some reason won’t let other shops, Fountain, carry the same parts which takes business away. No tools until you need them; unless it is for certain engines that you hardly see anymore then they don’t get the tools at all CAT. Even if the engines will be out on the road for the next 10 to 15 years. The health benefits cost the employee too much and you can get insurance elsewhere cheaper. I have a suspicion that the difference in cost is to pay for upper managements benefits. If you need a letter of credible coverage, you have to ask HR not the insurance company. Does that sound right? It didn’t to me! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No communication, organization or respect for employees
prefer not to say at time (Current Employee), FrederickApril 18, 2013
Pros: co-workers
Cons: management, organization, communication, cost of health benefits
If you like to work for a company that has no communication and is micromanaged from the top, then this is the right place to work. The only good thing about this company is the co-workers, Almost all of them are good to work with and help out when possible.

The hardest aspect of working for Transwest (especially in Frederick) is the lack of organization – more... & communication. Things are done by the seat of their pants. There is no communication, if you do something wrong, there is no talking to the employee, you just get written up. Health benefits are high and deductibles are really high...almost not worth having. – less

May 8, 2013

This is from another employee. I agree with the previous post. If you like to work for a company that has no communication and is micromanaged from the top, then this is the right place to work. The only good thing about this company is your co-workers, almost all of them are good to work with and help out when possible. It seems to me, management runs every shop like it is their first shop (Fountain). One shop, Denver, carries all the parts and for some reason won’t let other shops, Fountain, carry the same parts which takes business away. No tools until you need them; unless it is for certain engines that you hardly see anymore then they don’t get the tools at all CAT. Even if the engines will be out on the road for the next 10 to 15 years. The health benefits cost the employee too much and you can get insurance elsewhere cheaper. I have a suspicion that the difference in cost is to pay for upper managements benefits. If you need a letter of credible coverage, you have to ask HR not the insurance company. Does that sound right? It didn’t to me!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting new people with ever site worked.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: paid on duty meal periods
Cons: working grave shift
A tyical day at work would be ariving on duty and relieving my co worker. My co worker would pass down any new information pertaining to our site. I would do a radio check with the radio to make sure it was in working order. The hardest part of my job would be the drive home. I enjoyed working with other people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with different challeges.
Shop Foreman (Former Employee), Grand Junction,ColoradoMarch 3, 2012
I really like working here you get to meet lots of different people.You also get the advantage to help people solve their problem.