Find companies:
Travel Traders
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Travel Traders Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace right next to Seaport Village
Gift Shop Sales Associate at Hyatt Hotel (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 22, 2014
Pros: employee discounts and discounted lunch in the hotel.
Travel Traders left me with new knowledge of retail and sales. Working in this professional environment taught me how to preform retail merchandising when receiving orders, processing them, and stocking them on the floor. This job task was a weekly thing that had to be completed in a very busy environment, so being quick on our feet was a must. As for – more... my co-workers I loved working with them. We where a team and worked together to complete any job task that was brought upon us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Stockroom Clerk (Current Employee), Grapevine, TXMarch 31, 2014
Pros: great team work
Cons: nothing
Great team work where we all contribute to promote sales, organize product, and we deliver great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dead- end job
sales associate (Former Employee), Nashville,TNMarch 13, 2014
Pros: 30% discount. meet new people
Cons: unprofessional managers, owners that dont care
if your just looking for some extra cash this company would be good for you, but there is no room for career advancement. The company does not have their employees backs and they do not take care of them. i was promised commission but 2 moths after i was supposed to get it they told us there was a miscommunication in home office and no one was getting – more... paid. you dont get paid enough for all the extra work (paperwork, inventory) that you have to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Associates and Customer Services (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 1, 2014
the place was sometimes very busy but intersting since meeting a lot of new faces every day makes me learn more about the culture and way of dealing with my jobs. the staff is very cooperative and we were helping and had a good time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
CASHIER (Former Employee), Newport Beach, CAFebruary 11, 2014
Travel Traders Inc is a productive work place. The guests are very friendly friendly and always puts a smile on your face. Every team member is nice and friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Compensation - unnecessary paperwork - good envirement - knowledgeble co workers - good chance to interact with public
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee), Sedona, AZJanuary 30, 2014
Strict management controls - over stocked gift shop - knowledgeable coworkers - good interaction with public. - oportunity to sell - many reports at night. Antiquated financial system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Sales Manager (Current Employee), Sacramento CAJanuary 29, 2014
Fun atmosphere in a hotel gift shop. The hours of operation are 7:00 a.m. to 11 p.m. seven days a week 365 days a year. It's great if you want to work a lot of hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun enviroment & a Great way to meet new people
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 29, 2014
Greeting customers, processed and finalized transactions, assisted customers with their decision on bakery goods, gifts, clothes and hot coffee beverages. Reconciled register before and after of shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable place to work for.
Gift shop/ Starbucks Supervisor (Former Employee), Rancho Mirage, CAJanuary 24, 2014
Travel Traders made this an intresting place where you interact with alot of guest from around the world. what made it fun was getting to know your guest who would stop at the gift shop for gifts for their loved ones or friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Learning Experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Boston, MADecember 26, 2013
Pros: 30% discounts on any item in store
Cons: short breaks
Travel Traders Gift/Coffee shop provided a well workplace. I was hired with-out any knowledge on retail. 1 Month later I was a team leader, I took on the responsibility as manager. I made Coca-cola Orders, Milk Orders, as well as Pastry orders. I made sure each invoice I received was put it in a file. I was in charge of daily transactions: cash/credit – more... cards. Management there was iffy, since ive been hired we've been through 3 managers. I enjoyed working at travel traders because I was able to have hands on training and took on team leader, where everything that needed to be done was all on me. I enjoy the challenges. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Manager (Current Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 27, 2013
Pros: parking getting pay for
Cons: gift shop stays open until 11:00 pm
A typical day at work would be ordering merchandise, assisting customers, restocking, ringing on register. I have been a manager for 16 years. I have four sales associate that work at the gift shop. Hardest part of job is when one of associate gets sick it falls on manager to cover the shift. The most enjoyable part of the job would be meeting customers – more... who visit the gift shop. We have people that visit hotel from other states and they are very nice to talk to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work at, understanding, flexible, patient
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Portland, ORAugust 7, 2013
Pros: everything
I want to start by saying I LOVED THIS JOB.

I generally closed the store, but my day usually started by taking inventory of alcohol, as well as ended with taking it again at closing. I was responsible for keeping the stock room and the sales floor clean, The refridgerators well stocked as well as the shelves, according to plannograms. On occasion I – more... was also responsible for recreating sales displays.I would have to run room charges by the front desk and checking ID on sales and room checks.

I learned more about time management, and to keep myself busy without constant supervision.

My manager and supervisor both were incredible, and so patient with me. They were so much fun to work with and to get to know.

My co-workers were just as amazing as my manager and supervisor.

The hardest part was the anxiety that I had caused myself on occasion, by overthinking everything concerning my paper work as I was learning how to process.

I loved my job in a whole, it was a great experience and was sad to leave. I would still be there, but a family emergency had occured, which affected my childcare. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to grow professionally, this is not the place for you.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMay 20, 2013
It's a good place to work part-time while studying or waiting for better opportunities. However, if you want to grow professionally, this is not the place for you. The work is easy to learn but the delegation of work load is not fair. I had a good relationship with my co-workers and my manager but the work culture can be challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of fun to meet tourists during you work time. seeing people from around the world.
sales, cashier, customer service (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 28, 2013
Pros: great environment within a hotel and friendly staff
Cons: part time job, with no opportunity to grow
Daily work including but not limited to stocking the floor with all the necessary merchandise. .
Treating providing customers with outstanding customer service, consulting with their product needs and finding solutions to best meet their consumer expectations. Answering phones, processing card transactions (debit, credit), operating on cash register, – more... (cash handling on daily basis) balancing the store at the end of the shift and running end of the day reports for the management. Responsible for product pricing and merchandise ordering. Also troubleshooting store operating software system if necessary. Contacting the store service providers for any issues or changes. Verifying customer phone orders and shipping the products to different addresses. Serving as a liaison between the non-English speaking customers and English speaking staff by interpreting from and to English/Russian/Armenian. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Cashier/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 2, 2013
I had a typical day@ work,. got to meet new people and all different types of people each and every day that I worked everyday.

how a store is ran day and night and on a daily basises- .

management was good when I first started, but after new management came in she started bring people in that use to work for her at another establishment.

I love – more... my co-workers they were wonderful, we worked as a team and worked together that is what I like about my co-workers.

no good benifits what so ever,

The people that came in and the stories they'd have to tell especially the baseball players and the out of state truck drivers the functions that went on, but mostly the people that I got to me I love it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empty Promises and Poor Management
Merchandising (Former Employee), Miami, FLNovember 25, 2012
constant promises made about salary reviews
bonus promised and changed the structure after the fact
long hours
poor systems
management have no back bone and will fire people to make up for their own mistakes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My years with Travel Traders
Area Manager (Current Employee), Seattle, WAAugust 20, 2012
The diversity, work flexibility, opportunity for advancement, company sales incentives, benefits, the variety of jobs that keeps you motivated , a fun place to work with where you interact with all people from all walks of life, a great and a professional management and opportunity for a potential growth in the company. These are reasons why I put my – more... 21 years of service in the company with love and dedication. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy in my Job.
Store Manager (Current Employee), Dallas TexasAugust 17, 2012
I have been with Travel Traders for many years. It has really been an enjoyable place to work with many opportunities. I started as a part time worker in New Orleans and I am now a manager in Dallas. I have worked in both hotel and airport locations. As with all companies there are ups and downs as business and economic trends change. I believe that – more... the management has been fair and has listened and addressed issues when I have questions or concerns. What I like about this job is that even after all these years, I am still challenged and learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great retail company to work for
Manager (Current Employee), CaliforniaAugust 16, 2012
Travel Traders has great opportunities for growth. Some of the current District Managers started out as sales associates and worked their way up within the company. Unlike a "big box" retailer, employees have a chance to be recognized and make a difference, instead of being treated like just another employee. This is a great company both for people – more... who are looking for a career in retail or just a good place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from here
Too many hats to count (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 21, 2012
The office has 100% turn over every few years, no salary increases and some difficult personalities to deal with on a daily basis. Nothing is based on performance only image. They can't even spell their web address on the link in the ad correctly so that should be a huge red flag.

About Travel Traders

Travel Traders is the largest independent operator of hospitality retail in the United States and Caribbean - consistently sought – Read more