Find companies:
TravelCenters of America, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

TravelCenters of America, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working enviornment
cashier (Former Employee), ontario ca.January 19, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: no breaks just 30 min lunch
loved my job here
you get so close to your customers and they become family
people think truckers are mean and nasty
but you get to know these men and women
from all over the world
if you get an opportunity to work at this
establishment
don't take it gor granted lik I did
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring All Around
Fuel Center Attendant (Current Employee), Jessup, MDNovember 22, 2013
All you do is sit and wait until your services are needed. The money's good but if you want to sit all day than this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Corporate Recruiter (Former Employee), OhioNovember 8, 2013
Cons: no room for advancement
Decent company.....dept. manager was very good about a work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new areas of a work field.
Parts Counter Representative (Former Employee), Baytown, TXOctober 23, 2013
Assisting clients with diesel truck parts that needed repairing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
little room for growth
Profit Center Manager (Former Employee), marengo,ilOctober 20, 2013
Pros: free meals loyal customer base group work enviroment
Cons: heathcare financial gain corporate attitude to employees
management is very much a profit first with out propper planning company non competitive pricing nonemployee friendly attitude though stated in their statuses and bylines,caring employees caring lower level non corporate manager good with thereory fails at implementing execution and helping with said execution
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company
cashier (Current Employee), redding caSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: discount on gas
Cons: none this place sucks. as soon as i get another job im out just like all the others.
They don't give you enough hours, everyone I worked with hates it, hates management.
People keep leaving and they get more part time people its a cycle.
You will be really unhappy here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment, detail oriented & multitasking required.
Dispatch & Logistics Agent (Current Employee), Westlake, OhioJune 28, 2013
A typical day at Travel Centers of America/RoadSquad Connect has a VERY fast paced environment. The ability to multitask, stay organized and pay attention details is an absolute requirement. RoadSquad Connect dispatches technicians out of various locations throughout the United States to breakdown locations provided by the customer. As an agent in this – more... call center, we are required to "set up" the road call as well as track the technician's arrival & completion of the work order. Notifications of ALL actions is provided to the customer via email and/or phone. The motto is "You break down - we show up." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepare to have no life
Bookkeeper (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNJune 19, 2013
Pros: good benefits if you're full-time only, laid back environment, lot of friends to make there
Cons: promotion is hard, part-timers don't receive benefits, part-timers can only receive up to 29 hours
Working for TA is great and lot of the people hired now there are usually part-time teenagers that don't care about their job or people that have been there forever and ever and don't want to go anywhere else. This is the perfect job for you if you want to be a cashier and are not really interested in moving up. If you are part-time you can only receive – more... up to 29 hours of work which means no benefits for you. It is unfortunate that by next year, if you do not have benefits then you will be fined around tax time. But if you work only 29 hours a week, you can't really afford it. So prepare to have no life, and possibly look for a second job while you're at it, and make sure you don't put that you can work any hours on your application. TA is looking for those who are committed to the job and are professional. You can't just go in, do the job and just go home. You're responsible for a large amount of your work which plays a big part in the store itself. Honestly, if you're a teenager looking for a summer job, I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS JOB. But if you're someone who is willing to put in the time given and is ok with working ANY SHIFT and is alright with being called in on what you thought was your day off. I would recommend this job; – less

July 11, 2013

Yes, part timers do get benefits. I know this because I work at a TA as a part timer.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, available, customer focused, excited team.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Barstow, CAMay 29, 2013
Pros: working in the stock room organizing
Cons: hard work
Description Responsible for providing excellent customer service , efficiently and accurately completing sales and service. I liked the people I worked with and liked my managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YOU DON'T WANT TO WORK HERE
asst general manager (Former Employee), bbloomsbury njApril 6, 2013
Pros: none...they are open 24 hours and expect you to be available
Cons: pay low benefits are awful hours over worked
I worked at Bloomsbury nj location and as soon as you use your voice to give an opinion they will make you miserable or fire you. I saw it done many many times. the pay is sub par and the benefits are terrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working enviroment
Inventory Control Expert (Current Employee), Hebron, OHMarch 23, 2013
It has it ups and downs but the people that you work with make the day go better and always there when you need them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They care about their employees
Truck Service General Manager (Former Employee), Rawlins, wyMarch 14, 2013
Pros: paid ase's, culture, management
Cons: home time
Being a technician was nice, they truly care about their customers and their employees. Once you get into management you don't get as many benefits and you lose a lot of your home time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
HR Coordinator (Former Employee), conleyFebruary 3, 2013
enjoyed it, pay could have been better, as well as benefits . overall was a fun environment very inviting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Janitorial (Former Employee), Clayton, INJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: full time
Cons: more money
work hard to keep customers and co workers satisfied.chemical awareness.management flexibility.coworkers content.needed more pay per hour,helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nasty
PORTER (Former Employee), Hudson, wiNovember 28, 2012
Customers were nasty. Employers would throw you under the bus in a heartbeat to save their own butts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped me learn many skills and loved the people I worked with.
Shop Assistant Manager (Former Employee), 802 e yorkOctober 23, 2012
Pros: learned great leadeship skills.
Cons: not enough employees.
Never knew what day by day would bring,so always took every day with a positive mind.I learned many great skills and keep wanting to learn more to open my path in business.Loved the co-workers I worked with.The hardest part of my job was to let other employees free after training.The most enjoyable part was always making sure my coustomers left in a – more... happy satisfied mood. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Mechanic (Former Employee), Effingham ilOctober 17, 2012
Cons: management, ethics, unqualified techs
Management is a joke. Worked for this outfit for less than six months and in that time i seen more favoritism towards the big mouth mechanics that knew everthing that never would man up to there mistakes. I seen more good technicans leave or get fired just because they refused to upsell un needed services. They want unskilled people who want to be called – more... a mechanic and work for 10.00 an hr. Working at the truck-o-mat does not qualify a person as a mechanic – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Site Accounting Representative (Current Employee), Milan, New MexicoJune 26, 2012
Pros: benefits, and maintained schedule
Cons: working without a pt helper
9-5 office job.. Daily deposits, data entry, filing, Accounts Payable.. I learned a lot of good skills at this job. The Management was good and easy to work along side. I met alot of good people and have many lasting friendships with co-workers. The hardest part of the job was working 7 months straight. The enjoyable part was all the good experiences – more... that I had being part of Travel Centers of America. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is terrible
Facility Maintenance Tech (Former Employee), London OhioJune 17, 2012
Pros: discount on items and food.
Cons: management has favorites.
Management does not care how you do or get the job done. They expect unrealistic results in the amount of time given to you to complete tasks. Upper management does not have your back in the general manager does not get along with the employees. Pay is not bad, but benefits are not good. You only get 4 paid holidays and that is only if you work it. – more... This a terrible place to work for. Stay away from this company if you want to succeed. This company sets you up for failure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good shop that exposed me to all different sectors of the repair industry
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), Jessup, MDApril 17, 2012
Pros: busy shop also they payed a good percentage, paid for training and certifications
Cons: no heat in the winter the bay doors stayed opened, had to work 24 hours a few times, forced to work 6 days a week, shop equipment was sub par
Preventive maintenance service, tire repairs, Electrical repair,Road side service repairs.The Management wasn't really professional. I enjoyed my co workers they made the job fun and they always were will to lend a hand when requested.