Find companies:
TravelCenters of America, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

TravelCenters of America, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Westlake, OHOctober 23, 2014
Pros: friendly, fun atmosphere
Cons: can't think of any
TA was such a great place to work. Everyone was so friendly there. Since I worked at the corporate office we got to test lots of things that went into the travel locations. They also had many employee perks such as a gym in the basement, giveaways to local events at Quicken Loans Arena, Browns Stadium or at Cleveland Indian's games. Also had monthly – more... employee meetings to recognize birthdays or anniversaries of working with the company complete with cake. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Cashier (Current Employee), Eloy, AZSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: low pay, no benefits, part time
A typical day at work for me would include:
- Handling cash, credit/debit, and check transactions.
- Cleaning (hot dog roller, coffee machines, floors, fountain machine, restrooms, and taking out the trash)
- Stocking inventory
- Receiving orders

Since I started working at TA I've learned:
- About the different types of payment that truckers can use
- – more... How to accept those different types of payments
- How to receive inventory
- How to use the CAT Scale

The management at TA is great they treat everyone with respect and work with everyone's schedule the best they can. They want to help new hires learn everything about the job before putting them out on the floor by themselves. If you have any problems they are always there to help in anyway they can!

My co-workers are awesome, we all work together to keep the place running as smooth as possible for one another.

The hardest part of the job is remembering everything in the beginning, you have to be on top of a lot of different things. For instance trucker's are allowed up to $300 dollar check cashing for free only if they get 50 gallons of fuel, otherwise they have to pay a fee.

The most enjoyable part of my job is all of the great people I work with, and being able to be home with my kids! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Truck Service Advisor (Current Employee), Laredo, TXSeptember 17, 2014
on a daily basis, i would come in to work. set myself up on the shop
counter. did my cash drawer verification, followed up with the off going advisor. greet customers along my shift which started at 12am and ended at 8 am. entered drivers request for repair or maintenance on company or drivers equipment on a work order. i informed customers of diagnosis – more... and provided repair information. the hardest part of my jobs was when i had to turn customers away due to not being able to perform repairs on their equipment because of not having the proper tools or parts available or having them be against company policy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
use to be a fun envirorment now its like a prison
waitress (Current Employee), dansville nyApril 7, 2014
Pros: 401k benefit
Cons: charge to much for healthcare, no free meals
I have been there for 10 years I have seen many people come and go. Recently rules have changed once again. Typical day is to just wait on tables deal with rude customers and the pleasant ones. I have learned good social skills. The management is not the greatest just very rude at times. I work in the morning and most of coworkers are great people. – more... I love working with them! Just dealing with all the stress walking on egg shells they are just out for their dollar. The customers and most employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working enviornment
cashier (Former Employee), ontario ca.January 19, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: no breaks just 30 min lunch
loved my job here
you get so close to your customers and they become family
people think truckers are mean and nasty
but you get to know these men and women
from all over the world
if you get an opportunity to work at this
establishment
don't take it gor granted lik I did
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring All Around
Fuel Center Attendant (Current Employee), Jessup, MDNovember 22, 2013
All you do is sit and wait until your services are needed. The money's good but if you want to sit all day than this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Corporate Recruiter (Former Employee), OhioNovember 8, 2013
Cons: no room for advancement
Decent company.....dept. manager was very good about a work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new areas of a work field.
Parts Counter Representative (Former Employee), Baytown, TXOctober 23, 2013
Assisting clients with diesel truck parts that needed repairing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
little room for growth
Profit Center Manager (Former Employee), marengo,ilOctober 20, 2013
Pros: free meals loyal customer base group work enviroment
Cons: heathcare financial gain corporate attitude to employees
management is very much a profit first with out propper planning company non competitive pricing nonemployee friendly attitude though stated in their statuses and bylines,caring employees caring lower level non corporate manager good with thereory fails at implementing execution and helping with said execution
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company
cashier (Current Employee), redding caSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: discount on gas
Cons: none this place sucks. as soon as i get another job im out just like all the others.
They don't give you enough hours, everyone I worked with hates it, hates management.
People keep leaving and they get more part time people its a cycle.
You will be really unhappy here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment, detail oriented & multitasking required.
Dispatch & Logistics Agent (Current Employee), Westlake, OhioJune 28, 2013
A typical day at Travel Centers of America/RoadSquad Connect has a VERY fast paced environment. The ability to multitask, stay organized and pay attention details is an absolute requirement. RoadSquad Connect dispatches technicians out of various locations throughout the United States to breakdown locations provided by the customer. As an agent in this – more... call center, we are required to "set up" the road call as well as track the technician's arrival & completion of the work order. Notifications of ALL actions is provided to the customer via email and/or phone. The motto is "You break down - we show up." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepare to have no life
Bookkeeper (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNJune 19, 2013
Pros: good benefits if you're full-time only, laid back environment, lot of friends to make there
Cons: promotion is hard, part-timers don't receive benefits, part-timers can only receive up to 29 hours
Working for TA is great and lot of the people hired now there are usually part-time teenagers that don't care about their job or people that have been there forever and ever and don't want to go anywhere else. This is the perfect job for you if you want to be a cashier and are not really interested in moving up. If you are part-time you can only receive – more... up to 29 hours of work which means no benefits for you. It is unfortunate that by next year, if you do not have benefits then you will be fined around tax time. But if you work only 29 hours a week, you can't really afford it. So prepare to have no life, and possibly look for a second job while you're at it, and make sure you don't put that you can work any hours on your application. TA is looking for those who are committed to the job and are professional. You can't just go in, do the job and just go home. You're responsible for a large amount of your work which plays a big part in the store itself. Honestly, if you're a teenager looking for a summer job, I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS JOB. But if you're someone who is willing to put in the time given and is ok with working ANY SHIFT and is alright with being called in on what you thought was your day off. I would recommend this job; – less

July 11, 2013

Yes, part timers do get benefits. I know this because I work at a TA as a part timer.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, available, customer focused, excited team.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Barstow, CAMay 29, 2013
Pros: working in the stock room organizing
Cons: hard work
Description Responsible for providing excellent customer service , efficiently and accurately completing sales and service. I liked the people I worked with and liked my managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YOU DON'T WANT TO WORK HERE
asst general manager (Former Employee), bbloomsbury njApril 6, 2013
Pros: none...they are open 24 hours and expect you to be available
Cons: pay low benefits are awful hours over worked
I worked at Bloomsbury nj location and as soon as you use your voice to give an opinion they will make you miserable or fire you. I saw it done many many times. the pay is sub par and the benefits are terrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working enviroment
Inventory Control Expert (Current Employee), Hebron, OHMarch 23, 2013
It has it ups and downs but the people that you work with make the day go better and always there when you need them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They care about their employees
Truck Service General Manager (Former Employee), Rawlins, wyMarch 14, 2013
Pros: paid ase's, culture, management
Cons: home time
Being a technician was nice, they truly care about their customers and their employees. Once you get into management you don't get as many benefits and you lose a lot of your home time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
HR Coordinator (Former Employee), conleyFebruary 3, 2013
enjoyed it, pay could have been better, as well as benefits . overall was a fun environment very inviting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Janitorial (Former Employee), Clayton, INJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: full time
Cons: more money
work hard to keep customers and co workers satisfied.chemical awareness.management flexibility.coworkers content.needed more pay per hour,helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nasty
PORTER (Former Employee), Hudson, wiNovember 28, 2012
Customers were nasty. Employers would throw you under the bus in a heartbeat to save their own butts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped me learn many skills and loved the people I worked with.
Shop Assistant Manager (Former Employee), 802 e yorkOctober 23, 2012
Pros: learned great leadeship skills.
Cons: not enough employees.
Never knew what day by day would bring,so always took every day with a positive mind.I learned many great skills and keep wanting to learn more to open my path in business.Loved the co-workers I worked with.The hardest part of my job was to let other employees free after training.The most enjoyable part was always making sure my coustomers left in a – more... happy satisfied mood. – less