Find companies:
Tribune Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
48 reviews

Tribune Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Custom Cable Satellite Editor/DRTV Specialist (Former Employee), Queensbury, NYJuly 8, 2014
Pros: worked well with schedules in letting you make up time if you had to leave for family issues.
Cons: only con was not know if you had a job from one day to the next after the new owner took over.
Enjoyed my job entering custom schedules into the data base, researching movie titles, show episodes etc... I also dealt with paid programming creating and adding the titles to the data. I worked with a great bunch of people. There was not really anything hard about my job. Occasionally had to deal with loud people making it distracting at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Intern
Enterprise Architecture Intern (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 31, 2014
I am getting a lot of experience at the Tribune Company. It is a little crazy since they are through some major changes but there is always something for me to do and something to help with. My superiors are very nice and willing to help me. It's a very laid back atmosphere. I am very grateful for the opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for me to take the initiative and make things happen
Director, Workforce Development (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 4, 2014
Pros: opportunities
Cons: hr team dynamics
Great opportunity for me to take the initiative to make things happen and get involved in many projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environment
Platform Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 29, 2014
Pros: good compensation and health benefits, fun work environment
Cons: news organization
Dynamic Team centric work environment. Ability to grow with your abilities and strengths.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much uncertainty
VPā€“Enterprise Business and Technology (PMO) (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 27, 2014
Pros: the people are exceptionally dedicated
Cons: no leadership / vision
The Tribune is a difficult place to work. Revenues decline every year, which is followed by staff cuts. There doesn't appear to be a clear vision from the top as to how this organization is going to survive the decline of the newspaper industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed work place.
Campaign Specialist (Current Employee), Tribune TowerFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: co-workers are fun and easy-going; individuals are able to work at their own pace.
Cons: current position is temporary.
A typical day begins with a review of the Google Share document so to create an outline of reports, screenshots, and basic up-keep of campaigns for the day. Throughout the day basic duties are related to the creation of new billing accounts and the direct communication with Sale Representatives for accounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A flailing company
Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Queensbury, NYJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: interesting work. comfortable work space.
Cons: no job stability. minimal chance for advancement.
It started as two competing privately, locally owned television listing companies in the same town. In 1985, Tribune Media Services acquired Torrington/Tribune Data. In 2001, Tribune Media Services acquired TVData Technologies. Both Torrington/Tribune Data and TVData Technologies were great companies to work for and the environment was quite familial-like. – more... Tribune Media Services has evolved into a unstable, unprofitable company that has seen no one retire voluntarily since their takeover in 2001. Tribune Media Services is management top heavy and managers are to follow orders from Chicago, which are often not in line with the best interests of the customers, employees or company division. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Work Assignment
Contract Assignment (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 12, 2013
Pros: got to work back downtown
Cons: temporary work assignment
This was a temporary work assignment, however my co-workers for extremely nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and cons
Engineer (Current Employee), ChicagoNovember 8, 2013
Pros- excellent work life balance
very flexible
lots of projects to work on
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A family oriented company,Productive
Systems Engineer Specialist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 21, 2013
A family oriented company, and gained a lot of knowledge,experience on the latest technology of Information Technology, Have worked with a lot of IT staff who are a team player.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A current day for me
On air talent/reporter (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 14, 2013
Pros: usually done by noon
Cons: days can get long if there are issues or if the situation merits we stay on longer
A typical day, while not limited to the following, includes arriving early after 3am to review prior day problems or concerns, setting up work station for gathering traffic information, going over show notes, and then doing reports every 15 minutes or as needed.
After the newscast, I usually spend a bit of the morning going out with a photog shooting – more... construction sites and turning those into pieces for the web as well as for use in the next day's show. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and intellectually challenging work.
Analyst (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 10, 2013
The work is intellectually challenging and diverse. The work environment is relaxed and comfortable, and management is respectful and professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying work with like minded employees.
Electrical Technician (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 5, 2013
Pros: challenging work
Cons: scheduling
Fast paced newspaper printing giant. The work is satisfactory and you are responsible for training yourself to come up to speed.

I learned the control schemes of various printing equipment and delivery systems related to production of the newspaper industry. Mailroom insertion equipment and robotic stacking equipment.

Management works very hard to – more... keep the company profitable with the declining buisness in this type of industry.

The hardest part of the job is the "Slide" or flex schedule. You cannot plan anything in advance with you life or family.

I feel the most enjoyable part of job is keeping the equipment running on a shoestring budget. You really find out how creative you can become when you are backed into a corner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tribune
Account Executive (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: organization, respect, benefits, salary, family and work balance.
Cons: for me it was hard to move to another position
Working at the tribune was the best work experience from a new graduate student. I learn all about culture, good environment, friendly people and well compensated.
Benefits, jobs hours, time management, organization, goals all were in a same path.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great travel perks but poor complensation
Account Executive (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 16, 2013
Pros: trabel to other countries
Cons: low pay
I loved to work for this company. had a great manager from whom I learned tremendously. I used to love traveling to other countries however the pay was low and not a lot of time to spend at home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet and productive place to work.
Movie Editor (Former Employee), Queensbury, NYAugust 25, 2013
Pros: company appreciation and friendliness
A typical day included following paperwork to get thousands of movies properly entered into the database.
I learned to work with database and iMBD. Also learned some computer skills.
Management was helpful when needed and always friendly.
Co-workers were friendly and great to work with. Always kept things running smoothly.
The hardest part of the job – more... was when management was needed when some movie information could not be found that was needed.
The most enjoyable part was working quietly in my own station and working hard to get as many movies as I could get done in a day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad job
Multilingual Editor (Current Employee), Queensbury, NYAugust 14, 2013
It's a good desk job but it doesn't pay enough and the shift is not ideal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tribune Co.
Senior Multimedia Consultant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 22, 2013
Wonderful media company offered me great training opportunities, room for career growth, good mentoring. Still have many people in my network from this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting point
Accounting Clerk - Advertising Accounting (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJuly 10, 2013
Cons: low wages
Fast paced call center environment.
Learned about back room processes/communications
Management, by the book.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managent on tv side of business clueless
producer (Former Employee), San DiegoJuly 9, 2013
Pros: fellow employees great bunch of people
Cons: ineffective, incompetent management all across the board
Bad management: back stabbers, blame placers, toxic people terrified of losing their jobs so they throw subordinates under the bus every chance they have. Insane pressure to create the 'next big thing' with no guidance or direction or leadership. TV station I worked at was a very poorly run operation and that incompetence is reflected in the ratings, – more... which of course is blamed on individual employees and not the management. – less

1 2 3