Tribune Company Employee Reviews

Found 99 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Not Applicable (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 12, 2017
I had an amazing time at tronc. The work life balance is really incredible. The clients are great, and there are always opportunities to learn. HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS COMPANY.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work balance
Research Specialist / SEO Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 22, 2017
Great managers and work life balance. The ability to advance your career is a plus. I would like to point out that this company owns a lot of news papers such as the la times, baltimore sun, chicago tribune.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too long ago to rate fairly
Project Manager; Senior Producer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 12, 2017
The company has been sold since I worked there and much has changed. I loved working there, especially my time at The Orlando Sentinel. Anyone willing to step up and work hard was rewarded with opportunity and advancement. Best job I ever had.
Pros
Advancement opportunity
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was great back in the day
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 24, 2017
Tribune still hasn't been able to figure out a viable business model for the current environment. Was great years ago.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Syndicated Cartooning
Syndicated Cartoonist (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 2, 2017
This was the poorest job I've ever had but also very rewarding. Unfortunately the business model only worked if I had more than 100 newspapers. I wouldn't take it back and it was a great life experience.
Pros
Learned to self-manage and produce quickly.
Cons
Low pay - poor communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  505 northwest ave, northlake, IL 60164April 10, 2017
this job some time are very busy, i learn how to run the machine, the have different culture people ovethere, i enjoy my jod everyday,i love what i do in this company
Pros
free pizza when we have 100 days without accident
Cons
we do not have salary increase
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Sr. Business Application Analyst (Former Employee) –  Lewisville, TXApril 5, 2017
Great Place to Work! The team was very good and plenty of great work was being done. Tribune would be a great place for anyone looking to work in the publication business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and friendly
Assignment Desk Editor/ Co-Producer (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMarch 4, 2017
Fast paced, friendly staff, most are very willing to teach new employees producing and reporting skills. Also, KFOR is currently building a brand-new facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chicago Tribune Company - An advertising Giant - Good Company to work for.
Commercial Collector (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 18, 2017
Typical day: Managed Collection accounts.

I learned how to collect and manage advertising accounts.

Management was great.

Coworkers were easy to get along with.

The hardest part was leaving the company.

The enjoyable part was learn new responsibilities.
Pros
Learning new responsiblities
Cons
Laid off - job went overseas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, rewarding job
Sr. Online News Producer/Home Page Editor (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJanuary 9, 2017
Our team of seasoned journalists worked as a well-oiled machine, each and every single day to produce the best content in print and on the Web. The job was rewarding and fun.
Pros
Independence, worked from home (on occasion)
Cons
The drive for me was intense (almost 100 miles a day)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good business to work with.
General Warehouse Team Member (Former Employee) –  Elk Grove, ILNovember 30, 2016
I arrive at work and start stacking the packages on to the skids.
I learned that if u work at a fast and constant past, you will finish your work to early and they will send you home.
Management was great. They would bring you coffee and doughnuts. As well as pizza on Fridays.
Co-workers were alot of fun and enjoyed completing the work task.
Pros
I got an opportunity to work with great people.
Cons
i worked with newspapers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It all about work
Temp Worker (Former Employee) –  Northwest avenueNovember 30, 2016
I love the job.. the best job ever.. they treat you right they treat you with respect honor your opinion... most of all when you need help they're always there to help you out
Pros
I had to bring lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Declining Businees
Manager, Technical Support (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTSeptember 21, 2016
The Publishing industry is in decline and there is no advancement opportunities and in addition Tribune has decided to outsource Technology.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with
NetBackup Administrator / Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 2, 2016
I worked here for 32 years and I really enjoyed it. I had great opportunities to work with cutting edge technology in a learning friendly environment. Training was available and the Team atmosphere was pleasant and engaging.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Job was outsourced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy for me to remember routes
DRIVER/ DISTRIBUTOR (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLAugust 29, 2016
went out of business, no more work had 3 routes, loved the job, worked 7 days a week! very non hectic job, worked by myself which i like. pick up papers and leave. rolled them as driving and delivered to proper customers.
Pros
off during day so i can boat and fish
Cons
no days off or sick leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Creative / Production Designer (Former Employee) –  Deerfield Beach, FLJune 20, 2016
It was a great working experience, always busy with production/creative work, until the last 2 months before my layoff. All management was very personable and supportive. I loved to bring snacks for everybody and we used to have Potlucks pretty often. The night shift and long drive was a bit of a challenge but I really liked my work at Tribune/Sun Sentinel.
Pros
Very friendly atmosphere
Cons
Long drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 1, 2016
Good People all around.
Management has no stability. They keep on changing as investors change. Business is good
Co- workers are nice. Flexible work hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tribune Publishing
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Lewisville, TXMay 25, 2016
Okay place to work at. 8 hour days. Boss is great. I enjoyed working with all the different News Papers. Traveled some for training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and friendly place to work. Fantastic salary
sales (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTApril 26, 2016
The recession hit the Tribune Company hard. They had to move their SLC, Ut office to Chicago. That is why I'am no longer employed with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company bad management
IT (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 13, 2016
Company was good until they decided to outsource most of IT. My manager is great but upper management is bad. Maybe the company will recover, I certainly hope they do. They failed to adapt as a result the company suffered.
Pros
insurance
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tribune Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 100 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2