Find companies:
Tribune Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
52 reviews

Tribune Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad job
Multilingual Editor (Current Employee), Queensbury, NYAugust 14, 2013
It's a good desk job but it doesn't pay enough and the shift is not ideal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tribune Co.
Senior Multimedia Consultant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 22, 2013
Wonderful media company offered me great training opportunities, room for career growth, good mentoring. Still have many people in my network from this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting point
Accounting Clerk - Advertising Accounting (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJuly 10, 2013
Cons: low wages
Fast paced call center environment.
Learned about back room processes/communications
Management, by the book.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managent on tv side of business clueless
producer (Former Employee), San DiegoJuly 9, 2013
Pros: fellow employees great bunch of people
Cons: ineffective, incompetent management all across the board
Bad management: back stabbers, blame placers, toxic people terrified of losing their jobs so they throw subordinates under the bus every chance they have. Insane pressure to create the 'next big thing' with no guidance or direction or leadership. TV station I worked at was a very poorly run operation and that incompetence is reflected in the ratings, – more... which of course is blamed on individual employees and not the management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall decent company to work for
Editorial Specialist (Former Employee), Queensbury, NYJuly 2, 2013
Tribune is a great company when it comes to work-life balance. They are always great about supporting families and if you have an emergency, being understanding about it.
Benefits are generally good, but compensation is very low for the amount of work.
The people are the reason I have been there so long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family comes first bs
sales (Former Employee), Tavares, FlJuly 1, 2013
Pros: sometimes relaxed atmosphere
Cons: managers not qualified to be managers...not the necessary experience to direct, motivate and inspire a sales team
heavy middle management that fear for their jobs. Treat over qualified employees as pieces of disposable meat. Constantly changing compensation. Management that is unqualified to serve as managers. Ever changing goals...they dangle the carrot ..then move the carrot so you can't achieve desired results. Left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing. – more... Be weary of promises that are made and not fulfilled. Promoted family first but when that occurred...oops your out a job. Poor communication for being in the communication business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above Average
Graphic Artist The Times (Former Employee), Scranton, PAJune 27, 2013
Great company, family-run newspaper/radio business. Good pay, great benefits, great management. Dying industry (newspaper) job security can be vague.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat fun.
Publication Developer / Paginator (Former Employee), Queensbury, NYMay 13, 2013
Pros: flexible / family comes first
Cons: no room for advancement, micro-managed.
1) Depends on the workflow, some days are busy and fly by; others drag.

2) Knowledge is key, if you have it your golden, if you don't your nothing.

3) So-so, will work with your needs.

4) Some are very hard workers, others do the bare minium just to pass the day.

5) There isn't anything.

6) When a customer likes the prototype I created and want – more... to use it live in their next publication. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 18, 2013
I love this company, I have one the best bosses ever! Everyone is nice, even the clients you work with. Benefits are kind of expensive but overall great company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Package Handler
Package Handler/Shipping & Receiving (Former Employee), Chicago ILMarch 15, 2013
Pros: got all my work hours.
Cons: short lunch break
Fulfill the shipping and receiving of orders. Handling of packages and merchandise, and also assuring that package orders are processed accurately and on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Atmosphere, People aren't Valued
Creative Producer (Former Employee), Indianapolis INMarch 15, 2013
Pros: you'll definitely learn how to work fast and be political.
Cons: poor pay, poor management, poor benefits, poor company vision.
I was at this company for a number of years, I had a number of managers over me. With one exception, they were all toxic managers. They would pit employees against one another, made jokes abour wearing people down and abusing them. One manager was let go for threatening multiple of my co-workers. Worst of all, they gave no concrete direction. Nothing – more... was ever good enough, with no direction on how to make it better. Poor planning meant lots of last minute freak outs, worked holidays and weekends. As I worked and met with people further up the management chain and learned that this style must be actively supported by the company, as it extends into upper levels. Priorities shifted weekly, things that were vital last week were not so important this week. Managers didn't stand up for their people, were quick to throw their reports under the bus.

Pay was miserable. Years of bankruptcy meant no raises, shrinking benefits, and increasing responsibility \ hours. The only good thing I got out of Tribune was a greater appretiation of every other job I will ever have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable company, ridiculous management style, severe undercompensation
Production Department (Former Employee), MichiganFebruary 20, 2013
Considering all jobs in media are underpaid, this company is definitely on the lowest part of the spectrum. There is an extreme turn over rate and positions are constantly being eliminated and those duties passed off onto someone else who will not get paid anymore for doing them. It's not even worth the experience gained because no one will look twice – more... at this job on your resume. The worst part is that management will expect you to be at their beck and call without any regard to your personal life outside of work. To top it all off the company has been in bankruptcy for years (so don't expect basic things like a raise) with no sign of coming out of it anytime soon, just constant layoffs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Notable Media Co. on the Edge of Change & Opportunity
Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: Loyal and dedicated management and employees, great location, unique career opportunities

Cons: Frequent management changes, unclear strategy/goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is a rip off
teleservice rep (Former Employee), orlando floridaJanuary 9, 2013
Cons: pay
This job is crape its full of a lot of self centered superviors.. all they car about is themselves... Quick to fire you especially if its something you cant control.. pay sucks. They mess up your paychecks. Leads are bad.... they have a lot of favorites in that job.. they make the job seem better then want it is during your interview... minimum wage – more... is not worth the stress you get from this job.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place with an Upbeat atmosphere
Account Executive & Media Sales (Former Employee), Hartford, CTDecember 27, 2012
Very in tune with the community and clients' needs. Alot of event related and sponsorships kept this company in the public eye I enjoyed working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable company overall that has been or continues to be in bankruptcy
SALES & HUMAN RESOURCE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Glens Falls, NYDecember 23, 2012
Pros: close to home, nice people to work with overall
Cons: low pay, unstable future
My job was split between sales/marketing and HR. Too many moving parts to manage. I was told I had a good chance to become full time in sales and marketing which is what I wanted, but the budget did not allow for another full time position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very doomed atmostphere
Graphic Artist (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CADecember 17, 2012
Really bad. Workers are not treated well, pay is low, and management style lax.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work.
Strategic Marketing Consultant (Former Employee), Mesa, AZDecember 13, 2012
Pros: great work atmosphere.
Cons: no cons.
Great place to work. People are very creative and always willing to help clients. Great leadership. Enviroment fostered success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Asheboro Courier (Former Employee), 500 Sunset Ave, Asheboro NC,December 6, 2012
Cons: hours expect to be worked by upper management
Working sometimes over a hundred hours a week. Working with inferior equipment under strick deadlines. No consideration for employee feelings quality of life or compensation. The absolute worse place I have ever and I repeat ever worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work environment with nice people
Cable-Satellite Editor (Former Employee), Queensbury NYOctober 16, 2012
You would start your day working on one cable listing and by day's end you would accomplish a feat you didn't think yourself capable of.