Find companies:
Trican Well Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

Trican Well Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company too work for
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Springtown, TXOctober 30, 2014
Pros: per diem
work there 2yrs straight good people and work environment good team work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canadian Company
ELECTRONIC SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Mathis, TXSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: great core values
Cons: lack of management stability
Company trying to grow market in US but lacks ability to adjust cultural difference between countries. Company needs to work on management infrastructure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trican takes pride in their employees,never putting the job before safety and completes each job with quality.
Field Supervisor (Current Employee), Mill Hall, PAAugust 2, 2014
Pros: on site catering
Cons: incliment weather.
I direct operators and supervisors with their daily activities and procedures in the field. Maintain the quality of each job making sure all materials are in place for completion. Train and mentor fellow workers. Direct and guide co-workers to follow and understand company polices and procedures. Direct employees to follow rules and regulations that – more... the employer and customer require for all operations. Maintain and track all safety equipment and make sure that co-workers and third party hires are using the correct PPE for the task at hand. The most important thing I have learned is how to deal with the multiple personalities that co-workers and third party hires might have or develop on a daily basis. My co-workers are not only my Team mates but they become one big family. Management communicates well with the field supervision. Management is always willing to help with any issues that may arise 24 hours a day 7 days a week. The hardest part of my job is organizing the set up, rig down and mobilizing all equipment to the new location. I enjoy training fellow co-workers, watching them grow with the company and helping them develop the skills to be a valuable asset to the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Frac Equipment operator III (Former Employee), Odessa, TXJuly 10, 2014
its a good company to work it, where good place for people who new to oil field easy to learn move up pretty much
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Field Cook (Former Employee), Longview, TXJune 28, 2014
Great pay, very long hours and time away from family. Pay close attention as it is dangerous enviromrnt
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but ran poorly by children.
Trican employee (Current Employee), Mathis, TXJune 15, 2014
Pros: benefits.
Cons: some managers act like kids. lay offs are common. favoritism.
Good company. Will make you feel like family until their safety numbers go down business goes down then you are nothing to them as they cut you. However I do not recommend the lab of Trican!!! The lab in Mathis is ran by immature children who will cut you if you are not their friend. Sad, your life and career are in the hands of uncaring degenerates – more... stuck in high school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was not bad
Welder (Former Employee), Odessa, TXApril 30, 2014
i worked on frac pumps missiles and what ever they needed built
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trican Workday HCM Implementation Project
Senior HCM Consultant (Contract) (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 19, 2014
Pros: great project
Cons: contract
A challenging project, and a great opportunity to learn a new software package working with the Workday HCM product. The management team is decisive and the team works very well together toward the accomplishment of the goal. The hardest part is coordinating teams remotely. The most enjoyable part of the job is the learning opportunity and being able – more... to help Trican meet its goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Accounts Payables (Current Employee), texasFebruary 25, 2014
Trican is a good company to work for, there is just little room for advancement in the deparment iwork in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so much
Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Minot, NDFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: per diem is decent
Cons: housing and paid flights are gone from minot.
The starting pay is okay if you don't have any experience. If you have been in the oil field, the pay sucks. Started with paid housing and flights but that is going to disappear. I have worked for other oil services companies and the benefits aren't that great. Depends on what you are accustomed to. The Minot district is still struggling and employees – more... are expected to do much with little. Crews are small so you get to work harder to make up for lack of manpower. Fellow employees are an awesome bunch of guys and make the work more tolerable. Paper logs are a pain and you get a lot of grief for mistakes. :) – less

July 27, 2014

Now former employee. :) Trican is hiring again in Minot. There are reasons why this place has a constant turnover. Do not believe the Trican US website regarding breakfast and lunch at the well site. It exists elsewhere in the company but not at Minot. This district is poor and scrambling for work. There are no frills here. One thing I should have said before, if you have worked for a major company before that has stringent pressure safety guidelines, you may be a bit surprised. I was appalled at some of the things I saw. Stay far away from anything under pressure.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Equipment operator I (Former Employee), Springtown TxJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: perdiem
Cons: never home always out of town!
You will work a lot and make good money for someone who is starting out in the oilfield.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
cordinator (Current Employee), Woodward, OKNovember 1, 2013
Pros: medical benifits
Cons: no home time
Benefits are great as so is the pay but no time for family or anything else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work and advance
Sand hauler, Frac hand (Former Employee), Minot, NDSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: payed housing
Cons: no work
You pretty much had to fit into the "go out" crowd in order to be liked and given opportunities at this company, in "North Dakota"
There were no jobs for Trican in ND and was sent to places in Texas to work for Trican 4 times in less than a year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very satisfied there, explored other challenges
o Fluid Technician and quality assurance (Former Employee), Shawnee, OKAugust 13, 2013
Pros: no complaints.
Overall my experience was optimum with Trican, a lot of hours away from home but the job demanded it due to the fact that our emphasis on job quality was very high on every job. Trican bought Vanguard Stimulation services initially, with that said, the Vanguard ethic was this. "Quality isn't a behavior, it's a habit. That remained intact during my time – more... with Trican, The management was second to none. The culture was amazing and one in which I am very proud to have served, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turn away!
EO (Current Employee), OklahomaJuly 10, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: don't get raises, don't take care of their employees
Trican is a big joke! Awful company to work for. To much to type but they treat their employees so horrible. Cut employees hours instead of sending them to help other districts that are behind. I would already be gone if I could find something else but I have to swallow my pride for my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its the oilfield... what more can you say
Cement Engineer (Former Employee), Longview, TXApril 21, 2013
Pros: $$$, benefits
Cons: hours, tether to blackberry, etc
Trican allowed me to be where i am in life today. I appreciate the opportunities i had and knowledge and skills i acquired. I was laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trican is a good company to work for with the exception of too many bosses.
Parts Clerk-Parts Specialist (Former Employee), Mathis, TXDecember 19, 2012
Pros: on many occassions, venders would take me to lunch, ball games or fund raisers.
Cons: the cons were that if i needed a part that was not local, i would have to go and get it.also working 80 to 100 hours a week.
I enjoyed working for Trican,a typical work day was 12 to 14 hours
I learned alot about the well service and the computer programs that went with the job.
Most of my co-workers were some of the best people I have met and were worker friendly even though when I first started,I didnt know much about the bussiness .They were all most helpful and patient – more... with me.It didnt take long to learn.
Management was a little difficult because it changed very often.Four district managers in one year is alot.
The hardest part of my job was month end invenyory.I had to inventory everything by hand and put it in the computer program.If it did not match,I had to go through all the recieving for what I had bought and what corporate sent me.I spent on the average of two million dollors a month for parts and service.
The most enjoyable was to visit venders and to just mingle with people that I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trican has great valueas if they would follow them.
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), Mathis, TXSeptember 17, 2012
Trican sells itself as a innovative leader in the oil field but they treat their employees horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivegreat place to work.
Chef (Former Employee), Mathis, TX.September 12, 2012
Love to work there. Lots of over time. Traveled around Texas New Mexico. Met great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Truck Equipment oparater (Current Employee), Longview, TXSeptember 4, 2012
Trican is a good place to work but the work is get slow and they cut back the employes I just don't want no surprises