Find companies:
Trident Seafoods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Trident Seafoods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for on the job training and experience
Assistant Chief Engineer (Former Employee), Kodiak, AKDecember 10, 2013
Pros: food was provided as part of my contract
Cons: difficult to have a life outside of work due to long hours.
Work is typically 7days per week, 12 hours per day. Management is sympothetic to long hours, but firm about attendance. Coworkers are multicultural from all over the world. I learned alot about other culters first hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work in the boat because everybody are like brothers and sister.
Fish Processor (Former Employee), Seattle, WANovember 12, 2013
Pros: board and lodging are free including laundry, and you have a fresh air for free too
Wake up early in the morning 5am then start working at 6am.I learned how to clean fish in a timely manner,although has pressure but its fun to work with the managers,supervisors and leads because they are all supportive and helpful.I experienced also work with other nationality.The hardest part of of my job in the boat are,you have to stand up for 16 – more... hours and you can not go anywhere because you are in the middle of the ocean so you have to work,work and work. and when my boos tell all the workers that we finished the season and ready to be back home in Tacoma...Oh yes that is the most enjoyable part of the job..Well done.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work in remote places
Quality Assurance and Control (Former Employee), Naknek and Ketchikan, AlaskaNovember 7, 2013
Pros: travel, vast amounts of experience in a short time-frame, going to alaska
Cons: cut off from the "real world" for months at time
A typical day on the plant floor of a Trident Seafoods processing plant, as a Quality Control and Assurance tech, was filled with mountains of testing and paperwork. To ensure the best quality product for our customers, QA personnel were required to do random testing on our products, be it herring, salmon, salmon roe, or crab. These tests included temperature – more... checks, salinity level checks, chloride checks, and checks of the sanitation equipment and cleaning materials. Work was divided among other QA techs, each rotating between jobs to ensure that results were non-biased. The hardest part of the job was the fact that the work was in Alaska, and the days were at minimum 16 hour shifts, with no days off until the production quota was met. This resulted in 4 months of long days; however, the quickly gained experience was well worth hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Established Fish Processing Business
Dock Worker (Current Employee), Newport, ORSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: job stability if you are willing to work such long hours.
Cons: no healthcare benefits, large employee turnover due to the hard work, very little training
This company is one of the biggest fish processors in my area. It is hard work but has about a 4-5 month season. The hardest part of the job is working 12 hours a day each of the 7 days of the week without any days off. Some of the co-workers are very racist and cause trouble. I enjoy working with many different personalities and ethnicities and learning – more... so many new skills.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Seafood processor (Former Employee), Seattle, WAAugust 26, 2013
Pros: experience housing food
Cons: supervisors are not properly trained
Work is good, supervisors need more training. Safety is an issue. Safety concerns are not addressed properly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun! Constantly busy, never a dull moment.
Safety management (Former Employee), Chehalis, WAAugust 25, 2013
Pros: benefits, co workers
Cons: no breaks
Production, production, production! As soon as you arrive you are busy producing orders for buyers, palatalizing and loading to ship. I lead my own team of hard working individuals. Management was fantastic. Very family oriented. The hardest part of the job was the repetitive work when creating large orders and keeping everyone lively and moving fast – more... and efficient. The most enjoyable part of the job was training new workers, motivating and staying busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaning, packaging, filleting, and sorting fish. also night watch walking on patrol
Seafood processor/ machine operator/ night watch (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 17, 2013
wake up walk to the plant and put on protective gear. clock in and go to a designated area. or go on patrol for 12 hours as night watch.i learned how to fillet a fish, package, clean, sort,and operate heavy machinery that also fillet fish. i learned the different types of fish that are located along the bering sea. i learned how to be successful and – more... safe as night patrol and keep a secure compound. i learned how to operate speed belts that run product through the facility. management was fair and helpful in the learning process. and co-workers were not always team based and informational but most were helpful.The hardest part of the job was having to work 16 to 20 hours a day at times. The most enjoyable part of the job was operating the heavy machinery. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safe place to work
Seafood Processor (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJune 22, 2013
I had no problem working there however some of the work was too hard for me and I got carpel tunnel while working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work. We were always doing events for our employees and we were very family orientated.
Production Scheduler,Inventory,Relief Receptionist (Former Employee), Fife, WAApril 5, 2013
Pros: potlucks, friday, a full service lunch room to accomodate any activities. good benefits, a great open door policy.
I almost always enjoyed my time at Trident Seafoods. Each morning I would visit the warehouse to ensure there hadn't been any issues or concerns from prior day issuing of ingredients or shipping shortages. Next stop, the production office to pick up the previous days production paperwork and review with the production supervisor. Up to my office, check – more... messages, Using the prior day production paperwork I sorted, reviewed and reconciled discrepancies. Did the data entry and ran the accounting program using JDEdwards manufacturing software. Everyday we had an production meeting to report to the department heads on the previous days production numbers and review any changes or issues concerns . I had started out as the receptionist and was quickly promoted in a 3 month period to production scheduler and inventory control clerk. Even though I didn't have any experience, my supervisor had a great deal of faith that I could pick it up rather quickly. I did have the evening production supervisor and QA working closely with me to understand product/quality requirements. I have to admit it wasn't easy at first, I spent long hours creating spreadsheets and I created a training manual for dummies. This was really a great tool for the controller due to she filled in for me on vacations days and It was used as a training resource that was used for the other production facilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Experience
Licensed Electrician (Former Employee), Akutan, AKJanuary 21, 2013
Just the most awful environment I have ever experienced. Management is demeaning and un-motivational.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work is work learn as much as you can...
BAADER Assistant (Former Employee), Akutan, AKDecember 20, 2012
observe the machines if working properly...
gain experience and learn new culture...
workers are friendly just know how to approach them..
with out team work job is hard...
everything is working properly if its maintained properly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice location to work, good food and accomodations.
Production Operator (Former Employee), akutan, st paul, ketsikan,naknek AlaskaOctober 30, 2012
fun workplace with table tennis and wifi networks for on line browsing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a very fast paced rigorous working enviorement.
Retort Unloader (Former Employee), Cordova, AKOctober 25, 2012
Pros: free lunches, room and board
Cons: extreme weather changes
Started working from 8 am - 12:30 am , unloading retorts, place product in order according to code and can weight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A descent place to work
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee), Anacortes, WAOctober 25, 2012
Pros: good hours a week.
Cons: job can ware you out and took a little time to get used to the schedule.
It's a pretty fast pace job that involves very little time to slack off. I learned quite a bit about safety regulations and quite a bit on cleaning and sanitizing work areas. I personally always had fun working with my coworkers. But it can get a bit competitive at times. I'd say the hardest part world be completing a difficult given job in a small – more... amount of time, properly. At times things can get frustrating due to time restraint. But I enjoy the up pace, keep you moving work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place and productive
Inspector (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAAugust 28, 2012
Pros: free food, no rent
Cons: short breaks, lack of medical equipment
long hours,cold,confined space I learned different ways to deal with people from all walks of life and how to cope in difficult situations my co-workers were all different kinds of people with different backgrounds and personalities the hardest part of the job is standing in one spot for long hours in a cold wet area most enjoyable part of the job is – more... learning new things everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work but no retring benefits
asst eng (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 23, 2012
12 hrs. days or more sometimes
being gone from home for 4 to 5 months at a time
working with all different condition and people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Alert in the production line
Production Lead (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 20, 2012
Pros: free snacks, lodging
Cons: 30 mins.lunch break.no insurance
If its come to work,i need to get ready as earlier to prepare all things.As a good employer i need to be there at my working place ealier before my jobs start.working in the production line is not that kind of easy jobs,but as a very good understanding person,I've learned a lot of things,like talking to them in a nice way,teach them and handle any problems,add – more... my knowledge and skills to operate some machines in that area.Ive learned to observed cleanliness so with honesty.It comes to management,well i know theres always be a lot of circumstances
,but i need to fight for my rights as a good employer.Its not really hard for me to work with them as long we can understantand each other,and unity and a good team work.well,theres a lot of hardship inside my working place,specially when you're still new,and the hardest thing is that,you don't have any good communication to your employee,but if you're really a good employer theres no hard things if its come to work.For me,the most enjoyable part of my job is that,I've learned a lot of things,to lead me for the better future,and so with my my co workers,and my employee.To finish your responsibilities on time and get ready for another day.Im so happy to work with them specially if they are listening to you,and they are doing there responsibilities as your co workers.I need to do my jobs with a friendly smile for all the next coming days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hostile environment
Plant Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee), Akutan, AKJune 8, 2012
I would never work for them again, It is a hostile environment, and the company doesnt care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned alot
Construction Helper (Former Employee), Cordova, AKMay 3, 2012
I was required to assist in building a an additional plant for Trident Seafoods. This plant was for the production of fish oil in the addition to their current plant. I was required to do general labor such as cleaning up after construction workers and making sure the plant was in proper shape for construction workers to finish building the plant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production work
Production (Former Employee), Everett, WAApril 30, 2012
Pros: the people i worked with
Cons: standing and moving heavy material
Mostly learning technical side of the job, which i liked very much. Co-workers are always nice and helpful. Hardest about the job are moving 1,200 lbs plus work by crate. Sometimes get very tired mainly moving heavy objects. The people we very helpful and able to follow each instruction assigned.

About Trident Seafoods

Something's supposed to be fishy at Trident Seafoods. The vertically integrated seafood business hauls in salmon, crab, and assorted – Read more

Trident Seafoods Photos