Find companies:
Troon Golf
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Troon Golf Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment!
Golf Shop Attendant/Graze Restaurant Server (Current Employee), Harmony, FLNovember 20, 2014
Great management and staff! Love working for Troon Golf. Unfortunately a new management company taking over soon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above Average
Property Accountant (Former Employee), Wausau Country Club - Schofield WIAugust 22, 2014
Pros: free lunches, flexible schedule
The people I worked with at the Wausau Country Club made for a fantastic day. The workload was challenging enough where I was never bored or overwhelmed. It was a good balance. Management was great and responded when I had concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head mechanic (former employee) mesquite nv
head mecjanic (Former Employee), Mesquite nvAugust 14, 2014
Pros: loved his job pay was decent
Cons: unprofessional
This company fired my husband while under workman's comp. Injured himself on the job superintendent brought him to emergency and later was told he was expected to return to work the same day with open head wound which was weeping blood and an crushed ankle that he could not stand on. He was accused of being on pain medication during the accident yet – more... the medication was prescribed to him after at the ER. They looked for all and any reason to disallow him to go back to work. They refuse to give anything in writing making it appear he quit on his own. He has not been released to full duty by the doctor. Just received a phone call from the GM stating he was drafting final check and his employment is now terminated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management!
Lead Server, Beverage Cart Attendant, Greeter (Former Employee), New Ulm, TXJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great members!!
Cons: no breaks, long hours, horrible management.
This review has nothing to do with Troon Golf. Troon is a very reputable management company. This review is on The Falls Resort and Golf Club. The Falls was managed by Troon until the owner of The Falls brought in a new CFO that ran everyone off, including Troon. I was employed at The Falls for three years and I loved my job until the new CFO came in – more... and ran it to the ground. The CFO was an alcoholic and drank on the job. She was very demanding and treated all of the employees as if they were her servants. She gave her camera to a male employee and asked him to take pictures of an event making sure to stress that he was the only one to touch the camera; when scrolling through to make sure we got pictures of everything we went one to far and came across nude pictures of her...left with a male employee when she's supposedly married. I say supposedly because her background check is 48 pages long and she has 3 social security numbers. You can't believe a word she says. She hired an executive assistant that lasted all of two weeks before she quit because of all of the legal issues such as embezzlement. She's asked employees where she can "score some pot." Very unprofessional! As far as I know she is still there, but all of the employees left as soon as they found out I was no longer there. You would think a red flag would pop up to the owner when all of the employees walk out, but the owner didn't seem to care after her husband passed away. She seems to be blind sided by it all. Very sad! Lovely place with great potential, it just needs to fall into the right hands. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Greenskeeper (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZJune 15, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no breaks, no teamwork, bad management.
There is no teamwork, rules are only followed by certain employees, pay is awful, the job duties would be good if there was teamwork. Everyone should work together to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ballenisle is a beautiful community with a great membership.
Employee (Former Employee), Ballenisle palm beacjh gardensJune 2, 2014
Pros: free golf
Cons: hours, hr consistancy and horrific upper management
Great location and the membership was amazing. The upper management on the other hand was HORRIBLE. Ballenisle pretty much stole a local country club's food and beverage manager, floor manager and the sales and marketing director. When hiring these positions they found a way to squeeze out the prior management without notice. Turn over is good in most – more... situations but to turn over 5 positions including a executive sous chef, executive chef, sales and marketing manager, off site sales manager and a assistant food and beverage manager all in one year is unheard of. The management style that was stolen from the local club was very forceful and had no regards for anyone's thoughts nor passion for prior success. In country clubs the hours are long and some what unforgiving. The pressure that is brought down by the General Manager is crazy to say the least. The GM and assistant GM were lacking in so many areas and not only despised by the staff but from the membership as well. The GM allowed a similar cutting of staff on the golf side as well. He found a way around the board and FIRED employees that had been employed there for 8+ years. This was brought to the attention of the board and every employee that was fired was asked to come back to work with a raise. The GM didn't show his face in the community for many weeks following. Human resources was very consistent by means of never following thru with anything. HR would always support the hourly employees but as far as management they had no back bone and things fell to the waist side constantly.
To sum it all up,
If you feel that you want to surround yourself with selfish, micro managing, lacking of experience upper management, this is the job for you. Be prepared to get used to their ways and your prior experience means nothing. My boss not once ever asked about my prior experience, nor did he care and I worked there for years. You will support the fact of bringing in foreign students "cheap labor" yearly and while the upper management enjoys the cost, the membership complains about poor service and the lack of training. Other than all that its a great place to drive through and enjoy the greens and beautiful flowers. There are 3 exits and 31 stop signs in the community. Your fast exit is never fast enough and the feeling that there's no place like home is a feeling you will never get from working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, customer service of members/owners
Night Supervisor Maintenance (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZMay 18, 2014
Overseeing all aspects of property maintenance. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with members\owners.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and a learning experience about the golf industry.
Office Manager/ Property accountant (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 4, 2014
Pros: free lunches, paid holidays.when i needed time off, it was always approved.
Cons: the texas open every august or september. quite a challenge.
I checked the previous days reports to what was deposited and also looked for deep discounts which I found and reported. It cost me a friendship. I will not give up my integrity for anyone or thing. I submitted forecasts and budgets with the Director of Golf tweaking it a bit. Best part of my job was the ability to hit range balls to let off steam. – more... The worst thing was having to report the people who stole from Troon. I think that's why I was asked to transfer to Round Rock. I am honest to a fault. My co-workers were always nice to me. I learned spreadsheets and inventory control. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Hostess (Former Employee), Bedford, NHJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: the members were wonderful people for the most part, the job was rather easy
Cons: management is the worse i've ever experienced, hr is nonexistant, pay is awful, miserable environment, everything else
Getting a job here was my first job at a restaurant. It was so unorganized and corrupted which made learning there difficult and frustrating. I started as a hostess and I felt like an underpaid manager because the employees would always come to me for help and guidance because we could never find a manager around to help. Management was below one star. – more... All of the managers would disappear like I stated earlier, so finding them was a daily task and challenge because this would also frustrate members who needed them. Management was also disrespectful to the employees on all levels. They treated employees as if they were subhuman and I felt like management treated employees worse than any of the members ever have, considering it is a private country club. Management would just sit around and complain when we were overwhelmingly busy instead of jump in and help to make things run more smoothly. Managers would tell employees to do ridiculous things such as pick out of the trash for silverware they thought may have been thrown away or to do other ridiculous things. There is also no one above the main managers to talk to about these issues so they go unheard. Terrible HR in the company clearly which tells me that Troon does not care about the issues employees may face while working here. I've tried to reach out to others about my former manager who I have numerous issues to discuss with an individual higher than him, but there just doesn't seem to be anyone I can talk to. High turn over rate in employees and higher management and managers are willing to let anyone go for no reason whatsoever. I was let go for asking a question which made my manager upset, which really shouldn't have. I asked a question pertaining to how he said something while another manager said the complete opposite and I wanted clarification because it was not only confusing to me, but other employees. Clearly, no communication between managers and when you question it because it is confusing, you lose your job. Losing my job was probably the best thing that happened to me because it was a miserable. While there, I was hoping to move up to a server and my management acknowledged that saying they'd start me as a hostess then move up, but this company rather hire people instead of train them if they been there for a while and wish to move up. The managers acted as if I never said I wanted to move up after we discussed it which was frustrating. This place is a complete and utter joke. Just don't even bother. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private Country Club
Entrada Golf Course (Former Employee), Saint George, UTJanuary 5, 2014
The company is great to work with, job security was nice to count on. The members tip pretty well if you do a good job, the hardest part was getting golf balls off the lava rocks in the summer because it was so hott! I personally wasn't a fan of the uniforms but it really brought us all together and defined what each person did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Hostess (Former Employee), Indian Wells, CADecember 9, 2013
Pros: free lunch, good benefits package
Cons: low pay
Great management
Fun environment
Respectful people
Company is very well organized
Management and directors are well educated and respectful decent people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, Got to know a lot of club members.
SERVER (Former Employee), Millsboro, DESeptember 24, 2013
Pros: full time, good money.
Cons: working weekends.
My main task was making the members feel as if they were at home.. I say members because the Peninsula is only open to members of the community. Maintaining a clean facility was also part of my day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Assistant Golf Professional (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 12, 2013
Pros: interaction with all the guests
Cons: pay
The people were great. The growth was good. A very fun to place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Greenskeeper (Former Employee), Indian wells golf resortFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: indian wells golf course need to find better management
Cons: fire troon
I worked at Indian wells golf course. The management is horrible. They treat there maintance crew really bad. The superintendents are really rude to everybody. They see there workers like they are pieces of trash. Not just that they talk to you like your not worth a dime. Really bad management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult Environment
Former Banquet Manager (Former Employee), OcotilloJanuary 22, 2013
Fear driven management. No job security.

Departments played against each other.

Huge turnover in upper management.

No GM in place.

Inexperienced Wife of Owner running the place. Focus on Food and Beverage, No people skills, no direction except - spend no money, and show me the profit. She has no golf knowledge so Golf runs on it's own with no accountability – more... under a person with much the same nurturing ability as owners wife.

Bad, Bad, Bad, If you have a choice look elsewhere! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having management experience and culinary experience makes mean excellent candidate for this position.
Banquet Chef (Former Employee), White Plains, NYJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: health care experience, good communications and people skills, excellent customer relations skills.
Cons: have a nurchering personnality
My motto is to come to work happy and go home happy. I worked an average of a 12 hour day. Being very dedicated to the profession, I make friends easily, follow through on instructions, and produce superior quality products for the clients. My skills were always being tested so I always had to rise to the occasion. I enjoy the creativity of the field – more... and also like to take small 5 to 10 minute breaks rather than a large break before the next big project. Management relied on my expertise to which we had a very good relationship. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a couple years
Corporate Accountant (Current Employee), Scottsdale, AZJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: if you like golf you get golf discounts
Cons: company culture
You get a good amount of experience in property accounting. The company communication is not good and it works it's way heavily into the daily work. Roles and expectations are either not clear or not reasonable. Everytime there is a restructure management speaks about the growth opportunities at the company but in my experience there is little to none. – more... In general most of the time you feel like you are alone on an island left to deal with issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great advancement and security
Associate (Current Employee), Coeur d'Alene, IDJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: security
Cons: travel and seasonal
The thing that I love the most about Troon Golf is that they have a program for seasonal workers that in the off season you can find a job under their company at another golf course. This place could also be outside the world because Troon has mutiple international golf courses around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company to work hard and move up in
Assistant Golf Professional (Former Employee), Round Rock, TXSeptember 12, 2012
Tons of hours and hard days at work, but worth the extra pay. Co-workers were divese and fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Membership and Event Coordinator (Current Employee), Armonk, NYMay 30, 2012
Troon is a great company to work for with a corporate office of amazing mentors

About Troon Golf

Troon Golf wants you to get teed off. The company manages the links at more thanĀ 180 golf courses throughout US states and inĀ about – Read more