TruGreen Employee Reviews

Found 1,209 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at TruGreen
Retention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 19, 2017
TruGreen customer service is fast paced. As Management is changed I can not review management. Overall I enjoyed my time with the company. The service providers were genuinely concerned with their customers. Training was offered often and you really learned the ins and outs of lawn maintenance.
Pros
lots of training and possibilities to advance great money in season
Cons
Very stressful not very stable employment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can learn a lot about dealing different types of customers.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Yaphank, NYMarch 19, 2017
The work environment very friendly, unfortunately there isn't any room for me to grow in this company because I'm interested in working in the health field.
Pros
Club 100 quarterly dinners and other incentives for employees are available.
Cons
Too micro- managed
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Lead Marketing (Former Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOMarch 16, 2017
just didn't cut it. the job was a first in first out job that just is a seasonal thing that didn't give the proper training and only ones with direction succeeded there
Pros
free brats on fridays
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard job, long hours.
Lawn Specialist (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMarch 16, 2017
Get a route in morning leave the branch you are on your own.Usually get between 25 to 40 lawns a day.The Management is a good group of people.Work with chemicals must get DOT certification.Hardest part long hours.
Pros
good medical, dental, eye and 401k
Cons
hard work long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like to work...
Lawn Technician (Current Employee) –  Minnetonka, MNMarch 15, 2017
I enjoy working without someone constantly looking over my shoulder, and this job fits me like a glove. It gives me the exercise that I need and keeps me healthy. It pays well and supports my family sufficiently. I arrive at the customer's lawn and provide exceptional service resulting in a beautiful lawn. It's my job to determine what is best for that lawn when I arrive. I decide wether to use granule or a liquid fertilizer, "spot treating" the weeds, as I know it is not healthy to "blanket" the entire landscape in herbicide. My mission is be egrinomically responsible and to make the lawn that I'm working on, look like I would want my own lawn to look.
Pros
I can choose my own break times (I.e. schedule)
Cons
Very physical work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Landscaper (Former Employee) –  Auburn, WAMarch 14, 2017
The job was nice and quick paced I really enjoyed it and the workout I got from it only thin was boss didn't have a steady schedule which I need cause I have a child
Pros
fun people
Cons
bad communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced...
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Suwanee, GAMarch 12, 2017
Customer Service for TruGreen is a very busy and demanding position. This is a high volume call center. The hours vary - every three weeks the schedule changes. That is probably the most challenging part of working at TruGreen.
Pros
Coworkers are nice
Cons
Hours vary and change every 3 weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Want a job or a career?
Manager Assistant (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 12, 2017
It's a career, not a job... Best decision i have ever made. Excellent benefits, retirement, compensation and recognition. Not easy finding a job you can love...
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Mcdonalds of lawn care...
Technician (Former Employee) –  North AlabamaMarch 11, 2017
Here you have all the RESPONSIBLITY of a manager or a contractor, the PAY of your average cashier, the UNREASONABLE WORKLOAD of a Chinese sweatshop, and the MICROMANAGEMENT of North Korea...

Welcome to Trugreen...

Your day starts out checking your route, loading up your truck, checking your truck for any defects, touching base with coworkers, then heading out.

We use a tablet for everything. It has a GPS on it that has your route and addresses for that day. If it sends you out and you can't find it, that goes against you.

If a gate is locked or they have dogs and you can't complete your stop, that goes against you...

If it rains and floods a customers lawn and they don't want you to service their lawn that goes against you...

The management only see numbers.

The culture is great, I love working with my coworkers. Very helpful bunch that I will miss.

The hardest part of the job is trying to control things out of your control.

The most enjoyable part is leaving at the end of the day.

I don't enjoy being negative but that is just the reality of this situation. Seriously, don't work here unless you have to.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
Efficiency>ethics, very high stress, unfair, unreasonable, micromanaged
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good company
Lawn Specialist (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSMarch 11, 2017
IT Is a Nice Place to work with wonderful people . and a great management team . TruGreen will give you opportunity if you want to good benefits nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Much too work not enough free time.
Residential Lawn Specialist (Former Employee) –  Acworth, GAMarch 11, 2017
you make good money but you will never have the time to spent it. You work in all kinds of weather conditions all in the name of getting the job done as long as there is no chance of you getting hurt. you will work more than likely over 8 hours each day just because stuff happens and it will happen.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summer job
Outside sales (Former Employee) –  Plainfield, ILMarch 11, 2017
great for college kids but not to provide for a family all year. Door to door sales bad weather not so good. Pay for the time was ok. 6 days a week job with not much time off.
Pros
nothing much
Cons
pay hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as you network with many people.
Residential Customer Service Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMarch 9, 2017
Fast paced and exciting in regards to selling a product that helps people maintain the value of their home with no loss of time to them. Encouraging based on improving your sales and bonus.
Pros
Great training programs
Cons
Inclimate weather when outdoors.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it a good place to work
Lawn Care Specialist (Current Employee) –  Plainfield, ILMarch 8, 2017
for the 13 year i ben thir it is and alway a good place to work but i need something all year long but all the boss are nice to us. the company is good to all people
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that values their employees
Field Worker (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 8, 2017
-Concrete Training (no throwing you in the deep end)
-positive reinforcement
-room to move up (management opportunities)
-good team work and encouragement
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
make friendship with co workers
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  MarylandMarch 7, 2017
Don't do it if your gonna be a salesman your going to get robbed of your time, money

$1800.00 dollar sale to trugreen they will pay you only $35.00
Yeah not worth it.
Pros
Mangers, supervisors are awesome
Cons
Commission is absolute horrible thats why i quit today. Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trugreen what a mess
Pesticide Applicator (Current Employee) –  Cape Cod MassachusettsMarch 7, 2017
This place sucks all they do is try to make you rip off the customer we give people weeds and then we charge them to take them away that's what they do
Pros
Crape
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
customer service rep (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDMarch 6, 2017
saving customers (retention) and cancelling accounts
daily tracers and role play assignments
help assist customers with their lawn concerns
sending escalations/ calling managers
sending messages to specialist through computer system to handheld device
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working outside
Lawn Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Alcoa, TNMarch 6, 2017
loved working at trugreen, still hope to get back on. I had a sense of freedom with adventure. driving from place to place taking in the sites, working by myself on my lawns. if anything went wrong, it was on me to fix it or help solve the problem.
Pros
working for shane
Cons
would have been nice to have some help on bigger yards
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Marketing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 6, 2017
Good com pen sation and gives a good work life ba lance. Good hours. Great team work. Leader ship has great cha racter. I love wor king here.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TruGreen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,227 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.1