Trustco Bank Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 63 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hometown bank
Head Teller (Current Employee) –  NYJune 3, 2016
the job itself is not bad... an old-fashioned, offline bank struggling in an online world. They pride themselves with customer service and professional atmosphere, but are very slow with responses and decisions. Staff turn around rate is very high, Customers complain about seeing new faces all of the time.
Pros
location, hours open, customers/coworkers
Cons
lack of support and training, low pay/high responsibility, verbal abuse from customers, lack of staffing
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Venice, FLMay 24, 2016
The bank and all of it's functions were run out of the home branch in New York. But, the slogan was "Your Hometown Bank".
Very difficult to function and to get a correct answer to any question.
Pros
None.
Cons
No mileage reimbursement, travel everyday to Branch Offices.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Employee (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYApril 25, 2016
Communication was zero to none. High turnover of employees. The employees were the best part of the job.

It got very slow and time would drag.
Pros
Friendly staff, meeting new customers, learning about the products.
Cons
Low pay, high priced benefits, at will employer they can let you go for no reason.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you're worst nightmare
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  New YorkMarch 29, 2016
As many others have described, the company is truly a bad one to work for in so many ways. For the sake of brevity I'll just mention a few;

Terrible training
Obsolete technology
Incredible turnover (with all the associated problems it creates)
Poor morale among the vast majority of staff
Difficult customers (due to the poor banking experience they receive)
Staff scheduling difficulties
A generally regressive work atmosphere
A complete lack of caring for all but a very small percentage of workers
Poor hiring practices (placing employees in positions their ill suited for)

OK, that was more than a few, but it is hard to refrain from listing just how backward this company's operations are.
Pros
Unfortunately none
Cons
see review
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers and customers are only enjoyable aspect
Bank Teller (Current Employee) –  Guilderland, NYMarch 3, 2016
I genuinely enjoy my co-workers and customers. The pay is less than desirable which in turn makes the very limited benefits not affordable. The raises are paltry and whereas there is room for advancement, the raises given do not equal the extra work and responsibility involved with the upgrade in position. Bonuses are given, but only to upper management, and only if required goals are met. Very disappointed to feel like my employer really could care less about teller staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant working environment
Head Teller (Former Employee) –  Cobleskill, NYFebruary 29, 2016
My customers were my main priority. I knew many by name and I am able to still see them in the community and I get to speak to them, I still miss them at Trustco.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast passed and upbeat
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Scotia, NYJanuary 25, 2016
Very friendly people that come in and out of the branches. Upbeat motivated individuals.
The most enjoyable part of working for this company is the opportunity and being able to communicate with multiple people throughout your day.
I worked with very friendly, energetic people who were goal driven and wanted to better themselves each and everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative Not Professional
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  6 Metro Park Albany NYJanuary 25, 2016
Short breaks, must bank there in order to get paid, way too social, and treat their employees poorly.There is definitely favoritism and is not very diversity.
Pros
easy work
Cons
Short breaks, must bank there in order to get paid, way too social, and treat their employees poorly
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teller (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYDecember 28, 2015
After completing my teller training I received a $150 gift card to start my new wardrobe for work. I really enjoyed the training that was provided by the company and the benefits were great.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work atmosphere in high stress industry
Teller (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYDecember 16, 2015
Opening Bank
Securing Area
Accounting all money in area
Opening drawers
Run through night deposits
Morning paperwork
Open Bank to public
While engaged with customers, always be filing or completing paperwork.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company
Head Teller/Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 12, 2015
ok company easy less work and low pay,
friendly good hours work load is less, started as a partime and now a head teller good place to get experience.
Pros
easy
Cons
ok
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Teller (Former Employee) –  Winter Springs, FLNovember 12, 2015
typical days were busy but productive
co-workers and management were not friendly
pay was less than decent
people never get back to you on a request because they simply don't care
Pros
comfortable workplace
Cons
NO opportunity for advancement, pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Head Teller (Former Employee) –  Cobleskill, NYJuly 15, 2015
I enjoyed working at the bank I had a great customer relationship. I got along with my co workers and overall enjoyed the professional atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products, poor oversight
Business Development Officer (Current Employee) –  Longwood, FLJuly 1, 2015
Trustco Bank is a good place to work because it's easy to believe in the products. It's simple, straightforward banking and the goal is to create lasting relationships with our customers. Certain departments have very poor oversight and overall communication within those departments is severely strained. The Bank expects its employees to work hard but is not willing to compensate fairly for the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good experience.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYMay 26, 2015
Management was horrible. Not enough training. Your job was always on the line, and they didn't care how long you have worked there for.
Cons
management, job security
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good but the system and the technical support and equipment is not.
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  AlbanyMay 18, 2015
The equipment needs to be changed and updated.
It is good but the system and the technical support and equipment is not.
I was responsible for cashing checks and processing transactions.
My coworkers were good and my manager was very kind.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company
Tier II Senior Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  New YorkApril 30, 2015
Overall, the company is not bad to work for on a day to day basis. They should have shorter hours like other banks. The biggest problem is they do not pay people enough to retain good talent. They have become known as a stepping stone bank. Go there get some experience and then apply at a "real bank" who has decent hours and pays very well.
Upper management are not mean or tyrants but on the same hand do not expect a pat on the back for good work. Any meetings or calls are always negative. If you need to get into the banking industry its a great place to learn, I highly doubt you would make a life long career with this company unless they change.
Pros
Bonus for managers, good time off, fully vested in 401k from day 1
Cons
poor management, very poor pay compared to other banks and same title, high turnover, long hours, very little coverage for managers
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, good benefits and friendly staff
Teller (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYApril 13, 2015
The training was awesome and once on the job I learned things quickly. The branch is small and is hardly ever crowded so you get to know the clients quick.
Pros
Decent pay, good benefits
Cons
slow paced work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff Accountant
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Glenville, NYFebruary 23, 2015
Friendly management, friendly co-workers, worked in the headquarters, pretty quiet day overall, learned a lot about all the different reports that have to be sent out.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for.
Head Teller (Current Employee) –  Port Orange, FLFebruary 17, 2015
great place overall to work for. Great people to work for. Hours are good and off on all major holidays. Customers are always a pleasure to work with.
Pros
hours
Cons
have to work weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 63 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
2.8