Find companies:
Tucson Unified School District
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Tucson Unified School District Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A preponderance of dysfunction
One-to-one aide (Former Employee), VariousJuly 16, 2014
As a one-to-one aide in the Tucson Unified School District, I experienced some well-run schools (Tucson High School, for example), fine teachers, and functionally-run classrooms. I also experienced things that should not be going on in public schools: assistant principals who seemed to enjoy messing with employees and shouldn't have been anywhere near – more... children (Doolen Middle School--perhaps it's better now, if the two employees who shall remain nameless have left), unsafe working conditions, dysfunctional classrooms, harassment between students at the high school level that goes unchecked, and a district that does not know the parameters of either federal law, or their own governing board's policies, and so ends up kowtowing to manipulative parents.

After working for TUSD, I came to realize how a fish smells from the top down, so to speak, and chances are that, whenever a public school is actually educating kids, there's probably either an amazing principal or amazing teachers causing it to happen. It certainly isn't an accident, and it certainly isn't the norm. I can say that after experiencing education in a Waldorf school and seeing what happens when students are treated as human beings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Found difficult to find permanent job placement
Substitute Teacher/ 5th grade Teacher (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 13, 2014
Pros: had my own classroom
Cons: large class sizes
Majority low income schools, limited supplies, friendly staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice school to work at!
Special Education Teacher Self Contained ED (Former Employee), Tucson, AZMay 13, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: help when needed
Worked in special education self-contained class. Had three assistance in the room. The co-workers were great to work with buy upper management not so much. The children learning something they have been working on was the best part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging working with students with dual personalities
Campus Monitor (Former Employee), Cholla High School Tucson, Az.May 13, 2014
I enjoyed my experience with TUSD. My typical day was checking in the early AM at morning meeting. After meeting I would go to assigned work area usually decided at meeting to cover any late co workers or possible call in from co workers. I was given a weekly rotation schedule but was never followed due to being placed where someone else was missing. – more... I learned how to positively interact with youth. My main responsibility was to assist Teachers with students making disturbances in class and on campus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEST JOB
Exceptional Education Teachers Assistant (Former Employee), Tucson, AZApril 23, 2014
Pros: helped me realize my passion to be a teacher!
Cons: n/a
I was a classroom assistant for students with developmental, behavioral and academic disabilities. I was responsible for helping students in their academics as well as everyday objectives. I have worked with a variety of age groups ranging from preschool through middle preschoolers. In each of these settings, along with their learning objectives I have – more... helped with feeding, toileting, and communication objectives.

For some of these students I have used sign language as well. With each site and each classroom I have always made a deep connection with one, if not all my students by integrating my previous energy work. I have used one modality (Cranial-Sacral) in order to make the connection with the students as well to help the students relax and re-focus on their daily tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexiblity to create and implement innovative lesson plans
Middle School Teacher-Gifted and Talented (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: summers off
Cons: income
I enjoyed creating lessons that opened the minds of my students, and I enjoyed the interpersonal relationships that I had with my students and fellow staff members. Teaching is a truly rewarding career, but it's impossible to make a comfortable living on the salary that a school district provides.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challeging , fun and lots of TLC.
Ex Ed Teacher Assistant - Grijalva Elementary (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: i was able to teach a child how to be productive and independient .
Cons: my job was terminate because it was no more funds.
assist teachers with children with learning disabilities. This job was the most satisfactory job I ever had. Working with children with disabilities are the most reward career a person can have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love helping families
Office Manager/Attendance Clerk Registration Tech (Former Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 25, 2013
Pros: low health care premiums, strong family ties
Cons: not working year round
Co workers are amazing . I enjoyed getting to know the students, their families and watching them grow up. My job was exciting and always busy, which I liked. I had no experience when I started but moved my way up with hard work, dedication and a strong work ethic. I am sad to leave but feel it is time to learn something new.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was tough
Database Specialist (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 16, 2013
Pros: somewhat of a stable atmosphere. 1010 has cousins, uncles, aunts
Cons: low pay and the insurance premium isn't affordable
Lots of bureaucratic issues. My manager was a bully. Her manager was never around.

I found that if you spoke up you would be pushed down. So, it was hard to be creative, ask for feedback or offer suggestions for improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with good pay and benefits
Exceptional Education Compliance Technician (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 12, 2013
The job I had was in a fast paced environment all managed on my own with little to no supervisory help. Trainings were given often on new and existing student software and management was always quite helpful. Co-workers were team oriented and we worked well together for the same goal which was bringing funding into our department for special education – more... children. The hardest part of the job was staying on top of the ever changing compliance issues handed down from the State Education Department but numerous trainings and meetings made it easier to deal with those changes. The most enjoyable part was just knowing at the end of the day, that a job well done meant I made a difference in a child's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed working with children and making a difference.
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 9, 2013
I really enjoyed helping kids out with school work and all my co-workers were welcoming and really easy to get along with. I enjoyed learning new things like how to take the Azella test.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything you hear in the media is true.
Administrative Assistant - Employee Relations (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 1, 2013
Pros: well, the pay and benefits and retirement are decent...
Cons: see above.
A culture of complacency, nepotism, no accountability, finger-pointing, and tattle-taling. Prediction is that they will go under state government receivership in no time. I would trust that prediction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Personnel/Payroll Tech (Current Employee), Tucson, AZJune 10, 2013
I enjoy working, great co-workers, we work as a team, I have learned alot and still to continue to learn. Management is supportive. Overall great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJune 3, 2013
learned the essentials of being an office assistant. customer service skills was a must in this work field. was a great job to have as a student
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun place to be if you love working with children of all ages.
Instructional Specialist - Bilingual Tutor/Teacher (Current Employee), Tucson, AZApril 26, 2013
Pros: meeting parents who are active in our school and with their children.
Cons: not enough time to teach all you want.
A typical day is always being prepared and be ready with extra material incase you need to go the next step or you have a teachable moment. I've learned that patience and alertness are your best alies with children. You have to be two steps ahead of them. Co-workers are great listeners and always willing to help you out with suggestions when you need – more... them. Management is also there to support, help and give advice. The hardest part of my job is trying to figure out a kid who hasn't been able to progress in reading. I try different strategies and give extra help and sumetimes that doesn't help. The most enjoyable part of my job is spending time with children plus getting to know about them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Receptionist/Staff Assistant (Former Employee), Tucson, AZFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: i learned the importance communications.
Cons: this was a grant funded position, wasn't sure how long i would work there.
During the time that I worked for the Tucson Unified School district it was fun and a good work environment. My Supervisor, Director and co-workers got along really well. I was a busy office, with people coming in and out. I learned how to be a good receptionist, by all the different assignments that I received. I met alot of the top managers for the – more... district. My co-workers were fun, loving, caring. The most enjoyable part is that I got the opportunity to work with lot of important people, that cared about their students and families, they always tried to accomodate them in any way that they could. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR is where I belong...
Employee Relations Assistant (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: working with upper management
Cons: having to work difficult situations with the employees
I was given an opportunity to work in Human Resources at Texas Instruments and found my home!
I loved changing the Human Resource environment to a positive and energetic environment. Helping the employees with resolving employee’s concerns related to benefits issues, payroll issues, and other administrative concerns.
Coordinated on-going events including – more... recognition lunches, dinners.
The hardest thing for me was when I supported consolidation process due to change in business charter resulting in a series of seven phases for reductions-in-force and a change in work shift schedules. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working with the faculty and staff
teacher (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: time off during christmas breaks and during the summer.
Cons: being in the heat all day
days are long,i learned how to deal with kids who have not grwn up with anything.ilearned several management skills to deal with students,my co workers were great, they ar e some of the best people i have ever met.dealing with students that are very disrespectful. the most enjoyable thing is to see a kid get there in 6th grade and then leave when he – more... or she is through with 8th grade. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed seeing the kids everyday and moving on each year
Crossing Guard (Former Employee), Tucson, AZSeptember 28, 2012
Pros: seeing 5th graders move onto junior high
Cons: weather change
saying good morning to everyone then leaving and returning in the afternoon. didn't have much mangement at assigned school but the office people in school were very friendly. and my partner was very nice. the afternoon heat was hardest part
Enjoyable part was seeing the children progress in school and saying hi and bye each day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enviroment,flexible schedule and hours
school bus driver (Former Employee), drove mainly on westside of tucsonDecember 30, 2011
Pros: the management, co-workers and events great place to work
Cons: i can not think of any
T.U.S.D. was a good company ,management is supportive and helpful, all employees embrace team philsophy,instructions and updates to enhance productivity were current and often. safety and teamwork were strongly stressed.