Tulane Medical Center

33 reviews

Tulane Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 33 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't keep anyone
medical assistant (Former Employee) –  Uptown ClinicJanuary 6, 2016
Loved the patients but the management over looks so much in the clinic. Hours are always cut, pay is not the best, a lot of drama, the only good thing was the experience and patients.
Pros
Patients
Cons
pay, management, some doctors, drama, unethical practices
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tulane Hospital
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LADecember 29, 2015
I loved working in a workplace where the job itself makes your day go by and we get to enjoy interesting conversations as we continue to work thru the day
Pros
we got to enjoy our free meals
Cons
we learned to get the jobs done as quickly as possible
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not steady in keeping employees who are full time on a full time schedule
Medical Office Assistant/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LANovember 12, 2015
The flexing of all employees has become a problem for the employees to survive and make a decent living. It is becoming hard to manage basic living. Need full time work and pay, not just full time work with less pay, due to flexing.
Pros
Free parking
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring Place to Work
MOA/CSC (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAOctober 29, 2015
Working at Tulane is very fun and adventerous. I have experienced som hard times at TUMC and they were here to back me up with so much love and support.
Pros
Close to home, Off on Weekends
Cons
No Paid Benefits, Short Lunches, Berevement Help
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work which made your day go fast.
Patient Acct Representative/Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LASeptember 29, 2015
We get in the office in the morning and early and drink coffee and give morning greetings. Each day I learn a better way of dealing with customers. The most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with people, I love people.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LouisianaAugust 4, 2015
Certain clinics does not let the MOA (medical assistant) utilize their skills. You're lucky if you get in a clinic that has coworkers who are not messy.
Pros
flexible working schedule
Cons
micromanagement
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient services coordinator
Patients accounts coordinator (Former Employee) –  New Orleans,LAJune 11, 2015
Got pertinent medical information on patients ready for physicians.
Scheduled procedures for specialists. Checked patients in and out, entered patient demographics and medical information into computer
to facilitate care of patients. I loved dealing with patients, nurses and physicians to make sure patients had the best care possible. The hardest part of my job was dealing with coworkers to get them to prioritize their duties.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
coworkers who didn't get along
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job volitile environment
nurse (Former Employee) –  TISMMay 12, 2015
Tulane Sports Medicine could be a fabulous place to work, some workers have been there too long causing a hostile environment, One physician really dictates everything that goes on and that is so wrong,
Pros
sports perspective is great
Cons
work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wait five years
Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAApril 1, 2015
Once all the techs that are over 60 and just waiting to retire are gone, Tulane might be a good place to work. There is no clear vision or forward progress here. New techs are discriminated against and talked about. No help from the older techs who are too busy fighting amongst themselves and talking about people behind their backs.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Horrible environment
Was this review helpful?Yes22No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, demanding
Manager of Infection Prevention & Control (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LANovember 5, 2014
Opportunity to learn from leaders dedicated to improving the quality of patient care.

Outsized expectations for departments with current resources.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible
PCA (Former Employee) –  New OrleansSeptember 10, 2014
scheduling was flexible, I had great experience with tulane.
Cons
old as beds like from before katrina and pt's shared rm's
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job
Patient Access Coordinator/Call Center (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAAugust 26, 2014
• Retrieve reservation/notification of scheduled admission
• Utilize Meditech MOX communication systems to facilitate communication with hospital system
• Perform pre-registration and insurance verification
• Assign I-Plan accurately, via the use of the Medtech and IDX system
• Contact patient via phone( with as much advance notice as possible, preferably 48 hours or obtain missing demographic, quote/collect patient cost share, and instruction of appointment
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible leadership
Practice Manager (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 8, 2014
Need an overhaul of leadership. No support given to employees. No job security. 3 major layoffs in 2 years. Culture is horrible and stuck in old ways. Loose great people because of politics. Poor patient care. Would never recommend.
Pros
convenient and easy to get a job
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes31No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
MOA/CSC Call Center Rep (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 1, 2014
steady paced ,
great coworkers,
great work hours
didnt like answering the phone so much
sending messages was pointless
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthcare
Customer Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 18, 2014
interesting place to work and be productive as well as meeting and interacting with new people
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Family.
Medical Office Assistant/USC (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAMay 26, 2014
Tulane employees has a great co-worker friend relationship. I know everybody at the hospital and everybody knows me. Greeted by smiles everyday and that makes the day go well.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flex Pool
Telemetry Unit - Flex Pool Nurse (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAMay 13, 2014
I worked 8, 12, or 16 hour shifts.

I worked mostly on telemetry and med-surgical floors.

The hardest part of job was lifting heavy patients.
Pros
flex schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes17No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced academic hospital
current employee (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAFebruary 18, 2014
I love working for Tulane Hospital. It's certainly not perfect, but I feel that most of the time supervisors are willing to work to help fix things as needed. Patients are great, and I feel supported in growing as a professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to grow
RN, Surgical ICU (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJanuary 25, 2014
Started working in SICU, then became liver transplant coordinator; loved my job, but my children were little and job was very demanding, but enjoyable
Pros
great atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes21No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work.
Medical Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LaOctober 21, 2013
A very busy OB/Gyn clinic. My job was to triage, assist, and stock in the clinic. Our team was great. We were a small clinc but produced a very high volume of work. the hardest part was keeping pace with the volume of calls and walk-ins in our small clinic but our management team would step in when needed to help keep the flow of clinic moving. I only left this job because of the hurrican that forced me to move to Texas.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No1

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture