Tulsa Public Schools Employee Reviews

Showing all 118 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very routine job.
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKApril 12, 2017
unload students off bus, help with learning activities, feeding, and changing of students. the best part of the job was that we was off all summer, the worst part is that you do not get paid over the summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the job for you if you love working with children.
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMarch 26, 2017
I really loved this as my very first job. I've learned so much while in this position. I enjoyed having a flexible schedule and being able to make my own hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
having Compassion for Kids
bus driver (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMarch 24, 2017
Great work Place if you like working with kids. Great pay learning to drive a bus and being an aware and alert driver. Keeping Children safe while driving the bus. Getting children to school on and being a good role model
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers!
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMarch 21, 2017
Great Co-workers! The most enjoyable part of being a teacher her is by far the community of students we have in our area. I would not trade them for the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Bus Driver, Transit and Intercity (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMarch 10, 2017
its possible to get 40+ hours a week with this company plus great benefits. big opportunity for job advancement. The company is very flexible. Management is caring and understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
teacher (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMarch 7, 2017
A very energetic place to work. My supervisor was wonderful and helped staff and students learn and grow. Lots of schools in the district and so the availability to work at different schools exist.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great schools
Para Professional/Teacher (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMarch 7, 2017
Very good place to work. Only left because I had to get a better paying job for my lifestyle, otherwise I would still be there. Get your nights and weekends off.
Pros
Work with kids and really make a difference
Cons
Pay is not the best in the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMarch 6, 2017
Seeing the kids helping them to learn new things everyday, that was something I have enjoyed. The only thing is that there was too much work for not enough money. I will have to say
Working as a Subteacher had helped to prepare myself on becoming a teacher one day, I have learned a lot being in the classroom observing the teachers and the students that was pretty helpful, I have gain lots of knowledge by being a substitute teacher at Tulsa public school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMarch 2, 2017
Worked as a Substitute Teacher- short tenure.
During time subbing it was a rewarding experience and the school staff where informative.
Very organized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding career
Office Temp (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKFebruary 28, 2017
Worked with small groups of children using an intervention program to enhance their reading skills. Good peer support and leadership.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Server (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKFebruary 24, 2017
Manageable serving lines fixing fruit and on trays . Cleaning helping direct kids to eat healthy and stay fit . What like most is being around kids and being positive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large district
Classroom Teacher (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKFebruary 6, 2017
Large district that has many opportunities to work with a diverse group of individuals. Students usually need to be bused to a different area of town for both middle and high schools.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job
Cafeteria Manager (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKFebruary 5, 2017
Hardest part of the job is not knowing what school I'm managing the next day, and working at a school that's 20 miles away from the areas I'm use to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tulsa Public Schools
Faculty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKDecember 14, 2016
Tulsa Public Schools is a large, urban district which is very diverse. The state of Oklahoma should increase funding to public schools so that districts can meet the needs of students and families.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety classes
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKDecember 9, 2016
I learned how to mop, scrub, strip, wax and buff a marble and tile flooring. I am definitely a lot cleaner person. I learn how to check all my surrounding area to see how clean a establishment is.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKDecember 5, 2016
I enjoyed being an employee for Tulsa Public Schools. Assisting students with different task and being apart of a team of teachers that actually care about the education of the next generation.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigid, but rewarding.
PC Technician II (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKNovember 30, 2016
TPS is a great place to work with a few exceptions. Annual renewal of employment requirement is an actual stressor since there is no guarantee you will have a job next year, and strict clock-in/clock-out rules hinder productivity from time to time, even though it's understandable with the tight budget with which TPS has to manage.
Pros
Good pay. Rewarding from the point that the customers openly appreciate your work.
Cons
Annual "rehire" policy, OT not allowed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Challenging
PC Technician (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKNovember 29, 2016
Loved every second of being a PC tech. The team knows what they are doing and you are accepted as a human not a number. Not many places actually make you want to get up in thew morning and go to work but TPS did.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the kids not the management
Cafeteria Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKNovember 28, 2016
The best part about this job was seeing the kids everyday
the hardest part was being under staff everyday
the worst part was the management of the school i was working at.
Pros
Free breakfast and free lunch
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKNovember 15, 2016
Don't get me wrong. I love the kids. That's where the love ends.

There are more meetings and data than you will know what to do with.
Pros
Teaching children
Cons
the money/politics
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tulsa Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 118 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6

Tulsa Public Schools Reviews by Location