Find companies:
TULSA WELDING SCHOOL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

TULSA WELDING SCHOOL Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people good work enviroment
Maintenance Assistant (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKOctober 30, 2014
Pros: a/c, cafeteria, paid weekly
Cons: bad pay, temporary
I would sign in and just hand out electrodes so I stayed pretty busy I helped clean bathrooms and probably make a few tables.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and Great work
Secretary/VP Assistant (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKOctober 24, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no insurance
I always laughed at least once everyday, with so many different personalities. Couldn't have asked for better co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they fired a guy when he got cancer
Senior Admissions Representative (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 10, 2014
highest turnover any place i have worked. Eight bosses in eight yrs
5 presidents. when i said you are not ethical to the last boss he wrote me up. went to the president she said he is not going any where. tried to force me into a letter of resignation. walked out . they both got let go after i quit. they both got fired and now after sticking up for – more... the lady that had a heart bypass im looking for new work.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJuly 23, 2014
wouldn't recommend. lots of time their is nothing to do so you have to find something to fill your time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary
Receptionist (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 15, 2014
Pros: good pay, monday-friday
Cons: lack of leadership, no structure
Working for this school was rough. They lack structure, but i did manage to learn a bit from the other receptionist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment to work in
Welder (Former Employee), Tulsa OklahomaMarch 25, 2014
Pros: quaterly bonus's
Cons: nothing really
The trainning was exceptionally challenging. Other words awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Tulsa OklahomaMarch 5, 2014
Constantly busy
I learned additional skills to enhance my trade
Administration Department was excellent and helpful
The students I worked with were motivated
Hardest part of the was not learning more in the short period
Most enjoyable part of the job was the learning experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instant gratification as an Instructor/Educator
Instructor/Educator (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLFebruary 20, 2014
Cons: shift work that was no longer conducive to my lifestyle.
This has been a wonderful opportunity to assist others in obtaining an education that can provide a wonderful quality of life by learning this technical trade.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good school.
Welder (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKOctober 13, 2013
Pros: open very late
Cons: some machinery was faulty.
I was taught a lot here. It covered various types of welding. GMAW, GTAW, SMAW, FCAW. I graduated with over 800 hours of documented welding hours. Required hours: 750.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry Level
professional welder program (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: learn a trade
Cons: lots of students per instructor
Tulsa Welding School is a good place to learn a skill. you go in and weld. you get 1 15 minute break. But you meet alot of good people bettering themselfes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would never recommend working at this school...
Sr Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 6, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: upper management has no clue how to run a successful school - they are running tws into the ground!
When working here - you are constantly in fear of losing your job.

Upper Management doesn't care about the students - it's all about the number of students that start school; whether it's the right decision for the student or not...

Trying to be ethical - while still maintaining the "numbers" that you need so that you don't lose your job.

Loved working – more... with the students and my co-workers, it was the management team that made it impossible to keep a healthy balance - good students and job security... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dishonest, underhanded, cut-throat
director of admissions (Former Employee), JacksonvilleApril 17, 2013
Pros: experience in how bad management can be
Cons: read review.
Corporate management should all be fired. This is by far the most corrupt group of individuals assembled in one location. Absolutely insane place to work. If you take a position here update your resume and start looking for a new job immediately. It doesn't master if they like you or if you do well they will fire you for sport. Believe every negative – more... comment you read and understand there are others that just didn't bother posting. Nothing good comes from working for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For stress puppies only...
Financial Aid Dept. (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: great co-workers, medical benefits
Cons: no appreciation for employees, extreme work overload, very low pay, ridiculous turnover, stress
A typical day was constant frustration. I learned CYA here. Management will throw you under any bus that rolls by. Beware!!

The only reason it gets a star is because I enjoyed helping the students, and I had great co-workers. This job was my first experience working for a school... it may be my last.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized work schedule
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKFebruary 7, 2013
Supervisors were supportive and understanding. If a worker needed help they showed them what and what not to do. I was shown quicker and easier ways of getting jobs done by working a routine around the shop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lost
High School Admissions Representative (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJanuary 14, 2013
They had no processes and were very unorganized, they hired and fired without regard to life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work!
Admission (Former Employee), JacksonvilleSeptember 17, 2012
The employees are treated like dirt. Corp. management doesn't care about firing employees.....I think they like it? I've seen 7 Director of Admissions in two years!!!! The students are great but this place is disorganized from the top down. Tulsa Welding's Corp office only cares about getting money from the government......they don't care about the – more... students and especially the workers. Oh, DOA is Dead On Arrival or the Director of Admissions. – less

February 16, 2013

So true!!! Financial Aid had 5 Directors in less than 2 years!!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very organized or professional
Welding Instructor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 30, 2012
Pros: rewarding work
Cons: management
If you are not personal friends with management you will not last long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun nice people, not to long
Welder (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 14, 2012
Pros: very profeisonal.
Cons: there is no bad side about this school.
i have learned a lot the little time i have spent her my co-workers are a great group of people the culture is many of diferent reaces just great group of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great leaning environment to better prepare me for the workplace of cutting and beveling metal
Building Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 25, 2012
Used assorted welding and cutting equipment to fabricate parts and make repairs. Performed custodial, grounds keeping and building maintenance duties. Set up welding equipment and stocked welding consumables. Helped entry level students cut and prepare metal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 18, 2012
Pros: free snacks and drinks, knowledge from the instructors, being able to help classmates in lower phases
Cons: minimal pay
After going to school each day I would start at work. Work throughout the day consist of making sure that the students had all of the necessary materials to complete the projects assigned as in metal plate on the cuttting tables, pipe cut to one foot lengths, made sure that welding rods were stocked in pre-warming ovens, filler metal rods for TIG were – more... in full supply, cut filler rods to 18 inch lengths, supervise newer employees to make sure that their tasks were being completed, refilling of water jugs, refilling of ear plugs, refilling of glass replacement lenses, refilling of soapstone, sweeping maintainance department and changing out tables and pipes in the booths. While working there I learned how to use the knowledge of what I was learning in class and produce useful things like tables and cabinets for our sister school, TWS HVAC. Management was disorganized and didn't communicate effectively. My co-workers were great to work with because most of them were in lower phases than myself and I could help them learn ways of doing up and coming projects. By the time I left everyone was asking me for hints, tips and tricks of how to complete their projects. The hardest part of this job was the supervisors argumentative attitudes. The most enjoyable part of this job was talking to the instructors as a co-worker and not as a student. Their insight of how the industry works in and out will be very helpful to me in the future. – less