Find companies:
Turkey Hill Minit Markets
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Turkey Hill Minit Markets Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hard days' work with exciting people to work with.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Elizabethtown, PAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: working with the public
The typical day at work includes stocking, cash handling, people in general. I meet new people every day, and see the same people as well. Building a foundation of relationships with customers is of high importance, and it's done every day. When all goes well, working with one another is one of the greatest parts of the job. The most difficult part – more... of the job is making sure every task gets accomplished before the end of each shift. It is sometimes difficult, but that is what makes the challenge and reward greater. The most enjoyable part of the job is creating a relationship, even for only a few minutes, with everyone who walks through the doors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs!
Store Manager (Current Employee), Lancaster, PAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: nothing worth mentioning.
Cons: leadership, physical conditions of stores, little support for stores.
It is hard to believe that this organization stays afloat with the poor leadership that exists. Upper management treats store management with open contempt. If you are looking to maintain an ounce of self esteem or self respect this is not the company for you. It thrives on the 'good ole boy concept'. You could be totally inept but if you are someone's – more... buddy you are in! From district level on up they take a lot of pride in destroying the self esteem of every store team and telling you how bad you are. This is mostly in effort to deflect their shortcomings. Most, if not all,have no leadership ability at all. That coupled with very little industry knowledge makes for a bad work environment. If you enjoy a fast pace and engaging customers than this is a good job, just not the right place to work. It thrives on the history of Turkey Hill in Central PA and it's affiliation with Kroger. That will soon end as people rezlize the competition is better! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced upbeat environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Hanover< PANovember 27, 2013
Pros: fast, fun, friendly
Cons: compensation
Busy place 99% of the time. Enjoyable atmosphere. Always room for advancement if you put in the effort.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work.
Clerk (Former Employee), Lampeter, PAOctober 8, 2013
Working at Turkey Hill as a clerk is awful. I started at minimum wage, and though I got one .30 cent raise after my three month evaluation, I never got another after that. The managers are supposed to do an evaluation every three months and they did not. So I was paid minimum wage, working 30-40 hour weeks at part time, and had all the closing responsibilities. – more... Turkey Hill was a terrible place to work, and the company is very unfair to its employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Manager (Current Employee), Sunbury, PAOctober 7, 2013
Pros: everyday, loyal customers
Cons: hard to balance a life outside of managment
I have worked at Turkey Hill Minit Markets for a little over 14 yrs now. I have learned a lot in these past 14 yrs and continue to learn more everyday. My typical day at Turkey Hill is going in at 5 am and getting daily paperwork completed, customer service, making coffee, cleaning, daily banking, stocking shelves, coolers, freezers, taking care of – more... any customer or employee issues, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Store Associate (Former Employee), Schuylkill Haven, PASeptember 16, 2013
Lack of communication between management leaving the employees to deal with the consequences..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail
Store Manager (Former Employee), Carbondale, PAAugust 22, 2013
days were hectic but very filled with much to do. Paperwork in the morning, customers, and many projects and deadlines to meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to advance to higher position
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Plymouth, PAAugust 21, 2013
Pros: reward card that gives you a lot of extras for your money.
Cons: working with associates who don't have the work ethics that you have and believe in.
It is a great place to learn about the process of running a large store. You learn how to enter orders into the handheld to send to your merchandiser. you learn all aspect of where to get your product to how to display for the best point of sale for the product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greedy corporation
Store Manager (Former Employee), York, PAJuly 31, 2013
Pros: benifits not bad if you can get full time
Cons: unrealistic expectations, no breaks, rude upper management
I worked for this company for 21 years and was fired. They said it was because of poor work performance, but 3 months prior I was asked to take a promotion to a higher volume store. The real reason I was fired was because they could save $15,000 - $20,000 a year by replacing me with a new inexperienced manager. Upper management is rude and nasty. Policies – more... are continuously being changed and store associates are expected to work miracles for little more than minimum wage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical of corporate America in this economy
Store Manager (Former Employee), landisvilleJune 6, 2013
Pros: free coffee, and sodas
Cons: no balance for our lives
I was fired for employee performance, as I was a store manager. We were constantly held to unrealistic standards, while our concerns and opinions fell on deaf ears. Upper management had a laser focus on the bottom line which led to many quality managers being fired for ridiculous reasons or they left before being fired. I enjoyed the customers and the – more... job when I joined the company, but as the upper management changed so did the attitude towards their employees. Our hourly employees worked hard, and there were high standards for them to follow, and most did. But it was harder to find people to stick with us as the company demanded more & more from us all.I was constantly hiring, training and losing people as they grew tired of the ever changing policies and/or procedures. Ruling by fear is not an ideal environment for employees to flourish in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard retail work enviroment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pen Argyl, PAMarch 23, 2013
Pros: not a bad part-time job for a college student
Cons: no breaks, no benefits for part-timers or vacation time
A typical day involves helping customers as well as cleaning and stocking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was an Assistant Maganer
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Dunmore, PAMarch 21, 2013
Pros: i enjoyed it
Cons: rarely had a day off.
I did everything at the store level. Great job, especially since it was the first one I ever got.

Although I was just an assistant, I carried the store, and put in the most hours a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Store Associate (Former Employee), Enola, PAMarch 12, 2013
The Turkey Hill I worked at was unlike any other. You had regular customers who you began to know and each day you were ready to go to work. You got your work done, but the people that I worked with made the day so much fun and it didn't even feel like work. Everyone got along with each other and helped out when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turkey Hill 301 was a wonderful work experience.
Cashier (Former Employee), Columbia, PAJanuary 27, 2013
Pros: free drinks
Cons: no breaks.
I would go to work and everyday would pretty much be the same. I had a list of jobs to do for cleaning up the store while i took care of the customers and kept them happy and coming back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but highly stressful
QSR MANAGER (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: employee discount
Cons: no health benefits, everyone is hired on as part-time only
A typical day involves doing inventory, stocking shelves, making the weekly schedule, cooking, and cleaning. Hardest part of the job was constantly feeling like you are under a microscope. Most enjoyable part of my job is interacting with customers. They always make me smile. Management has much room for improvements. Co-workers try their best but are – more... still underpaid, undervalued and underappreciated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is good to work for
Store Associate (Current Employee), Cherryville, PADecember 9, 2012
Company is good to work for as a temporary job until you find a full-time position. The pay isn't all that great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN!
Store manager (Former Employee), PaNovember 15, 2012
Pros: good pay/ benefits
Cons: everything else
This company is the worst! When you ask people to work for minimum wage and get a quality employee, upper management encourages store managers to discipline them for the most minor infractions. Store managers are expected to work their fingers to the bone and suspend or fire help constantly. Upper management is disrespectful and rude, only concerning – more... themselves about the bottom line instead of burning out good store managers and intimidating hourly staff with unrealistic policies. Company is run by a hierarchy of management that drives by a store quarterly, and thinks they know how one should be run. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Denver, PAOctober 5, 2012
Pros: constantly meeting new people
Cons: lack of stability
I learned how to do basically every function of a manager at this company. I was however let down when the wages werent reflective of the hard work that was being done. Awesome co-workers and a great manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work...
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Gilbertsville, PAAugust 23, 2012
Pros: works with my schedule
Cons: doesn't pay enough
A typical day a work would be to wait on customers, make coffee, do chores. What i learned at this job is to be patience. The management is Great.
Co-workers come and go. The hardest part of my job is probably lifting things. The most enjoyable part of my job is helping customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace workplace good guys to work with
Ast Supervisor of Gen. Main./ Lead Petroleum Tech (Former Employee), Centerville, PAJuly 4, 2012
Pros: company supplied the truck and power tools.
Cons: changing work hours
I was in the general maintenance and petroleum department. We would travel around to the store that were having problems and do the repair work that they submitted to main office, also we would have to be avalible to do emergency work. I learned how to work on gas pumps and the tank fields and all the electronics associated with it.
The management team – more... was very large because of the amount of stores and the large area that was covered. So we had a large variety of managers some better than others.
My co-workers where good but like anywhere else you had some that did more work than others.
The hardest part of this job was not knowing what time you wold finish each day. Some day you would be done at a good time in the afternoon and others you would work long into the evening.
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know a large variety of people, and I also enjoyed learning about how to work on the gas pumps. – less