Turner Job Corps Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're better off unemployed
Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAJanuary 17, 2018
Terrible work culture, crabs in a barrel. There was nothing enjoyable about being there, everyone insecure, afraid that someone wanted their job. Management superior at hiring the underqualified in an effort to secure their own positions
Pros
Absolutely None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great instructors
Facility Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAJanuary 16, 2018
great instructors get help when you need it they will help you get your drivers license and your GED you can choose from a variety of trades and will help with child care
Pros
child care, different job skills, ged classes, drivers class
Cons
relocation depending on which job corps you go to, there are a bunch of different places, located across the US
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a downfall
Trainee Student (Former Employee) –  Albany, GADecember 21, 2017
My experience with Turner Job Corps was much as helpful as I thought it was. Some of it was a learning experience at 1st, but at the same time it turned out to be less experience. And I wouldn't want to go back there again.
Pros
Cafeteria, no pay
Cons
Small breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No
Medical Administrative Assisting (Former Employee) –  Albany, GADecember 15, 2017
This place is not really a job it is more like a trade school but to me it feel like I signed up for jail I really didn’t like this place at all I wouldn’t go back if you paid me
Pros
Trade
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good training and insight.
Electrical Internship (Former Employee) –  Albany, GADecember 1, 2017
The typical day I was going around as the shop foreman of the shop displaying residential,commercial wiring also trouble shooting to people who just started. Giving them instructions to work safety and effectively.
Pros
Real good training and education
Cons
Not alot of pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In my on experiencs
RESIDENCE ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Albany, GANovember 30, 2017
A typical day at this establishment was one of never a dull moment. I learned a lot from a very diverse student and employee body. The work place culture was one of diversity. The hardest part of the job was not being able to implement methods or systems in place to assist the student in different areas. The most enjoyable part of the job was building a rapport with the student and implementing environments to encourage, motivate and empower the student to stay on task and embrace change.
Pros
Working with a diverse community of young adults
Cons
Not being able to reach some of the students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trade School
STUDENT/EMPLOYEE (Former Employee) –  Albany, GANovember 27, 2017
they help you get a job when you complete your trade i went for welding I enjoying the company and I met some amazing staff that worked there great place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Student Employee Medical Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Albany, GANovember 13, 2017
my experience here was great starting out but as the new center director came in he did way good at first. He doesn't know how to talk or treat his employees or student employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went to school for my diploma
Student Employee Medical Administration (Former Employee) –  Albany, GANovember 13, 2017
It was a good school . I gained my high schoool diploma and my licenses and my trade . It was stay on campus . My trade was office medical administration i attended penn foster
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Department Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Albany, GANovember 8, 2017
I learned management skills ordering receiving how to operate in a normal culture of a variety of people. The job was very easy to do because I had previous experience in this field of study.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i learned alot
Student Employee (Former Employee) –  Albany, GA 31705November 7, 2017
the hardest part was dealing with other peoples culture and how they did things. the management is great and being able to climb up the chain of command if I had any problems is great
Pros
free lunch and dinner and break fast
Cons
low pay short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok enviroment
Facilities Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Albany, GANovember 3, 2017
I was there for school facility maintenance trade life there is wonderful enjoyed the things I learned some of the staff was cool some is arrogant the students is just students like in high school some of them at least
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interacting with Students
Facility Maintenance Clerk/Admin. Assistant (Current Employee) –  Albany, GANovember 3, 2017
Diplomatic and tactful with professionals and non-professionals at all level, set up maintenance repairs with vendors, answer phones, payroll, manage students interns and student employees, type up minutes for meetings, manage budget, order supplies and input work orders.
Pros
1 hour lunch; working with my team.
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing
Internship (Former Employee) –  Albany, GA 31705October 27, 2017
it was a very good job to work at the people and manager were very nice and kind they was always willing to help out with anything that needed to be done .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day
Career Preparation Period Instructor (Current Employee) –  Albany, GAOctober 23, 2017
I work with at-risk youth helping them obtain educational and vocational needs through our program. My days/weeks are busy as I am the first instructor new students come into contact with when they enter the program. I ensure they have everything they need to begin life as a student employee of Job Corps.
Pros
working with youth
Cons
busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Work Environment
Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAOctober 9, 2017
The work was not difficult to do. I was able to work ahead and stay on top of this so getting behind and being stressed was never really an issue. Most of the staff is friendly, however there is the typical work place rivalry of each person wanting to shine brighter than the next. Maintaining a clear understanding of your job duty, and making sure to perform that duty is key.
Pros
Pto, Holidays and weekends off, bi-weekly pay, lot of people to talk to on a daily basis.
Cons
Students are sometimes difficult to work with, lot of typical work place gossip.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all work no play
Mail room clerk (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAOctober 2, 2017
learning how to wire a house inside and outside security lights improve safety and your ability to monitor the property the hard part making sure that the wire did not touch
Pros
yes free lunch
Cons
breaks and every else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workpalce and fun and activities
Student Employee Health Occupation Department (Current Employee) –  Albany, GASeptember 28, 2017
Turner Job Corps Center is a very hard working and productive workplace to be at and a lot of fun activities to do while your here but its more like an educational fun but I would recommend this place to anybody that's trying to better their life.
Pros
free living, free food, fun and activities
Cons
healthcare, transportation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tjc
Plastering Internship (Former Employee) –  Albany, GASeptember 21, 2017
Turner Job Corps was a life experience of training for me at a very young age. I got a trade and other certifications that help me everyday with jobs to better myself.
Pros
Free training
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a DOD Facility
Student Employee (Former Employee) –  Albany, GASeptember 16, 2017
Not really a job, got paid by the government and went to school / trade school to learn new skills. It mostly was a college-based environment. Intellect is not a necessity to sign up there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Turner Job Corps. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 226 reviews
570
475
362
28
111

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture