Tutor Doctor Employee Reviews in United States

Found 21 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for college student or post-grad. Flexible hours!
Tutor/Mentor (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 30, 2016
I'm a second bachelor's student and I applied here 6 months ago. The hiring process was very fast--I was called in for a phone interview and a final interview in about 2 days. I was hired on the spot! I love the flexibility of choosing hours. Working with a student can be challenging at first, but knowing that the student is showing progress bit by bit is what I strive for--since I know I'm making progress as a tutor.

The only bad part is it may take a while to find a match, either 2 weeks or a month. You choose a list of clients either by email, or you are called.
Pros
Flexible hours, good pay, get to choose client
Cons
takes a while to find a match
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm happy with Tutor Doctor.
Math/Science Tutor and SAT Prep (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJune 2, 2016
Tutor Doctor takes the time to interview their prospective students and assesses their learning style and the intensity of tutoring needed. Tutor Doctor does the ground work in finding students so I can concentrate on my favorite part of the job.
The hours are very much part time and on a as-needed basis. If I ever feel overworked, I can speak up and let them know with little anxiety or stress.
Pros
Work around my schedule. I have control over subject areas and who I want to work with.
Cons
Gas and travel is not compensated. Any prep work is not compensated.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok money
Tutor Doctor (Current Employee) –  Middletown, NJNovember 20, 2015
Been there 4 years. It is ok. Salary could be better. My students love me. Work week is what you make it. Watching my students succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay with a great work life balance
Academic Tutor (Former Employee) –  Spring, TXJune 16, 2016
Tutor Doctor was a great Tutoring service. It had great pay as well as compensation for gas reimbursement. It had a positive work life balance and you got to be flexible with your schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 19, 2016
The overall job is great yet requires lots of travel. This job is worth it however, because tutoring in home at a great rate.
Pros
In Home Tutoring, Great Pay, Decent Number of Students
Cons
Traveling, Odd or Infrequent Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment for those who love teaching one-on-one.
Business Developer Assistant and Marketing (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 6, 2014
It is a job for teachers who love and know how to teach critical subject matter. Flexible approach to help student build skills in learning. Requires time management, genuine disciplined and individual system matching students' needs that makes possible for a student to capitalize on his/her strengths. Also allows building a system to help convert student's weaknesses into confidence leading to achievement of goals at the end of study course. Teaching and learning vs testing is emphasized.
Pros
you are your own boss
Cons
driving time and fuel are not covered, no health or pension benefits at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hands on tutoring experience
Staff Tutor (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 28, 2016
Rewarding job, love helping students increase their grades, making math more enjoying for students, making my own schedule, accommodating with work and school
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule with interesting job opportunities
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Milford, CTNovember 16, 2015
I enjoyed working for Tutor Doctor because of the flexibility it offered and the independence I got from the company. The job itself was enjoyable and made me feel excited about my culture.
Pros
I often got free food from my student who owned a restaurant
Cons
The commute was a little bit far
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Corporate Culture of Helping People
Education Consultant (Current Employee) –  Redondo Beach, CAMay 23, 2015
Tutor Doctor cares about its clients and tutors and strives to help students and families with their supplement educational needs. The Franchisor is very supportive and allows franchisees a great deal of flexibility in running their businesses.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Part-time Place to work
Education Specialist (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, PAMarch 29, 2015
Tutor Doctor is a great place to get experience, but you must have a job to keep this job. It is a wonderful experience to meet other education professionals and plan community education events!
Pros
Great opportunity to network
Cons
All expense are out of pocket and cuts deeply into profits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Group & Private Tutor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 17, 2014
Tutored more than 30 high school and college students.

I was able to learn how to be patient. My clients were always happy with my service as I was able to acquire more clients.

Great management. Very thorough and understanding. Everything worked out really smoothly.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
k-8 English and History tutor
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Budd Lake, NJAugust 28, 2013
I created individual lesson plans that aided students based on education needs. I helped them to learn information that they were not able to grasp in a classroom setting, and helped them to learn valuable time management skills, reading comprehension skills, and more
Pros
working with children
Cons
per diem
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was very satisfied working for tutor Docter
Tutor/Mentor (Former Employee) –  Plainview, NYFebruary 18, 2013
Tutor doctor was a fine companyfor which to work. my only problem with them was that they only had one student to tutor and when that assignment was completed I needed to fine another position with another tutoring establishment which is why I am inquiring with the Sylvan Learning Center.
Pros
good pay, good student
Cons
only one student available
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time while attending UAB
MATHEMATICS TUTOR (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALNovember 20, 2014
Helping young students gain a better understanding of their studies. The scheduling was fairly difficult due to my classes. Otherwise, a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the work just not the pay
Private Math & Science Tutor and Tutordoctor Tutor (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 30, 2013
This was basically a tutoring job and had I got more hours I would have definitely continued working for them.
Pros
$20/hr
Cons
i personally worked 4 hours a week, do the math.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Schedule but I-9 pay
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Milford, CTApril 11, 2012
A typical day at work consists of coordinating with parents of students tutoring, then meeting them at their house later for tutoring sessions. The family have all been great. The pay is OK nothing special, you can get paid higher at another tutoring company.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring, informed management
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Guilford, CTSeptember 10, 2012
Owners are accessible, professional, and company is well managed.
Pros
working with young people; flexibility of schedule
Cons
needs change often
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Tutor/Mentor (Current Employee) –  Cullman, ALJune 30, 2013
I have fun teaching students what I have learn. It is different than engineering but I use the same skills. I have leaned that I am capable of learning myself and relaying it along to students.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in assisting struggling students
Earth Science Tutor (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYOctober 11, 2013
It is very rewarding helping students that are struggling and to see them better their education.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One-on-ome tutor
Private Tutor (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 7, 2012
I love working with kids and helping them achieve their dreams!
Pros
working with kids
Cons
not steady enough
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report

See more Tutor Doctor reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 49 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
4.2
Culture
4.1