Find companies:
Tutors with Computers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Tutors with Computers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
San Antonio Rep/Administrative (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 22, 2014
Pros: face to face conversations with paretns and students.
Community outreach through program marketing, enroll students in the program, liaison between program and school site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping our youth with Reading tools to help them progress
Field Educational Representative (Former Employee), Laredo, TXMarch 20, 2014
Pros: the feeling of being helpful towards achieving their goals.
Cons: when students were not responsive to visits or calls.
A typical day at work would be gathering information on those students needing to home visit and help them with their progress. What I learned was that every student had their own learning methods or style, but it was inspiring to witness their progress after every home visit. Management were somewhat absent in our needs throughout the program, but – more... tried to provide us some guidance when students were available or not for a home visit by a field educational representative. My co-workers were somewhat understanding or freely able to give some responses on past experiences in the field. The hardest part of the job was when trying to get a student to respond to your calls and scheduling of a visit when having drove to their home. The most enjoyable part of the job was when you felt that you had a productive hour with the student during your visit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a very nice staff to work with.
Academic Coach (Former Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: direct deposit
Cons: healthcare
This was my first work at home job. I enjoyed calling the students to remind them to log into their systems and tutor. The company supplied the phones, netbooks for the students to do their tutoring. Even though I live in Chicago, the company was in Texas. The supervisory staff was very nice and helpful if you ran into any problems. Most of the students – more... spoke another language but, could understand me when I called . The language was mainly Spanish but, most of the students were bilingual. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favorite Job
Student Support Specialist (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: teaching students
Cons: temporary
This job was awesome. I enrolled students into our program, tutored in math and reading, encouraged them, and activated learning tools.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance but...
Virtual Call Center Rep (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 18, 2013
Pros: work/life balance, location, co-workers
Cons: pay, lack of benefits, lack of well rounded training, use of personal computer & phones for work
The job was not hard and was enjoyable for most part. I would log on and make calls to parents and students. I would also qualify and document info. using various programs. I feel a great benefit would have been to have a location to work out of and therefore, more direct contact with management. I also feel training could have been more extensive in – more... order to create or more efficient work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Certified Teacher (Former Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 1, 2013
This on-line support of students doing vocabulary development and thinking skills was done from home a few hours each day. There was also some one-on-one tutoring sessions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented business
Student Support Specialist (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXAugust 9, 2013
Great exprience with the company learned alot about retail and customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field Representative
Field Representative (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 4, 2013
Pros: excellent program when students participate.
Cons: no job security.
A a field representative my job duties were to recruit students from junior high and high school students based on the school STAAR results. The Tutors with Computers program is a part of the no child left behind campaign. Working with TWC taught me how to work with cultural diversity and respect their norms. Working for TWC is an independent job therefore – more... I worked out in the field alone. The hardest part of the job was working with students that were not motivated to complete the reading program. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting different families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great opportunity to help those who need it
Lead Student Support Specialist (Current Employee), Waco, TXMay 26, 2013
I loved this job because it gave me the opportunity to interact with hundreds of students who were struggling with school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Student Support Specialist (Current Employee), Austin, TXApril 8, 2013
overall the company is great meaning the things they do for the chilldren but as for the employers the pay is great but its hard when you dont knw if you going to work one week or not...needs more orangization for empolyers....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unstable company. Not much guidance on working guidelines.
Corporate Recruiter/Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee), Albany, NYMarch 25, 2013
Pros: work from home
Cons: no job stability
Not a very satisfying company. Not much guidance on working guidelines. Overall the company wasn't organized at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is SHADY
Student Support Specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 26, 2012
Pros: i can't think of any
Cons: they lie, no mileage pay, bad management, short hours
I signed up at the WorkSource, so I figured this was a legitimate job. This place is a total con, compliments of the tax payer. They lie to the students and their own employees. Hardly any students actually get the equipment (cell phone/computer) that has been promised to them. I met many disgusted students who refused to sign up because they'd signed – more... up before and never received the items. When I asked about this, I was told that the students had probably been dropped. Also, they tell their employees that they will receive a bonus for every student that they enroll...believe me, you will never, ever see that money. Never. Enrollment period lasts for about a month or two, and payday is bi-weekly, so by the time you realize your bonus money isn't coming, too bad, they've already benefited from your efforts. You are expected to drive around the city with absolutely no mileage reimbursement. And if you haven't gotten any enrollments in 2 hours, you have to clock out. The rules change hourly, and nothing ever starts on time. "Leadership" there is low rent and a joke!!! How this place is in business is beyond me. One more thing, the people on here who gave this place a 5 star review OBVIOUSLY work for the company! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Rewarding Job
Student Support Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 19, 2012
Pros: rewarding
Cons: no structure as it refers to precise work schedule
The overall job is excellent;however, I desire to regain employment within the Social Services field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable work hours
Student Support Specialist (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXAugust 1, 2012
Cons: no reimbursement for gas or insurance, hours were cut on a regular basis
Tutors with Computers is an idea job for people who are not responsible for being the bread winners in their family or for young college students. A typical day at work consists of driving to various parts of the city to recruit students or visit un-engaged students who participate in a government funded at home tutoring program. I had great co-workers. – more... The hardest part of the job was getting inactive students to put in the hours required. It was especially hard when parents were not involved in their children's education. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting thanks from parents who did care able their child's education and from those who valued the service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with students
Student Support Specialist (Former Employee), nycJune 30, 2012
Pros: encouraging students of various ages, grade levels to improve reading skills
Cons: new company, educational programs are funded through private funds and city/state contracts
Lots of traveling, meeting students not to eager to tutor who's academic level is far below grade level.Encouraging them to try harder and to stay focused was very difficult. The company is one of a hundred educational companies in the public schools throughout the five boroughs, the turnover rate for employment is very high. Management was not easily – more... accessible all interaction with management done over cell phone via text messaging. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a very laid back job
student service specialist (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAJune 19, 2012
Pros: awesome pay
Cons: travelled alot
The job itself was easy. The pay was excellent. The management was oustanding. I would definitely recommend this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for this company gives you a sense of satisfaction.
Student Support Specialist (Current Employee), Austin, TXJune 7, 2012
This company provides opportunities for students to improve their vocabulary skills.